We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last, the true tuscan experience,”
Review of Tenuta di Ricavo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tenuta di Ricavo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At last, the true tuscan experience,”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

having traveled in tuscany annually for the last 30 years, we have seen many changes. This beautiful hotel has maintained the very best of all of Tuscany's charms and has not bowed to the trends that have come with an ever increasing tourist trade.

The hotel is situated in a large expanse of land, perhaps a 1000 acres of rolling hills and woods which allowed us on several occasions to view wild hare, deer, hedgehogs and fox.

We were thrilled with the cuisine which included traditional Tuscan dishes with a mix of more elegant selections and masterful deserts.

What thrilled us beyond all measure was the decor. We were amazed at the number of beautiful period antiques in the public rooms and the charm of old Tuscany in the bedrooms (we peaked in a few..) The art, the pools the garden all reminded us of the way things used to be and should be still.

We highly recommend this hotel to people looking for the quality and the original charm that has made this part of Italy so very popular with so many. We cannot wait to return

Room Tip: each is unique, ask for specifics
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    50
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
135
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We have just returned from a short break in this beautiful Tuscan hotel.We booked a room with a terrace which meant we could sit out and enjoy the sun and some local Chianti with amazing views over the surrounding countryside. The hotel is charming. Created from an ancient hamlet, it comprises of many different old stone buildings - our room had its own entrance and was secluded and very quiet. The breakfast was an excellent continental style buffet with fresh fruits, breads, meats, cheeses and even chocolate cake for the hungry!! The two swimming pools and plenty of sunloungers meant that eveyone staying had enough space to feel relaxed; again, the pools were set in the old stone of the hillside and offered beautiful views. We would definitely return there in the future.

Room Tip: If you want a terrace off your room you will need to book this specifically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This family-run hotel is in an old estate set in a natural reserve area high in the hills in the heart of Chianti. It's a beautiful spot with great views -- make sure to book an upgraded room with view. Our room was large and comfortable, with what seemed to be local furnishings. It had a small porch with a lovely view over the valley. We enjoyed the restaurant very much -- the food was very good and the welcome warm. The grounds are pretty, there are 2 swimming pools and the whole atmosphere is quiet and relaxing.

Note that the hotel is about 7km from the nearest village, Castellini in Chianti. The gravel road in from the main road is a bit rough but no problem. The Tenuta di Ricavo is a very good spot to tour from, as the Chianti region, Sienna and San Gimignano are all a short drive.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in July '11. The hotel was pristine. Our room was super clean, and our bathroom was huge & spotless. The room had comfortable beds. We had a nice & cozy room.

The resturant was delicious. The owner was very friendly. The service here was great. Perfect for families & friends. Tenuta di Ricavo had a beautiful view of Chianti. The hotel was not to far from town. (3 - 5 minutes away)

The hotel includes 2 pools. The pools was very clean & pretty. I had a wonderful time swimming in them. :)

Wish to be back again!!!

LOVED IT!

OLMOS FAMILY -

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelor013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This was our 2nd stay here, as we stayed about 13 years ago.It is still very nice, and has not slipped at all. This time we stayed with our extended family -- 6 people, 3 rooms. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant, which serves dinner and the included breakfast, is a charming facility with good food, and good service. This is not "fast food", but is a great evening meal of excellent quality, and priced accordingly. Breakfast ( included in the room rate)was also very good, with good selection of varied offerings. Nicely presented.
The hotel facilities are in restored, old buildings, but are very nice, with modern bathrooms. This is not a 5 star establishment, but is a high standard 4 star hotel , and a very nice facility all in all . Has 2 swimming pools, neither heated, and typically cold, as many are in Italy.
Lovely views over the valley, and very peaceful.

A car is virtually mandatory here, as other transportation is not easily available.

I have no complaints, and as long as you are looking for a rustic, peaceful hotel,with a great restaurant,this will suit you very nicely

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racer356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is our second time at Tenuta di Ricavo, and we can't wait to return! The grounds and rooms are beautiful, and relaxing - it is a private get-away. And the staff is exceptional! We particularly like the chef prepared meals on site, especially the pasta with wild boar. The location is in the heart of wine country within a few minutes drive of countless wineries. After a day of touring the area, it is a wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the beauty and solitude of the region. The pools are an added perk to lounge around, as is the beautiful library and sitting room.
It is a true gem if you are staying in the Chianti region!

Room Tip: Rooms range in size, but all are beautifully furnished and have wonderful views of the area. The onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrsoBanfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great service, very good location, reasonable facilities.
Quality of food is not compatible with the reported site.
The head chef and owner no longer works in the kitchen and so lost a lot of quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUMA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ricavo
1.7 mi away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
495 reviews
3.6 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
Hotel Villa Casalecchi
#5 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
125 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
563 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta di Ricavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta di Ricavo

Property: Tenuta di Ricavo
Address: Localita Ricavo 4, 53011 Ricavo, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti > Ricavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ricavo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta di Ricavo 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tenuta di Ricavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Di Ricavo Hotel Ricavo
Tenuta Di Hotel Ricavo
Ricavo Tenuta Di Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing