We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Salina
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We have a standard poodle. Finding a nice place to stay that allows pets are difficult to find. The manager Jeff and his wife were super. The room was clean and spacious. There was also ample room to walk my dog. Beds were comfortable. There were lots of places to eat around the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Ohev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites - Salina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have never stayed at a Candlewood before so we didn't know what to expect. We got a great price so we thought we'd give it a shot and I'm glad we did. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially the young lady who checked us in at the front desk. The rooms are huge and have all the amenities you would need, full kitchen, large screen TV, free wifi and very comfortable beds. They also have a DVD player and you can go to the front desk and pick a movie for free. They have washers and dryers which are also free. They have a small shop where you can purchase a few items at reasonable prices. they have a huge ice machine and bags nearby to bag you own as you need. My only complaint is there was no table/chair to eat a meal on and no comfortable chair to sit in to watch TV or just relax. That would have made this place perfect. I will still continue to look for a Candelwood when we travel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I'm sitting here in my undersized Queen Bed at the Candlewood Suites in Salina wondering how they have the audacity to charge money to stay here. The semis sound like they're driving inside my room and I managed less than three hours of sleep.

The lobby of the hotel is cramped, dingy, and uninspiring. There is no breakfast room or complimentary breakfast as there are in most motels these days. Instead, there are refrigerated cases of food one can purchase and bring to their "suite" to heat up.

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that on first glance when we checked in the room appears to be clean and fairly well-equipped with a coffee maker, refrigerator, etc. Other than that, I haven't found any redeeming qualities since the main reason for being here is sleep and that's impossible with all the racket from the interstate.

Since we have a large family reunion every July 4th in Salina we have reason to need a hotel here once a year. We have stayed at other nearby hotels that are similarly located and never had this problem. There are much better choices in Salina.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank AggieTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

At 15,000 IHG rewards points, the Candlewood was not an exceptional value, but it was every bit as clean and nice as expected, with friendly workers. My kids actually said "Wow!" when we walked in the room. Like some other reviewers, we wished it had a (free) breakfast, but that's not their niche.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Salina, Kansas along with my daughter and her husband awaiting the adopted birth of our first Grandchild. The staff was very friendly and more than competent. They presented us with us friendly smiles and made us feel more than welcome. The general manager Jeff was more than accommodating for all our needs and does a fantastic job with this hotel. Brandi and the housekeeping staff was unbelievable and kept the entire place remarkably clean and sterile, which is a must when we travel because my wife has Multiple Sclerosis. The rooms are equipped with kitchenettes which allowed us to save an enormous amount of money shopping at the market next door and cooking in the rooms. The front desk staff Joni, Jani, Bianca and Jerry were so helpful, kind and terrific making us feel so welcomed. Mark, the maintenance man does a superb job on keeping the grounds and rooms in great condition always working so hard. It is great to come from Los Angeles to middle America and meet such wonderful people. Thanks for everything you did for us. You will always be apart of our families memories.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossMergenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stay at Candlewood Suites Salina KS once or twice a year for 2 to 3 weeks at a time. The rooms are well suited for our longer stays with lots of room and small kitchen. Large refrigerator is extra nice. The staff ia always friendly and has always been most helpful and gone out of their way to make us feel at home.The cupboard - vending area is open 24 hours a day, very well stocked with almost anything you need at very reasonable prices. It's great for one of those sleepless nights to grab something to eat or drink.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

First of all, this place was hard to find. And once we did we were sorry we had. In fact, if it hadn't been so late, we would've have cancelled and checked it at the Holiday Inn Express. There was very limited parking, the room was small with an even smaller bathroom, the "lobby" was no more than a narrow hallway with mail boxes lining one side. The view from our room overlooked another wall and there was no place to set our luggage. Fortunately, we were only there overnight.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Salina, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Fred A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that your stay was a let down and fell below your expectation. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Salina
Holiday Inn Salina
#13 of 31 in Salina
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 31 in Salina
292 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Salina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Salina

Address: 2650 Planet Ave, Salina, KS 67401-7604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salina
#7 Business Hotel in Salina
Price Range: $94 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Salina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Candlewood Suites Salina, Kansas Hotel we put the amenities where they really count, in your room. Big and built for comfort, it is the ultimate suite hotel for the business traveler or while buying or selling your real estate. Each suite has a full kitchen, microwave, and full size refrigerator. Work at your over-sized desk with two phone lines and wireless high speed Internet. Work off some stress in our fitness center. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard where you may purchase meals/ snacks at value prices. Enjoy our state-of-the-art conference center for groups from 15 to 70 people. Designed with you in mind! Relax while we see to all of the details. Having just completed hotel renovation in 2007, now is the time to stay and 'consider us home.'The Candlewood Suites Hotel, Salina, Kansas is conveniently located near Philips Lighting, Schwan's, Sunflower Bank, GeoProbe, El Dorado National, Crestwood, Exide, K-State Salina, Kansas Wesleyan, Brown Mackie, Salina Regional Hospital and Salina Airport Industrial area. At Candlewood Suites we value your privacy, rooms are cleaned once very 7 days. The maximum number of guests, including children, allowed per room is 2 in a room with one bed or 4 in a room with 2 beds. Pets are welcome with a fee of $20 per pet for 1-6 nights, $40 per pet for 7-14 nights and $100 per pet for 15+ nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Salina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Salina Hotel Salina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing