We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems like it's still an Econo Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Certificate of Excellence
Spencer, Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seems like it's still an Econo Lodge”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed the location of the motel...so close to many good restaurants.
The refreshments in the lobby were very nice.

Compared to other Best Western Plus Hotels we've stayed in, this was only average at best.
When I made the reservations I didn't see that it was pet friendly. After checking in, we saw that many of the guests had pets. I suppose I didn't check closely enough when making the reservation, but I had my daughter check and she didn't see it on the website either. I would not have stayed had I known.

The other negatives: The drapes hung down over the AC/Heat unit so that you could not run it while the drapes were closed.
Lots of loud, yelling guests who were slamming doors late at night.
The dead bolt did NOT work. It had been shoddily installed and the bolt did not go into the frame of the door at all. Perhaps all the new doors had been installed incorrectly, I have no way of knowing...but if security is important to you, maybe you should check out the lock on your door before you get settled in.
I did turn in a report on it.

I took the survey that was sent to me by Best Western and got a form letter in return, simply saying that they wish I'd liked it better and to return another time!
I consider that a negative.

This was the last night of a 4000 mile trip, and was indeed the worst hotel on our trip.

Room Tip: Check your locks for correct installation before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGMSalina, General Manager at Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Iam so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do have designated pet rooms available. But they are designated for that purpose. We did recieve your information about the dead bolt in your room and that has been corrected. we hope that you will stay with us again and the feedback you give us is vitally important so that we continue to grow and give you the best customer service possible

Susan Kamm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    154
    57
    26
    12
See reviews for
215
140
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The service here is extraordinary. Everyone from the time we arrived until the moment we left was focused on making our stay comfortable, enjoyable, and memorable. The coffee and iced tea which are constantly available in the lobby make a great, professional touch. I appreciated being able to pop down to the lobby for a great glass of iced tea. The room was quite clean, very spacious, and comfortable. We had two of our grandsons, and they loved the swimming pool. The heated pool was so nice since the outside temperature was about 40 degrees. This hotel is a very good value and is very nice and very professionally operated.
My only suggestions would be to have juice and water dispensers in the breakfast room rather than pitchers. The drinks were not as cold as I would like. It might be nice to have boiled eggs available, too. I'm accustomed to a refrigerator in the room that gets really cold and has a small freezer compartment. I believe the mini-frig in our room was actually a drink cooler, and it really didn't get cold enough and had no control.
But we loved our stay here, and our grandsons did also. Great job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed two times, late March 2013 and early April 2013. Both times we had a “Suite – 1 King Bed”. (Note: This is not a true suite with two rooms, but one room with a 3 foot wide partial divider.)

The good stuff:
The price we received on the BW web site was a good value. Both rooms we had were clean and as advertised on the web site with micro & mini fridge. The hotel has been newly renovated (late 2012) and is smoke-free. The pictures on the Best Western web site are accurate.

The not so good stuff:
We had poor check-in experiences on both visits. On the first, there was no one at the desk but there was a sign saying to call. Upon calling, the clerk said she would be there soon. After I waited and she returned, she continued to enter stuff in her computer for the person she had been dealing with. I continued to wait. There was some confusion about getting a quiet room. On a good note, the clerk was helpful and pleasant to deal with once she gave me her attention.

Check-in for the 2nd visit was worse. Two clerks spent ages trying to answer questions from another customer about her points, reservations at this location, availability at a another BW, etc. Apparently there was only one computer available for the two clerks, so it was impossible for the 2nd person to take care of me while the first took care of the other guest. I stood around until I finally spoke up and asked if someone could just check me in. It all took ages.

Perhaps some of the “staff problems” were caused by the newness of the hotel. In addition to no check-in person available on the first visit, they were short-handed and overwhelmed with the large group of guests at breakfast (it was spring-break). On the second visit the employees appeared to be newly employed and inexperienced. Neither one knew their way around the computer system.

Though the hotel has just been remodeled, the workmanship is (as another reviewer said) "shoddy". For example, in both of our rooms, the grout on the bathroom floors was slopped up on the walls. In our 2nd room, a lamp on one table was not working (the chain on the switch was torn off). Also, when we checked in and received keys to the 2nd room, we found the door to our room propped open and a “Please Clean” sign on it. We were hesitant to go in, but it did appear to be OK. The sleep timer for the TV did not work on either of our two visits. Although the heat worked fine in the rooms, both bathrooms were cold.

On both occasions we had to go to the front desk and ask for a copy of the bill when we checked out. They did this willingly and nicely, but why have to ask? Most hotels slip it under your door on check-out day – a much nicer business practice.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as the hotel is at the intersection of two fairly busy streets. Room 131 was go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradocarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband, dog and I are driving from Maryland to California . This second day of our journey landed us in Salina. This Best Western hotel is up there in my top ten Best Westerns which is saying a lot since we travel across the country fairly often. Lonni and Larry were very helpful, professional and courteous. The bed was super comfortable and the bedding was quite nice. Sheets were above average....NOT thin, worn or pilled. The towels were thick and nice sized. The room was impeccably clean as was the lobby. The only thing that could use some improvement are the grounds and since the hotel is only four months old hopefully they will figure that out. There is a need for a few garbage cans (especially near the side exit doors) around the property as there was a bit of litter....nothing bad. And a doggie clean up station would be most welcome. People should clean up after their pets and pet stations are helpful in encouraging others to do so!
Salina proved to be a wonderful stop. A very cool town....completely unexpected. And the tripadvisor restaurant reviews for Martinellis were right on the money. Good food, lots of it and very reasonably priced.
I will absolutely return to this Best Western!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitterdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed the night here for a halfway stop on my journey from Oklahoma to Wyoming. The room was incredibly nice, and the staff was very welcoming and helpful in giving great suggestions for places to eat in town. The breakfast is not the typical bagels and cereal that you find at other low budget hotels - they offer bacon, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, fruits, and juices. Overall I was very impressed with what was offered for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Plus in Salina a halfway point driving out to visit family in Colorado. This hotel is very nice and has been recently remodeled. Although it is a Best Western, the facility is as nice as any Hampton or Holiday Inn Express, but at Best Western prices.
We only intended to stay one night and be on our way, but a big snowstorm shut down I-70 and we had to stay an extra night until they opened the interstate. The front desk staff was very helpful in finding us some things for the kids to do in town while we spent a day in Salina, which is a very nice little town.
If you plan to go in the pool and use the cool little water slide, then bring goggles because the water has a very strong cholrine content, which is a good thing for a hotel pool, but tough on the kids' eyes.
The hotel manager was the ditrict manager who was there to fill in, and she was on top of things and had the place running smoothly. After she left, the chubby desk clerk was a little more laid back and was more interested in the breakfast bar than the front desk, but it was more amusing than annoying.
All in all a very nice stay here and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Bring goggles for the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgartebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 31 in Salina
272 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Salina
Courtyard Salina
#7 of 31 in Salina
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Salina
Hampton Inn Salina
#3 of 31 in Salina
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
Address: 745 W Schilling Rd, Salina, KS 67401-8992 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salina
#3 Family Hotel in Salina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover America's heartland like you never have before. Clean, spacious and affordable, make the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites your next traveling destination.Located just five miles from historic downtown Salina, you will enjoy being just minutes away from attractions and events such as the Smoky Hill River Festival, Kenwood Cove, The Bicentennial Center, The Steifel Theatre and even one of the eight wonders of Kansas Cuisine, The Cozy Inn. While downtown, take in a stage performance at the Salina Community Theatre or venture a few minutes further and enjoy wine tasting at the Smoky Hill Vineyard and Winery.Recreational and sports seekers will enjoy recreational areas like the Bill Burke Sports Complex with baseball diamonds, soccer fields and batting cages. Disc golf tournaments can be found just minutes away at Lakewood Park. Go hiking along the trails of Indian Rock Park or play a round of golf at one of our many courses. Once back at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites, unwind by taking a trip down our waterslide that leads to our indoor heated pool or cool down in our fitness area. Corporate guests will enjoy taking advantage of our business center, free faxes and local calling. Our spacious work desks and unlimited free Internet usage via Wi-Fi or hardwire makes working away from the office or home as comfortable as possible.Guests will sleep well in one of our spacious rooms or suites complete with pillow top mattresses, 42-inch LCD televisions, coffee makers, upgraded bathroom amenities, refrigerator and microwave. Wake up in the morning to a complimentary hot breakfast with meat, eggs, waffles, fresh fruit and yogurt.Whether you're in town for work, or play, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites is here for you. Our friendly, energetic staff is ready to accommodate you so make a reservation today.Like us on facebook, our info is BestwesternSalina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Salina
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Baymont Inn Salina
Salina Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing