We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenuta di Ricavo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tenuta di Ricavo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Once again, I spent my holiday in Tenuta di Ricavo. It is a paradise on earth for me. As I just returned from this lovely place I must say that it is never easy to come back home - everything seems so common and boring...
The room with a view over the Chianti hills gives you peach of mind the whole day long - not to mention the stars in the sky and the concert the grasshoppers in the night.
I spent a lot of time by the two pools, where you can relax and rest - even when there are many people around you. You always have a feeling that in this special place people respect your holiday and give you your privacy, but still you always find people to talk with and to share your experiences from Tuscany.

The food in the restaurant is excellent. It was warm enough to eat outside and during your dinner you could enjoy the friendly athmosphere and good service.
I heart that the chef was - and still is - on a sick leave, but the staff - which is not very many - handled everything just great! I heart that there was only one person taking care of all of us with some help and it was very understandably that she could not cook for everybody at the same time - you must have some patience and understanding for the special situation in the kitchen.

Once I am on a holiday I do not mind waiting for a little bit longer for the food as in the mean time I can enjoy the lovely wines of Chianti.

Anyway - the food was very, very good and the young lady in the service is charming, taking care of everybody with a nice and polite attitude - siamo in Toscana!

I am ever so happy that there is a place like Tenuta di Ricavo - as I always say, it is a paradise!

Room Tip: Take a room with a terrace to enjoy the view and to feel and smell the good air of Ricavo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_ivim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    48
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
125
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Level Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tenuta di Ricavo about 15 years ago, and found it charming. It still is the most magical of places - an isolated hotel village in the heart of the Tuscan countryside.
The rooms are very comfortable, with fine views out over the valley. The pools are delightfully set in an old walled garden. The staff are wonderful.
But there is a problem in the kitchen. The two nights we were there were really problematical. The first took the chef hours to cook food. The second saw us have courses served in the wrong order. And whereas the food of 15 years ago was cutting edge - really memorable - this time it was basic Tuscan standards, cooked adequately.
Need for a culinary shake-up, we thought.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tenuta di Ricavo twelve years ago for our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. This year, we planned a European trip for us, our kids and our parents that included a stay in Tuscany and we immediately turned to booking a stay at this hotel. The hotel was just as we remembered it: a wonderful snapshot of Tuscan living tucked away in the mountains of Tuscany. We stayed in the family bedroom with our three boys that offered two ample bedrooms, a sitting room and a full bath. Our parents each had nicely appointed rooms with terraces. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast that was included in our stay was a nice way to start the day -- a great selection of juices, fruits, meats, cheese, cereals, soft-boiled eggs, bread and pastries. The two pools on premises were a great break from touring and was a highlight for our boys. The hotel provided cold bottled water by the pool, which was a welcome treat given the summer heat. We ate three dinners at the hotels restaurant and each and every time the food was fantastic: among the very best we had in Italy, and we ate very well while there. It was also nice to end the evening under the moon and stars on the restaurant's terrace and then stroll back to your room for the night.

On top of what was an amazing location and nicely appointed accommodations, I also want to point out the special attention and assistance we received from one of the owners, Christina, and staff in dealing with travel difficulties we encountered while abroad which went well above our expectations. On our way to the hotel from the airport, one of the two cars we rented was side swiped by a box truck, causing damage to the vehicle and frightening all involved. The driver of the truck eventually stopped and indicated it was his fault, but did not offer to complete the necessary paperwork (which is required under Italian law, as we later found out). Christina and the hotel staff, most notably Daniella, went above and beyond to assist in tracking down the truck's owner, coordinating with the rental car agency and getting the paperwork completed. Their help made a very, very stressful incident and its aftermath much more bearable and kept it from being a drag on our overall experience. It was a wonderful display of hospitality and we only hope it won't be another 12 years before we can go back!

Room Tip: Family bedroom is great if you have kids; otherwise, try to get a room with a terrace as it offers g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdaddy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, Ny
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently stayed here and honestly it was absolutely terrific. The place is a little hard to find but once you get there, its more than worth the effort. The grounds are spectacular and our room was charming. The thing that really makes the place is the staff. SImply terrific, accommodating, welcoming and they really do treat you like family I would recommend this place to any and all for a real taste and experience of Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catcher10us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North shore, Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Imagine slowly driving through woods, approaching the charming stone buildings of a Tuscan villa- that's Ricavo! We stayed here for five nights in a superior room with a lovely view sunrise breaking over the countryside, and our terrace just perfect for the two of us to share a glass of wine or picnic lunch. The buffet breakfasts were more than plentiful and fortified us for our busy days of sightseeing. After our daily adventures in Tuscany it was nice to come back to such comfortable surroundings. We enjoyed a couple of dinners at the restaurant which were well prepared and expertly served. They were a little more than we usually would spend, but very delicious. What most impressed us about Ricavo, however, was the staff. The management was excellent and other personnel couldn't have been more helpful, considerate and courteous. Christina approaches hosting with gentle graciousness and her front desk crew were just spot on!
Although tucked off the main Chianti track, we did not find Ricavo to be remote. In fact, from this location we easily made several day trips (as far as Umbria and Volterra) and the desk employees' excellent directions and mapping insured our success finding our way! We highly recommend this gem on your Tuscan tour!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a "bad" room! You'll be very pleased, no matter which ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Delighting in the most amazing location of peace and friendliness, we have enjoyed the hospitality of the Tenuta several times now.
Spacious and comfortable rooms with great views, the estate and its buildings are full of character with beautiful drawing rooms/library and a delightful dining room.
Breakfast on the terrace (with variety to satisfy most palates) and drinks in the evening by the lit fireplace in the great hall, all these in mid-May.
The Tenuta has everything we need: an excellent kitchen, perfect location for reaching the most interesting and beautiful sites in Italy - as well as two swimming pools and a large estate for long walks without having to leave the premises.
And the best are the friendly and seriously welcoming staff.
We shall return.

Room Tip: State your requirements - and you will get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Once you actually find Tenuta di Ricavo, it is a very charming introduction to the Chianti region. Beautiful, spacious rooms make the stay quite comfortable. The dining room was a bit overpriced.
The staff were all helpful and could make great recommendations for any of your interests. We took a great cooking class while there at Casanuevo di Ricavo, which was just down the road. One of the highlights of our trip. The town of Castellini is also a charming place to spend some time. Great shops with reasonable prices. Overall, a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank therapyman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ricavo
3.6 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
307 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
533 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
474 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
503 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Ricavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Ricavo

Property: Tenuta di Ricavo
Address: Localita Ricavo 4, 53011 Ricavo, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti > Ricavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Ricavo 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenuta di Ricavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Ricavo Hotel Ricavo
Tenuta Di Hotel Ricavo
Ricavo Tenuta Di Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing