We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be really good”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Lacygne, Ks
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Could be really good”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it but.... let's do the positives first. Although the location is fairly far out of town, that has it's advantages such as quietness. It is relatively new and has nice touches like granite counters in the bathroom and tile walls in the tub. Microwave and fridge in the room. The continental breakfast, while it won't knock your socks off, is good. Staff is friendly. Now the down side-it had snowed a week before we were there and the parking lot was absolutely horrendous. Yes, there was a lot of snow but other businesses had managed. When we returned to the hotel after checking in and going to visit our family, we could barely walk from the car to the hotel. It was a sheet of ice and I was very afraid of falling. We told the woman at the desk and she said they had someone clean it but they hadn't done a good job. No sh**, Sherlock-hire someone else! It was cold overnight so was the same way in the morning when we left. While our room overall was clean they need to vacuum under the tables, etc. There was a toe nail clipping by the bed that I could see and it was there all the time we were. Disgusting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeverlyB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
36
26
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is by no means the fanciest hotel I have ever stayed in, but for just a good-value place to sleep, I have returned here often. It is relatively new, clean, has an indoor pool and hot tub, and a small fitness room. Breakfast includes a few hot offerings and a waffle maker. People at the front desk have always been friendly and helpful. There is no restaurant on site, but several good ones within a mile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobNobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on October 4, 2013. Upon my return home, I discovered I had left a book there. I called them right away and yes, they had my book. Well, today is October 28, 2013 and they STILL have my book. A credit card number was provided for them to send my book back to me. I STILL have not received it. In my communications with them, I was told they took it the UPS store in Salina. In speaking with UPS, I was told that the Sleep Inn had not mailed anything since August. Someone is being very dishonest here. When I call, I am told that my book should be arriving any day. I am so angry about this. The next step is that I am going to buy myself a new copy of the book and send the bill to the hotel for reimbursement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salina hotels

New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a newer hotel off I-135 in Salina. The room was extremely clean and decorated beautifully. Great bed. Good TV although channels were not as advertised in the welcome book. Had a nice big shower instead of a bath/shower which we loved. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was supposed to begin at :30 am but was not ready until 6:45/6:50 am. It appeared the night clerk looked like she just woke up and was late. No orange juice in container. Hot water for tea was not hot. Staff who put out the food was very, very unfriendly.

Room Tip: Try this one because it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inlovewithcanyonvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed here where the lack of hot water went unresolved. Cheap but you don't get what you don't pay for. Also be aware that there are a ton of animals all the time so if you don't like living with pet dander then this is not your place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forclonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This may be the most poorly run hotel at which I've ever stayed. I booked a room with a hot tub for a weekend with my wife. When we arrived at the hotel, my registration was already completed for me and the keys were waiting for me. However this was not a sign of good things to come. We took the keys to our assigned room and tried to open the door. That's when we found that someone else was already in the room. It is terribly embarrassing to just walk into someone's hotel room and the people in the room could not have been happy either. The hotel eventually found us another room. Of course with no hot tub. I spoke with the manager the next morning and she assured me that the room we originally booked would be cleaned very soon and that they would call us and let us know when we could move. No apologies for the fiasco when we checked in. We went to breakfast and came back but the room wasn't ready. We did some shopping and ate lunch. Came back after 1 and the room still wasn't ready. We sat in the room we had been given until 4 when I went back to front desk and was told that our original room was now clean and that they would have called us but they had been busy. We moved our belongings and turned on the water for our long awaited soak in the hot tub. And we found... NO HOT WATER! We were given multiple explanations and excuses and told that the problem may have been our fault because we didn't let it run long enough. Ultimately there was never any hot water Even after the woman at the desk consulted with the manager, the only solution seemed for her to keep hitting the reset button. When we checked out the next morning the manager seemed surprised that there was no hot water. She reduced the bill to the regular room rate rather than the rate of the hot tub room, but there was no consideration of further discounts or any interest in making things right for such a miserable stay. Like the previous review. If I could give a score lower than 1, I would gladly do so.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelwood, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is very remote, but close to the newest part of Salina. The room was comfortable, the bed provided a good nights rest and the bathroom facilities were good. The continental breakfast was good and adequate. The workers were friendly and made sure your stay was a good one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 31 in Salina
277 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salina
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Salina South
Days Inn Salina South
#13 of 31 in Salina
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 3932 S 9th St, Salina, KS 67401-7979
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located off Interstate 135 and across the street from Phillips Lighting. We are close to Rolling Hills Wildlife Adventure zoological park, Jumpin' Joe's Family Fun Center, the Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library & Museum, Kansas State University at Salina, Kansas Wesleyan University and the Salina Municipal Airport is only two miles away. The nearby city of Lindsborg offers Old World charm with a rich Swedish heritage. Lindsborg is home to Bethany College and offers unique restaurants, shops and art galleries. Many events and attractions, including Svensk Hyllningsfest, Broadway RFD outdoor theater, Messiah Festival of the Arts and Thor's Roar Motorcycle Rally, can be enjoyed in Lindsborg. The surrounding area boasts a variety of recreational activities like golfing, hiking and biking. Spend the day at nearby Smoky Hill Vineyard & Winery where you can enjoy a facility tour complete with wine All of our guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. Pets are not welcome. Laundry facilities are available on-site. Whether your travels bring you to Salina for business or pleasure, make the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel your home away from home. We have a friendly staff waiting to exceed your expectations. Make a reservation with us today and come enjoy everything we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing