We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Holts Summit, MO
1 review
“dirty room”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

The suite that I paid for was dirty. The carpet was so disgusting that the bottom of my 2 year olds feet were black after walking barefoot on the carpet for 15 minutes. The Jakuzi in our room was full of hair. My wife stepped on a staple sticking up from the edge of the carpet. I would not recomend this hotel to anyone.
I do recomemend staying at the Country Inn and suites in Salina. It is a couple miles of the interstate, but well worth the drive.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotels1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    179
    86
    37
    16
See reviews for
222
120
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2009

Decided to stay here for a night. The walls are thin, you can hear everything! This is by a truck stop so if you want to sleep past 530 am, this isn't the place to stay. Between the trucks and the garbage man and the people in the other rooms, who could sleep? It was clean and the staff were very friendly but sleep to me was the most important thing.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tag01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
502traveler
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

The Holiday Inn of I-70 is a great place for a quick overnight simply because of it's proximity to the interstate. The staff was very friendly and breakfast was great, however, I found the bed to be one of the most uncomfortable things I've ever slept on. There is not much for noise insulation either, I could hear whispers from the adjacent room! If it weren't for the super friendly and helpful staff, this would have been a much harsher review.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

This Holiday Inn Express is getting older, but is OK for our purpose. We like to stay here when we are attending the Smoky Hills Winery events, which is located about 2 miles north.

The room was clean, the staff was very friendly, and the breakfast was really better than most of the other hotels of this caliber. We had hot and cold items -- scrambled eggs, hard-boiled eggs, bacon, sausage gravy, biscuits, cinnamon rolls, bagels, muffins, cereals, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice, etc.

The a/c in the room helped to drown out the noise from the hallway. Some people just let their children run wild with no parental supervision. At least it quieted down after 11:00 pm. Next time, I will ask for a room away from the vending machines and not on the same hallway as the pool. All in all, it was a fine stay, and we will no doubt stay here next time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

This hotel, as others have said, is right next to a truck stop and pretty close to the I-70. You don't really hear any noise from the truck stop, but you can hear the I-70 somewhat. Still the noise is not overpowering and we had no problems sleeping. The room was just fine, clean and big enough and the price was reasonable. Access to your room is from inside the building and they do take pets for an additional change of $10. Breakfast is a hot breakfast as well as standard continental fare. It's good enough to get you going. If you're just passing through Salina and you need a room for the night I think this hotel should fit the bill.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank meugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

It was clean and the front desk was very nice and helpful. High Marks for the staff. The location is right next to a truck stop but we never heard the trucks. We did hear a lot of hall noise and the walls were thin as well. It is an older hotel and very long in the tooth it could really use an update. We passed what looked like a new H.I. Express in Hays WY about 100 miles to the west. In hindsight it might have been a better choice. There was also a nice looking Country Inn and Suites there in Salina. For the price $100 it was OK. Would I stay there again. No probably not.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — old and dingy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoBobTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My husband and I stopped here around midnight on a road trip across the country. The surrounding area and other hotels didn't seem incredibly nice, but the Holiday Inn Express was acceptable. The front desk clerk was exceptionally nice, and he was very patient with me when we had to change rooms at 1 a.m. due to our inconsiderate neighbor who didn't try to stop her baby/toddler from screaming in the hallway outside our door. The new room was quiet.

The bed was comfortable, the variety and quality of the pillows were excellent, the shower head and water pressure were fantastic, and the room was clean enough. I did find some hair pins on the floor near the desk which completely grossed me out, but I was too tired to care much.

Breakfast was adequate, although the no-name cereals weren't very good. There seemed to be a nice variety and it was very clean.

While this was far from the nicest hotels I've stayed in, if I ever have to drive across Kansas again, I would probably stay here in a pinch.

  • Liked — Great customer service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcfbgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 31 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
6.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina
Address: 201 E Diamond Dr, Salina, KS 67401-8624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salina
#9 Business Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Salina
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina Hotel Salina
Holiday Inn Express Salina
Holiday Inn Salina
Salina Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing