We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food!”
Review of Cotija's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Cotija's Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Really good food every time I go there! Always very busy, so the wait staff are pretty challenged, but they do a good job.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank devirathod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thanks Tripadvisor, another great Restaurant!!!

Everything about this restaurant was excellent, the food, the service and the price. Much better than any chain Mexican Food Restaurant. Fresh ingredients and well prepared food.
I would have liked it a bit spicier, but it tasted great any ways.

Next time we drive through Salina we will be back

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Junction City, Kansas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“BEST IN TOWN”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I have been to Cotija's at least ten times this past year. If I had to rate each visit individually, I would give all of them 4-5 stars.

FOOD: 5/5
Cotija's makes a good first impression by offering you not one, not two, but at least THREE bowls of salsa. There is a warm (to the touch) mild salsa, a cool, mild salsa and my absolute favorite, something that I haven't seen at any other Mexican restaurant I've been to: A cool, green, sweet and spicy salsa. If they sold this salsa in bottles, I would buy it by the bottle!

Moving on to the entrees, I have tried a good handful of them and I don't think I've had a single one I didn't like. You want Mexican for brunch? No problem as they have a Machaca Plato with eggs, meat and peppers along with rice, beans, salad and tortillas.
Speaking of tortillas, you always get a choice of flour or corn tortillas with your orders.
Anything off the beef menu was excellent, especially if it had a Mexican word in the name of the entree.

SERVICE: 4/5
It depends on the waiter or waitress, but in general the staff have always been attentive, refilling glasses, bringing more salsa or your to-go box.

ATMOSPHERE: 5/5
Lunch on Sunday always has a decent crowd but the interior is spacious enough that you can have a good conversation with whoever is sitting across from you. Spanish music plays in the background, enough to create an atmosphere but not too loud to be a nuisance. There are booths and also tables that can be put together for large crowds.

VALUE: 5/5
First of all, the three salsas (two mild, one hot) they start you with are free of charge, even if you ask for more.
Although I have almost exclusively eaten off the Beef and Specialty menus, there are some combination plates to be had for cheaper.
But even the Beef and Specialty menu items are a good value as there will be enough food that it will serve as both lunch and dinner.
To further illustrate the value, today my wife and I had two entrees, white queso dip, two sodas (w/ free refills) and the total came out to about $30 including a generous tip.

OVERALL: 5/5
As someone who grew up in Arizona, I am constantly on the lookout for good Mexican food. Believe me when I tell you that this is the best in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james09173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Level Contributor
171 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Second visit in two years”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We will never be able to pass through Salina without visiting this fine family owned Mexican restaurant. The service great, food fantastic, and prices very reasonable. Don't miss it if you are in Salina

Visited October 2012
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Waterman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First timer”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I went there on a whim because we wanted something different. Very good food, service was good, and servings were more than enough! Will definitely go back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank J63P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotija's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing