We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Holiday in Salina”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Enjoyable Holiday in Salina”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Really nice hotel for a weekend (Memorial Day) in Salina with wonderful hospitality by a friendly and accommodating staff. The breakfast was not extravagant but certainly adequate having both hot and cold items and all were kept fresh and well-stocked throughout each morning (thanks April!). Check-in and check-out were effortless and the Mgr., Vincent did an amazing job of making us feel welcome. We had the Jacuzzi suite which was roomy and clean. They welcome dogs and have a nice bit of grassy area for them to exercise. Location is perfect, only a few minute drive down 9th street to major shopping retailers and restaurants. Not to miss restaurant recommendations: Matinelli's Little Italy (if it's a show night at the Stiefel do MAKE a reservation!); Hickory Hut barbeque (probably the best in the state of Kansas); Daimaru Steakhouse for hibachi style cooking (we sat in the quiet part of the dining room and were served the same meal without the hibachi grill and it was Fabulous! Will stay at the Sleep Inn on our next visit to Salina.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was spacious and because it is on the 1st floor and at the end of the hotel it all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
36
26
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Paid for a suite for 2 kids and two adults with two beds. We got one with a pull out sofa and king that was hot, dirty, and smelled. Tried to change rooms but none were available. No bedding for the pull out . Two towels for 4 of us, one lotion, no shampoo or conditioner. Stains all over carpets throughout hotel. Breakfast bar was fine, employee working Buffett was sloppy unprofessional and rude in a dirty t-shirt and blue jeans. Wouldn't touch the pool.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salina hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago on my way back home and I have got to say that this hotel is great! I ordered a single king room which doesn't come with many amenities but just what I needed. This hotel is one hotel out of 3 that I have stayed at on my week long trip and this is the only hotel with a decent internet connection. For those of you traveling for business, this will be a great hotel to stay at. The room comes with basic things like a flat screen tv, decaf and non-decaf coffee and tea, 2 bars of soap, lots of towels, shampoo, conditioner, mini fridge, microwave, and is positioned around some fast food restaurants and a few other eateries. Next time I travel to the east coast, I will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 201 in case those of you staying here want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinnie L, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete this online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Vincent Lyman
Front Desk Manager
Sleep Inn and Suites
(785) 404-6777
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

There are definitely better places to stay in the area for the same money. Chipped bathtub, walls needed painted, really outdated. Won't make the mistake of staying at this motel again. Disappointed, this chain is usually higher quality but not this particular motel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasWildcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacygne, Ks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it but.... let's do the positives first. Although the location is fairly far out of town, that has it's advantages such as quietness. It is relatively new and has nice touches like granite counters in the bathroom and tile walls in the tub. Microwave and fridge in the room. The continental breakfast, while it won't knock your socks off, is good. Staff is friendly. Now the down side-it had snowed a week before we were there and the parking lot was absolutely horrendous. Yes, there was a lot of snow but other businesses had managed. When we returned to the hotel after checking in and going to visit our family, we could barely walk from the car to the hotel. It was a sheet of ice and I was very afraid of falling. We told the woman at the desk and she said they had someone clean it but they hadn't done a good job. No sh**, Sherlock-hire someone else! It was cold overnight so was the same way in the morning when we left. While our room overall was clean they need to vacuum under the tables, etc. There was a toe nail clipping by the bed that I could see and it was there all the time we were. Disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is by no means the fanciest hotel I have ever stayed in, but for just a good-value place to sleep, I have returned here often. It is relatively new, clean, has an indoor pool and hot tub, and a small fitness room. Breakfast includes a few hot offerings and a waffle maker. People at the front desk have always been friendly and helpful. There is no restaurant on site, but several good ones within a mile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobNobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on October 4, 2013. Upon my return home, I discovered I had left a book there. I called them right away and yes, they had my book. Well, today is October 28, 2013 and they STILL have my book. A credit card number was provided for them to send my book back to me. I STILL have not received it. In my communications with them, I was told they took it the UPS store in Salina. In speaking with UPS, I was told that the Sleep Inn had not mailed anything since August. Someone is being very dishonest here. When I call, I am told that my book should be arriving any day. I am so angry about this. The next step is that I am going to buy myself a new copy of the book and send the bill to the hotel for reimbursement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 31 in Salina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Salina
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 3932 S 9th St, Salina, KS 67401-7979
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located off Interstate 135 and across the street from Phillips Lighting. We are close to Rolling Hills Wildlife Adventure zoological park, Jumpin' Joe's Family Fun Center, the Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library & Museum, Kansas State University at Salina, Kansas Wesleyan University and the Salina Municipal Airport is only two miles away. The nearby city of Lindsborg offers Old World charm with a rich Swedish heritage. Lindsborg is home to Bethany College and offers unique restaurants, shops and art galleries. Many events and attractions, including Svensk Hyllningsfest, Broadway RFD outdoor theater, Messiah Festival of the Arts and Thor's Roar Motorcycle Rally, can be enjoyed in Lindsborg. The surrounding area boasts a variety of recreational activities like golfing, hiking and biking. Spend the day at nearby Smoky Hill Vineyard & Winery where you can enjoy a facility tour complete with wine All of our guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. Pets are not welcome. Laundry facilities are available on-site. Whether your travels bring you to Salina for business or pleasure, make the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel your home away from home. We have a friendly staff waiting to exceed your expectations. Make a reservation with us today and come enjoy everything we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing