We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ for a change.”

Hog Wild Pit Bar-B-Q
Ranked #18 of 128 Restaurants in Salina
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Monument
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ for a change.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Ate here as we were traveling thru Salina. Was a nice surprise. Nice portions and good quality. Was better then the BBQ I have had at some well known places in KC (Bryant's for one). Ribs were tender and juicy. Brisket was also quite good. $20 for two nice dinners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslet, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Carolina BBQ - Not”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

3 of us had a "Carolina BBQ" sandwich, Fries, and Cobbler here on a trip. The service was quick and the Sandwich was large. We arrive as they were opening for noon and received our order real quick - then noticed place was some nasty - seems someone had mopped the dining & restroom floors with a real dirty mop. The tables were sticky also - The Fries were good and the sandwich was large with lots of meat - the BBQ Sauce is limited to one type - A sweet sauce blend - The BBQ lacked the "Hickory" flavor and smell of Carolina BBQ (maybe they use gas for their "Pit" cooking?) and a more Vinegar based Sauce would have been better - lots better. I personally would not call it Carolina BBQ and it was just O.K. - Not what I hoped for when I saw the sign.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Landon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good pulled pork sandwich”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I got the large pulled pork sandwich topped with slaw. I ate it open face it was so big. The pork is among the best I've had.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Get the ribs and pulled chicken - awesome Kansas City BBQ”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We didn't think the place looked like much from the outside - just a strip mall steel and glass front, but inside the atmosphere was nice, the staff friendly, and the food was really tasty. The service was lightning fast. A 5 might seem extravigant for strip mall barbecue, but it really couldn't have been any better than it was... We are from Texas, and it beat anything local to us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neuroshrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luganville, Vanuatu
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“It has grown on me”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hog Wild BBQ is a small, regional, Wichita-based chain. I have only been to the Salina location. It is a counter-service restaurant. The meat is not as well-smoked as I like, but the smokestack sandwich is very good. The curly fries and sweet tea are also very good. My wife would like it a lot better if they had a green vegetable like green beans on their sides menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthSeasAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hog Wild Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing