We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hundred Dollar Bills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Certificate of Excellence
West Point, United States
1 review
“Hundred Dollar Bills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. The room was very nice, clean and had lots of extra plug ins for electronic devices, which was very helpful. Free wifi. The biggest problem was that we do not use credit cards, but this hotel will not accept $100 bills! We had to go next door to Casey's to break a $100 and they required a $10 purchase. The only notice of this policy was on a small note taped to the back of the computer screen!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    148
    55
    25
    12
See reviews for
211
135
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simla
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay at the Midwest Inn was exceptional! The staff members were very helpful; the beds were extremely comfortable; the rooms were quiet and well decorated; and we had no problems. The scrambled eggs and bacon at breakfast were delicious, fresh, and hot!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very clean and recently remodeled, great bed, wonderful breakfast each day. Accomodating staff and always friendly. I requested a "quiet room" and that is what i had for 5 nights. Excellent price as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed for several nights on a business trip. The hotel appears to have been very recently renovated. Everything in the room appeared new, and the room was very clean, as was the property in general.

The beds are very comfortable; pillowtop with firm base. I would recommend requesting a room away from the road, as there is a good bit of road noise, although it did quiet down to almost nothing by about 10 PM, so it wasn't enough to disturb sleep.

The breakfast was great, with real eggs (not the "real" kind that are poured from a carton) and the staff was friendly. Plenty of dining options are within 5 minutes of the hotel, and there is a gas station next door.

The excercise room had surprinsingly nice equipment, including a multi-station weight tower, elliptical, treadmil and recumbant bike.

Room Tip: Request a room on the parking lot side of the building, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyJamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

When I made my reservations, I requested a room in a quiet, low traffic area so that my dog wouldn't bark. I was placed 2 doors from the elevator and on the 2nd floor, over the pool. It was a lovely pool with a huge water slide. I was told that the room assignments had already been made and that I couldn't be moved. Unfortunately the screams of people going down the slide could be heard in my room until the pool closed at 10pm . The night clerk conducted a conversation with someone in the corridor at 1:15am - something about being assigned a room that already had someone in it. At checkout, the GM was unsympathetic and volunteered to not charge me for the night although she'd have to charge me for the dog ($20). The GM had been there a year but claimed no knowledge of any noise problems in the hotel - clearly she doesn't understand the role of GM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with another family. The two queen suites allow a family of 6 to stay in one room and everyone have a place to sleep. The room was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was fantastic, especially the blueberry waffle. The pool was really awesome! It has a really cool water slide that my kids and I really enjoyed.

The only 2 negatives...someone was smoking in their room even though it is a non-smoking hotel. When we arrived we could really smell outside our room.

The other is no fault of the hotel, but there was an elderly lady with a poodle that chastised my children for allowing the doors to the room to close on their own. This as after 7AM. I was also in the lobby when she checked out and she berated the person operating the front desk for the noise and the noise from the pool (which was closed at 10PM as we were the last ones in it). Obviously, in a communal living situation, there is going to be door noise and other noise...I would recommend anyone wanting to avoid people should not stay in a hotel.

The front desk person handled this with a great attitude and was courteous to the lady as she left. She was much nicer than I would have been!

Room Tip: If you go to bed before 10PM, request a room not near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brancoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlus745, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 785-493-9800.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Loni Reifenstein
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We drove extra to get to this hotel because of the rave reviews and pool. When we arrived we were immediately disappointed. The staff had difficulty checking us in with our debit card. The pool was closed for maintenance. Our room key wouldn't work so my 3 young children and I waited in the hallway while my husband and the staff tried recoding the keys, a second set of keys, and the master key. Eventially we were moved to a different room. The room was fine but the tv channel selection was limited and there was nothing appropriate for the children. The sofa bed was missing all sheets and pillows so my husband again went down to retrieve the necessary bedding. Then while hanging clothes and jackets the handle to the closet fell off. This hotel is decent if you are expecting something similar to an older motel 6 but is definitely sub-par when compared to other best westerns. The hotel is in disrepair, old, and overall in need of a face lift. We paid $85 but it was worth closer to $50.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 3kidsunder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlus745, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 785-493-9800.


Sincerely,

Loni Reifenstein
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 30 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Salina
Courtyard Salina
#7 of 30 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salina
Hampton Inn Salina
#3 of 30 in Salina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
Address: 745 W Schilling Rd, Salina, KS 67401-8992 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salina
#3 Family Hotel in Salina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover America's heartland like you never have before. Clean, spacious and affordable, make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites your next traveling destination.Located just five miles from historic downtown Salina, you will enjoy being just minutes away from attractions and events such as the Smoky Hill River Festival, Kenwood Cove, The Bicentennial Center, The Steifel Theatre and even one of the eight wonders of Kansas Cuisine, The Cozy Inn. While downtown, take in a stage performance at the Salina Community Theatre or venture a few minutes further and enjoy wine tasting at the Smoky Hill Vineyard and Winery.Recreational and sports seekers will enjoy recreational areas like the Bill Burke Sports Complex with baseball diamonds, soccer fields and batting cages. Disc golf tournaments can be found just minutes away at Lakewood Park. Go hiking along the trails of Indian Rock Park or play a round of golf at one of our many courses. Once back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, unwind by taking a trip down our waterslide that leads to our indoor heated pool or cool down in our fitness area. Corporate guests will enjoy taking advantage of our business center, free faxes and local calling. Our spacious work desks and unlimited free Internet usage via Wi-Fi or hardwire makes working away from the office or home as comfortable as possible.Guests will sleep well in one of our spacious rooms or suites complete with pillow top mattresses, 42-inch LCD televisions, coffee makers, upgraded bathroom amenities, refrigerator and microwave. Wake up in the morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with meat, eggs, waffles, fresh fruit and yogurt.Whether you're in town for work, or play, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites is here for you. Our friendly, energetic staff is ready to accommodate you so make a reservation today.Like us on facebook, our info is BestwesternSalina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Best Western, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Salina
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Baymont Inn Salina
Salina Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing