We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic place in Tuscany”
Review of Tenuta di Ricavo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tenuta di Ricavo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2008

We had the wonderful pleasure of staying here for our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff was just fabulous. Upon our arrival we were pleased to learn that we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. The balcony looked out over a majestic valley with deer that could be seen on the surrounding hills. The bedroom had a beautiful bouquet of yellow roses. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and breakfast each morning was the best of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Tenuta di Ricavo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 219 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was the best part of our trip to Italy!! Tuscany area is beautiful and we were between Siena and Florence, making it an ideal location.

The staff were very helpful in arranging winery tours, giving directions to various places, recommendations to restaurants. The accomodations were comfortable and inviting and the surroundings were absolutely beautiful. We would definitely return if we are so lucky as to go to Italy again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sgrantCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

Ricavo is a fanciful place to stay. We felt as if we had stepped back in time as we drove into the property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had our pick of the two pools for swimming, enjoyed a quiet dinner, and explored the grounds. My only warning is to be careful of all the bugs should you decide, as we did, to be adventurous and go walk some of the many trails that criscross the property. We quickly changed our course and retreated back to main square because of them. I'm not sure what they were, but they swarmed at us. We were truly pleased with the helpfulness and general respect we were shown by the hotelier as we did not get the same level of concern from others we dealt with.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank copemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

When visiting Tuscany/Florence, you can choose a busy spot in Florence, or you can choose a more secluded area in Tuscany. If you prefer the latter, this hotel is all that - very, very quiet, beautiful setting. Didn't seem like many people were staying at the hotel, but 2 nice pools also. Dinner was pretty good but a little on the expensive side. But it was nice to sit outside and enjoy a quiet evening. You MUST ask for directions to small town San Donato about 15 minutes away (on the way to Florence) for a restaurant called La Toppa, Mom&Pop home cooked authentic meal was outstanding - they gave us a mixture of what they prepared that evening. Our "room" was actually 2 separated bedrooms, full bath, living room, more like an apartment villa. Very very clean. Apparently lots of beautiful secluded villas like this one in Tuscany - this one must rank near the top for service, cleanliness and beauty. Only drawback was the above average pricing of food in the restaurant, but dinners can be had in nearby towns as you're exploring the area. Travelled with 9&12 yr old, mostly families stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Magsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Located just outside of the medieval village of Castellina in Chianti (our favorite town), very central and good base from which one could easily visit surrounding towns, as well as Sienna, Pisa, San Gimignano.

A renovated farmhouse and adjacent buildings that once housed sharecroppers. The surrounding gardens were lovely.
After WWII, sharecropping was outlawed in Italy and the owner began taking in paying guests. The current proprietor is a Swiss-German woman & her Italian husband. She inherited the property from her grandmother. Having lived in Rancho Mirage, California until she was 12 years old, where her father worked as an engineer, her English is outstanding. Her husband is jolly fellow who challenged our 12 year old daughter to a game of Jenga, lost, and rewarded her with an ice cream … all before breakfast!

There were no other American guests … a couple from Turin, a couple from Spain, 2 French couples, and a German couple.

The proprietor was extremely helpful when it came to recommending local trattorias, arranging a wine tour & tasting @ Castellare in Chianti (a super-Toscana vineyard), suggesting the market in Greve, and an afternoon at the beach in Viarregio.
The staff was also very accommodating.

The rooms were extremely comfortable with a somewhat luxurious rustic feel. The bathrooms were large and well-equipped.

The daily breakfast was outstanding. I haven’t eaten boiled eggs with so much flavor since my childhood on a farm in Chile. The yogurt was full-bodied and creamy … so delicious when combined with plums like I have never before tasted. My family remarked that the cold meats, cheeses and breads were superb, and every morning there was also a freshly baked tart of some kind. Grapefruit, orange and mango juices filled several jugs.

The water in the swimming pools was cold, but refreshing after a day of sightseeing.

Internet was available in the reception area for a fee.

Best Meals:

Pecora Nera: The very good restaurant on the premises, but a bit more pricey than other restaurants in the region

La Toppa: a wonderful family run restaurant in San Donato; the mother cooks, the son is your host and the father tallies up the bill (we ate there twice)

Antica Delizia in Castellina in Chianti – phenomenal gelato

Worthwhile Experiences:

Wine Tour & Tasting @ Castellare in Chianti – young Romanian woman who met us was very personable and knowledgeable.

The market in Greve: purchased delicious salumi, cheeses, bread, olives, pickled garlic and cipollini, and had an incomparable picnic along the road to San Gimignano

Siena on a Sunday – as the shops were closed, there were very few tourists

Viareggio @ the end of August – as wide and as endless a beach as you will see in Europe; Remarkable backdrop provided by the Apuanian Mountains. I could swear that some of the peaks were still capped with snow. Again, there were very few tourists except a handful of topless bathing beauties. Kids needed a break from walled cities.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Greyrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

I recently escaped the summer heat of Rome to the tranquil setting of the Tuscan Hills for a few days with a group of friends. Tenuta di Ricavo in Chianti is beautiful and peaceful and a great jumping off point to all areas of Chianti and the rest of Tuscany. You need to have a car to be able to come and go. The pools are great for escaping the summer afternoon heat. The staff is nice, but not pushy. Our only disappointment was that the kitchen closed at 9:30 PM (very early for most of Italy). We arrived at 9:45 PM our first night and they offered us a cheese and meat plate. When we got the bill for that lite/cold meal we were shocked! The cost for four people to have a bit of cheese, meat and bread was 92 Euros! Unbelievable! Management would not budge except to offer us a key chain for the misunderstanding. With all the other wonderful places to stay in Tuscany, I doubt that I will return to Tenuta di Ricavo.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Carakarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2006

When you drive the hill down to the hotel, you can already have the first impression of peace and nature, which you can hardly find anywhere else.
The buildings whispering old stories, history of this very special place.
Take a room with terrace or balcony, sit there in the night, see all the stars on the Chianti hills, hear the birds and if you lucy - even the wild porks - in the garden around the hotel area.
The breakfast buffet is very good and rich and having your coffee in the morning sunshine among all the flower pots will make your face smile. Spend you the sunny day in the garden by the swimming pools and relax . End your day at the evening with a nice dinner in the restaurant, where the service is friendly and what's very nice: still in italian style, without any hurry! The young man will make your day with his smile and spontanious way to recommend and help you with your choises.
This is what we did and this is why we love this very special and beautiful place in the heart of Chianti.
We highly recommend Tenuta di Ricavo to everyone who loves nature and luxury together!
Take a car for a tour - without it you will miss the roads and nice villages around Castellina in Chianti!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Tuulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ricavo
5.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
591 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
525 reviews
3.6 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
140 reviews
3.3 mi away
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del Chianti
Il Borgo di Vescine - Relais del...
#5 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
307 reviews
5.3 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Ricavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Ricavo

Address: Localita Ricavo 4, 53011 Ricavo, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti > Ricavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Price Range: $119 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Ricavo 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenuta di Ricavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Ricavo Hotel Ricavo
Tenuta Di Hotel Ricavo
Ricavo Tenuta Di Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing