We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant authentic mexican buffet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gutierrez Mexican Restaurant

Gutierrez Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 124 Restaurants in Salina
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Haysville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellant authentic mexican buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

On 4/22/13, I went to Gutierrez Mexican Restaurant for the first time with 4 coworkers. I've been traveling to Salina on and off for a week at a time in the last 4 yrs and I had never been there before. To think I had been wasting time eating at other restaurants instead of here! WHAT A FIND!!! The atmosphere is a very family friendly with booths available, open floor plan for large groups, or you can eat at the bar. We all opted for the buffet and that is by far the best mexican food I've ever had. Pulled chicken, chopped beef, chunks of pork, all cooking in their own juices. The guacamole is the best!
The wait staff are very friendly and courteous. Not only did we go on Monday, we also went for lunch today as well. Twice in one week. Worth every dollar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravelKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold Beans, Hardened Cheese, And The Romanticization of Tedium”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I was here some time ago around 8 pm one evening "dining" alone, tired and hungry from having run errands all day. So, I wanted to wolf down some fajitas while I read my punk rock zine. The owner (Jerry) who greeted me at the door spotted my tee shirt, said, "John Cale!", and proceeded to talk my ear off about his mutual interest in John Cale enroute to my table. For 50 minutes he stood in front of my table talking my head off but since I considered myself a guest in his restaurant I felt it would be impolite to ask him to allow me to eat, yet he stood there monopolizing my time as my food got colder, colder, and colder (he even acknowledged that my food was cold,...but he didn t do anything about it...whether it was allowing me to eat on the house, getting me a hotter meal, or, short of all that, having it zapped in the microwave:O). He insisted over and over again that I leave my phone number with him at the desk (which I did) because he said that he wanted to give me a tour of his friend s recording studio. I thought that, despite the fact that this evening was not very pleasant (the food was ruined...by the time he stopped talking, the cheese and beans had congealed to the point that they resembled some of Picasso's later works), I was sufficiently touched enough at this kind gesture of showing me a record studio that it represented a silver lining.

(In the meantime, I myself forgot to tip my waitress that evening (the owner was talking constantly, causing me to lose my train of thought), so the following day I put my receipt/waitress i.d. code and 20 percent of my bill into an envelope with a note apologizing for forgetting her tip (as I said, the service was deplorable and the food was cold and soggy, but as someone who has worked working class jobs throughout his entire life, I am empathetic enough to tip all servers because their wages are often horrible). My tip certainly didn't reflect the quality of service: her attractive smile and eyes were more focused on the cold dilapidated pile of once-food; her indifference to my cold ruined meal mirroring her boss's. So, on TOP OF EVERYTHING that transpired that evening, my waitress was more captivated by a pile of hardened slop as opposed to me? I am being bested in my race to model status by a cold plate of Mexican food!!! Oh, my!!! Was it the very non-pop t shirt I was wearing, or the hard core punk rock zine cover on my table?? MEA CULPA, MEA CULPA!!!! But I digress.)

Although this evening was a culinary disaster, human relations nightmare; the experience was a fascinating one. The series of comical gaffes on the part of this restaurant was surreal to take in; not unlike witnessing a train wreck in ultra-slow motion in which I am chained to the front of a train as it descends off of a cliff. Several months after the fact, I have never heard back from the owner nor anyone. I will never eat at this place again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rocking T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food is okay but way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have one menu item that I order from here. The beef chimichanga is the only thing I will eat from here and it is good. It is very greasy though but it is good. My youngest son loves the chicken that they have on the kids menu but the fries are always cold and gross. I feel for the price we pay to eat here that it should be better. The service is always okay but not spectacular and the building feels like it could use a remodel. I'm not a fan of the fake cracked walls inside or how you feel like you are being ushered into a strange theater seat when you sit in a booth around the edges of the dining room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gagesmom314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bad Mexican food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food was not authentic as advertised (my boyfriend is Mexican). The food was way overpriced and mediocre at best. The place could use a remodel as well. Now, I understand why the parking lot was empty on a Saturday night. Not at all like the Gutierrez restaurant in Russell!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice buffet for lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have eaten here a few times, and I recommend the lunch buffet over the dinners. The atmosphere is not that great...older and kind of 70s looking. The owner is very nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank devirathod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gutierrez Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gutierrez Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing