We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Best Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Inn Motel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Salina
1 review
“Very clean place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Yes. I will stay again.very good place.very good price.very clean place. Refrigerators, microwaves and new TV. Looks like every thing is new. Where can you fiend room for less then $ 50.00.Comfortable place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesmith1831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
23
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'm not sure who wrote the positive reviews about this motel, but the recent negative reviews are much closer to the truth. Unfortunately these recent reviews were not posted when I made my reservation---at that time this motel was listed as #1 choice in Salina above Holiday Inn! We made our reservation based on these reviews which was our mistake. This motel is very old--1920's auto court style in the wrong part of town--sitting right on the street, pretty shabby. It is a Mom and Pop very basic operation. $41 per night is really cheap, but it depends on your standards. We spent the first hour killing flies in our room--then noticed we had no security lock on the door and the frig won't work. On the whole, the room is old, basic but fairly clean and comfortable---however woodwork and the carpet need cleaning. But the absolutely WORST thing is the bare bulb in the ceiling--the ONLY light in the room! Not even a bedside light. There is a desk, free wi-fi, small bathroom and king bed. This motel is not charming or quaint and many of the previous reviews are really very misleading. We would not recommend this motel to anyone except guests looking for a really cheap rate who don't care about basic quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotgrandmacwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We wanted to camp, but the high winds and severe storm threats changed our plans. We had the highway magazine with coupons and decided to stay at this hotel. The front desk person was very helpful and even put our freezer jugs in their large freezer for us since the room refrigerators were too small. The hotel is directly across from a truck stop, so the noise from the diesels was a bit much when outside, but didn't hear anything inside the room. It's far enough from the highway, that that side is actually quieter, but we didn't change our room. The beds were okay, older TV, but clean and reasonably priced. Not many choices for breakfast and nothing hot except toast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Look, this is an old refurbished motel on the "other side of the tracks" in Salina. It does not deserve a 5 star rating. I gave it 2.5 because it is great value, but not the best motel (as TripAdvisor states) by a long shot. I found the rooms to be small and though clean and comfortable there are glaring issues. First, the shower had no handles (photo), Second the door has no security locks (photo) third it is in an area that is well past it’s "hey day", on a busy noisy road. FYI - the new, better motels have all been built South of here. I came here because of TripAdvisors "Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Salina" but this should not be so. Sure $42 (tax included) is cheap but spend a few $$ more and move up town. Conditionally Recommended 2.5 Star

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here last weekend. All of the reviews are true, this is place is clean and a great value. The bed was comfortable. The bedding is outdated but super clean. You just can't beat it for $35.
The area of town isn't great but if you are just staying the night it works great. The staff is friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meganigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltom City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found this little gem through Tripadvisor when we were tired of paying exhorbitant rates to the major chains only to find dirty bathrooms, poorly fitting sheets, lousy "breakfasts" and even loose carpeting. This is your basic family-owned (American) business. They have (only) 10 rooms and seem to be fully almost every night. It is CLEAN, QUIET, COMFORTABLE and CHEAP!

Let me be clear about this: if you're one of the spoiled Americans who has to have everything done for you, this is not the place for you: no "free" breakfast; no coffee maker (and no coffee spills on the rugs!); the bed is for sleeping (if you want to read, please bring your own reading light or use a back-lit e-book. BUT, the bed was the MOST COMFORTABLE of our 9 day trip. The shower had plenty of pressure (described as "harsh" by another reviewer here) and there was plenty of HOT water.

I spent some time talking with the owner, a delightful lady who does almost everything herself. It's always nice to meet someone who isn't too proud to change sheets and clean toilets along with collecting the money. And all done with a smile. Ditto for her children.

This place is a little out of the way, which is why it is quiet at night, and there's no one above or below you to make noise; and no hallway for screaming kids to run through. It is well worth a little time and effort to get to it, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

With what we saved here, we had a good FULL BREAKFAST at IHoP and still came out ahead.

As if the above was not enough, this place also had the FASTEST wireless internet of the trip. Go figure....

Room Tip: Remember, you're getting the room to sleep in, not pretend you're at home with all of the lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I'm a Hilton Diamond member, but wanted a low priced, nice place for a short layover on a long road trip. I was hesitant when the Best Inn Motel came up as the #1 choice on TripAdvisor, but trusted the reviews. I wasn't disappointed. For $35, we got a nice, clean, well-kept room with a good bed. The owner was very nice and the overall experience was very positive.

Room Tip: Some road noise in the morning...not much of a way to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 30 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Salina
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Salina South
Days Inn Salina South
#19 of 30 in Salina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Inn Motel

Property: Best Inn Motel
Address: 1220 West North Street, Salina, KS KS 67401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing