We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay when visiting Salina”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good place to stay when visiting Salina”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here Monday-Friday recently during a consulting assignment. The staff was extremely helpful, the breakfasts were great and overall quality of the property was well worth the price. The location near I-70 was convenient and a Starbucks was within an easy walk....along with a McDonald's for those that like fast food. All in all, a very good experience!

Room Tip: I liked the fact that the hotel was dog friendly. Most people traveling with dogs seemed to be on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    179
    86
    37
    16
See reviews for
222
120
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are looking for an economical, clean place to spend one night while you are "wheeling" down I-70 or I-35, this is a good choice. That is why I give it a "very good" rather than just an "average" rating. It is convenient. The staff is nice. The rooms are typical La Quinta. So why is it better than average? I think it is the convenience and the price. We chose to open a bottle of wine from the car and do a take-out sandwich from Subway---not a bad choice for tired travelers. But if you are looking for other places to eat, you have to drive a bit. Everything close is fast food.
But if you are up and on the road early in the morning--and don't need luxury for such a stop--this is a very good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel was spanking clean and in a great location for us, right off I70. The grounds are wonderful for walking your dog, which is welcomed here. The hotel had comfortable beds and great amenities. And there is a huge, clean McDonald's next door for late night hunger.

We enjoyed our one night here, and the warm welcome we received. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nashvillecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an older LQ, possibly a reincarnation of some other brand. The rooms were comfortable and clean, although not as big as the 1st LQ we stayed in near St Louis during this trip. Check in was friendly and prompt. As with other hotels on this trip, being pet friendly was a must, and this seemed to be a top choice among the few pet friendly hotels available in the Salina area. There were more guests with pets at this hotel than at any other we stayed in during this trip. The hotel has a well maintained grassy area for dogs with clean up supplies and a wastebasket located, perhaps not coincidentally, opposite a Super-8 motel that's across the street.

We arrived early, so I was able to get in a few laps at the hotel's indoor pool by myself. The pool is decent sized and thankfully wasn't over chlorinated. From what I've seen in recent reviews, the pool's been closed for repairs. Hopefully, they'll get that fixed soon.

The location is convenient, right off of I-70, but the hotel itself is oddly wedged in on a narrow strip of land. There's a large McDonalds and a truck stop opposite the front parking lot.
Just behind the hotel and to the north were manufacturing plants, and truck lots. Beyond the plants is just an endless expanse of Kansas farmland and prairie. In fairness though,
except for the occasional tractor trailer, there didn't seem to be much activity in the plants at night.
Aside from some other hotels, fast food joints and gas station/c-stores, there's not much nearby. Fortunately, downtown Salina is just a few miles south and has a decent variety of restaurants.

By this point in our journey, I was getting tired of hotel breakfast buffets, so I'll just they rounded up the usual suspects and leave it at that.

All in all, it's a good hotel for a night. If I were traveling through this area again with a pet, it'd be my 1st choice. Otherwise, for the price we paid, I'd give some of the other hotels in the area equal consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imd-walrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Pros : Reasonably good breakfast. Examples : the usual microwave sausage/microwave Omelette fare. Cereal for the kids. Some pastries. Some fresh fruit. Juice coffee water milk yogurt all available Overall a pretty good included breakfast better than average for this type of hotel. Front desk staff courteous. Clean room. Close to highway. Cable TV with multiple channels.

Cons : Pool closed. Shower water pressure weak. Refrigerator did not have a freezer section. Icemaker did not work on our floor. Wireless connection was hit and miss.

Overall: adequate hotel; nothing to rave about but did the job for a night stay. Probably a touch above the usual look La Quinta experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
6.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 31 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
6.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina
Address: 201 E Diamond Dr, Salina, KS 67401-8624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Salina
#9 Business Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Salina
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salina Hotel Salina
Holiday Inn Express Salina
Holiday Inn Salina
Salina Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing