We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TENUTA DI RICAVO”
Review of Tenuta di Ricavo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tenuta di Ricavo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wonderful!!! I happened upon Tenuta Di Ricavo 11 years ago and enjoyed my stay immensely. I returned this year and spent a remarkable week thanks to Christina and her most professional staff. The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful, the accommodations, restaurant and especially Christina made our stay most enjoyable.
Ricavo is located a few minutes outside of the charming town of Castellina in Chianti surrounded by the beautiful countryside, vineyards and old stone buildings. Christina was most helpful in making our stay what it was. Her advice and assistance was always on the mark regardless of our daily requests.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank alsilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 222 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

having visited Tuscany for the last 35 years on a yearly basis I have watched the cuisine transition from peasant fare to attempts at many different facelifts, some too healthy, some too overworked, many not a real improvement on the classics.
Last week I enjoyed the most wonderful meal prepared by the hotels new chef, a young man from Siena,and no doubt influenced by the hotels owner and excellent albeit retired chef himself.
Try the swordfish carpaccio fresh and mildly seasoned on a bed of shaved fennel and blood orange pulp. Or the pork in wild nettle sauce, bright green, harvested by the staff from nettles found on the property. Our deserts were wonderfully light and tasty. The service was perfect. We recommend trying this delightful restaurant before the crowds come and the prices go up.
We cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank brookewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Tenuta di Ricavo at least 4-5 times when I was a child in Italy in the mid-1960s. I remember it as a special treat, quiet and peaceful and beautiful. I stopped there again in the late 1970s and it was equally beautuful. I will return when I can, hopefully very soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves_to_travel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staying at the end of their season was lovely - the property is so stunning, all the leaves were turning making the already stunning views even prettier. It feels less like a hotel and more like a self-contained quaint village. The staff was incredible. So helpful (booking us wine tours and making us feel at home). Every detail of the shared spaces is immaculate. The fireplace room is truly unique and we were lucky enough to have the restaurant mostly to ourselves, so our fantastic server let us sit by the roaring fire with our starters and wine.
The food was lovely and we enjoyed the calm, tranquil atmosphere of this place at this time of year. Equipped with a pool, a great gym and so much land - you are able to really enjoy the property without having to drive anywhere. We loved sitting on our deck at night, watching the stars and hearing the wild boards snorting their way through the brush. It was really memorable.
Their breakfasts are also very nice, everything you would want. We loved it here and feel lucky to have been able to sneak in and stay right before they closed for their season. I would highly recommend this place if you wanted to take some time, not driving around, and relax in hotel complex that feels like a quaint village. The only negative (and a small one) no WiFi in the rooms.

Room Tip: I would guess every room is great, we stayed in one of their little houses, top floor - we had a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great hotel in the Tuscany countryside. We stayed here for three nights and it was totally enjoyable. The location is great for day trips to places like Siena or Greve, etc. The restaurant is also very nice, especially if you are tired from a day of sight seeing. I would definitely would recommend it!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

from the start......
Off the main road up in the hills(actually, it's a mountain!) where the hotel is located - you really need to leave your sport car at home, as you will not be able to drive down this crapy road...not asphalted and full of wholes.
The hotel is very easy going, clean and kept tidy and well! It's not a hotel as you might know it from other hotels - originally this was a village with a couple of houses, which was transformed later more and more in a kind of hotel. The room was clean, bed was cozy and great to sleep on it, we had a little living room with a sofa and view of the hills, small minibar, TV(no signal, as they just had a storm which damaged the antenna!), A/C, bathroom with bath tub where you can shower. All in good condition and looked after.
Our room was on the 2nd floor, opposite was another room and we could hear everything from the neighbor (he was snorring very loudly and you could hear every spoken word). It was also noisy in the morning as our room was unfortunately above the hotel laundry!!!! In general, I must admit it was too noisy for the money paid for the room. Additionally, I must say, the room are clean well kept and blah blah.....BUT old! For me, not a four STAR at all and the price is way too high for what it offers.
Breakfast was very simple, with two juices, two kind of salami, prosciuto crudo, some cheese, two kind of cereals, jam, honey....that's it. ahh yes, the coffee, tee, cappuccino is all extra and not included!
Dinner at the hotel.....food was okish, until I saw the final total amount.....way to expensive for this quality of food!!! In fact, we had dinner in Radda di Chianti and the food was 5 of 5 stars and cheaper!!!!!

Bottom line, it was nice to relax, but there are better choices....would not go back.

Room Tip: away from the loundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Glowing reports for this tranquil idyll in the Chianti hills are thoroughly deserved. Once the dusty track has been negotiated (in our case in a somewhat under-powered Lancia), arrival into the pretty courtyard immediately sets the tone for the stay. We received a super welcome from the very competent and friendly Daniela in reception. With two small children in tow we were a little apprehensive, by Daniela was so delightful with them that, when we went to France later in the Summer, they insisted on sending her a postcard!

The family suite comprised two very generous and deliciously cool interconnecting rooms. Thick walls and well positioned doors ensured that we didn't hear any sounds from neighbours. Hopefully that was the same for them (viz comment above about having two children with us!).

Our experience of the restaurant was very good: a wide selection at breakfast (and a healthy one too), then, for dinner, delicious food, good service and all enjoyed outside under the stars waiting for the local peacock to make an appearance. A couple of excellent and more interesting wine recommendations too.

During the day we were unashamedly lazy, spending much of our time by the larger of the two pools, reading, snoozing or swimming - indeed, photos of the pools were probably the clinching factors when selecting Tenuta di Ricavo. However, with no provision for lunch or for an evening meal on Sundays, you are forced to tear yourself away from the sun loungers from time to time and that would be the one minor drawback/weakness from our perspective which prevented that 5th blob in the ratings - if I'd not had to get into that Lancia so many times I would have been more relaxed/happier, but perhaps I should have opted for something bigger & better! That said it really was a minor point to pick up on and it certainly won't stop us returning next year for sure and Castellina has several places to eat and some fantastic ice cream.

Thank you to the very friendly owners and staff - we look forward to seeing you next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ricavo
1.8 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
545 reviews
3.6 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
397 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
144 reviews
5.8 mi away
Casafrassi Hotel
Casafrassi Hotel
#7 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
199 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Ricavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Ricavo

Address: Localita Ricavo 4, 53011 Ricavo, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti > Ricavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Price Range: $105 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Ricavo 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tenuta di Ricavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Ricavo Hotel Ricavo
Tenuta Di Hotel Ricavo
Ricavo Tenuta Di Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing