We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family-friendly zoo”
Review of Rolling Hills Zoo

Rolling Hills Zoo
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Salina
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
midwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family-friendly zoo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a great place to visit. Many different species with a majority being endangered. Lions, tigers, and bears oh, my! Reptiles, camels, rhinos, giraffes, orangutans, and much more. Check the calendar. Lots of fun events. My grandsons just enjoyed feeding the penguins as part of a special exhibit they have right now. An impressive museum. Great size for a half- day trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lvtrvl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    42
    8
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Stop”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our trip to the Rolling Hills Zoo was very nice. The exhibits are very well done and there is a great variety of animals to see especially for a smaller zoo. The zoo's size made for a very nice walking tour. Everything was well maintained. Restrooms were very clean and we even had a quick lunch in the snack bar. Good for concession food and not overly expensive. We didn't know about the museum part of the zoo and didn't know what to expect. When we bought our tickets, we were told it was a display of taxidermy animals. What a nice surprise when we found elaborate life sized dioramas featuring scenes from around the world.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amyntexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely zoo where you'd least expect one!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a lovely, well-kept up zoo. Lovely rolling hills, lake, easy to walk, well-marked animal exhibits, lots of open areas, nice museum. This is a good way to spend a couple hours or more. Some things I didn't like---they charge you an extra $3 for a tram pass to use to ride around during your stay. The tram is pulled by a tractor--and our guide was reading her whole speech WHILE she was driving---this was a little un-nerving. Also...couldn't hear a word she said. I know some places have pre-recorded information that is piped into the cars and the driver controls the start-stop switch for the whole lecture. They need to switch over to this method, decrease the amount they have to memorize, or do something to keep the drivers eyes on the road and not on the book! Really there's not much that makes this stand out as something special from other zoos----but it is clean, well-laid out and they had some "mister" stands set out to get a shot of spray to help cool you off (haven't seen these anywhere but Vegas!) I also want to mention the museum they have---big----dioramas with animatronic people and some animals. You wander through and see animals that have been stuffed and placed into different natural settings for their natural habitats. My grand daughter and I were both kind of creeped out by the "way" they portrayed some of these animal groupings. In almost everyone---one animal was being attacked and brought down in fight-to-the-death, or hunter scenarios. There was no portrayal of bites, blood, gore or anything.....but they were very realistic and sort of violent scenes of a zebra being attacked by lions, and many other displays that made us sort of sad, and uncomfortable. We get enough death and violence in all other medias...having it constantly visually "suggested" was not needed for educational purposes where "live" animals were the attraction. This I feel needs to be toned down...a LOT! Also by the lion cage we found a staff member displaying a full lion skin with head and glass eyes. They encourage the kids to pet the fur and feel it---with the real thing right there to see---this was kind of morbid. All in all a day here is a nice distraction. They have a good variety of animals that all seem well cared for and happy in their environment. This would be a great place to take the kids---might want to have a look in the museum before you take the kids in though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DIANE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent gem that's worth a day trip”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I didn't know what to expect, but it's terrific. It's not very big, but I think that's a plus, because it's not overwhelming. The big cats, rhinos, and primates (particularly the adorable little cotton headed tamarins) were particular highlights. It's very nicely kept (including the bathrooms) and easy to get around. The pens are also designed such that you can almost always see an animal, even if it's trying to hide (I appreciate that, because I don't pay to see empty pens!).

Check it out!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FuhTeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
614 reviews
499 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This zoo is nice and has a variety of animals. It is not too big, so it won't tire anyone out. There is also a museum here. It contains taxidermied animals set in various scenes. The taxidermied animals come from all over the globe. this is a nice place to spend a few hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AF_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rolling Hills Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing