We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but a little disappointed”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed here multiple times. We like it better than other place we've stayed near Salina. It's out in the country a bit on the SW side of Salina just off I-135.

We stayed in a shower-only room which we prefer. It was a large shower stall but there was no soap dish in the shower stall area and they had a tub-style shower curtain holder that curved outside the shower stall floor so the only way to keep the water in the stall was to aim the shower head toward the shower side wall... which I didn't :-)

The desk clerk acknowledged my comments but did not seem the least apologetic or concerned about the issues.

We though the breakfast options were fairly limited. Just some oranges for fruit. They did have biscuits and gravy and sausages and hard boiled eggs but the waffle maker was out of order.

The room was clean and the beds comfortable.
The problems won't keep us from continuing to stay here.
Salina is conveniently located for our stopovers and is the best option we know of.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenBColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've chosen to stay here a number of times and haven't been disappointed. This time (May 27), it fulfilled our needs but for the little things. A coffee maker in the room but no coffee. WiFi but signal strength too weak for our iPad. Air conditioner with a temperamental temperature control-- either too hot or too cold, or so we thought. We won't generalize from that. Could have been us --that Kansas wind can do that to ya.

Room Tip: Choose east side -- away from interstate and afternoon sun.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymae112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here as we moved cross country and needed a hotel that would accept our pets. The bathroom had a slight smell of mildew, the towel bar was broken, and the air conditioner barely worked. The front desk clerks were friendly but it was their first night and were not trained.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here several times over the last few years. Its always a great price for a Sleep Inn as its right on the southern edge of Salina. Doesn't matter though as this means its fairly quiet and as you will have probably driven there is no issue to drive a little way back into town to the restaurants. The check in staff were friendly and efficient.

We chose a king suite which was very spacious although the bed was a little near the air con unit under the window which made it a little hazardous at night!

The bed was nice and comfy but it was still a blanket and sheet rather than like in the newer Sleep Inn where they have thin duvets. The shower seemed to have a mind of its own but it was powerful - although the design meant it was quite easy to create puddles on the bathroom floor.

There are a few things that I have noticed now the motel is getting older like cracked tiles, peeling paint and the hoovering could have been a little more thorough.

The internet was good, didn't have time for breakfast or the pool. Staff were very friendly at check out too.

Would still stay here again but they need to keep an eye on things.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PotentialVorticity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Located a couple of block off I-135 on the southwest edge of Salina, we were very pleased with this Sleep Inn. Room was nice size and very quiet. Continental Breakfast had lots to offer. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treadman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stay in hotels four nights a week so I am quite used to how everything works. This is the first hotel that I have stayed at that I could not access the internet. I called the fron desk and the lady working was very rude. She told me that she was able to acces the internet so it must be a problem at my end. I told her that I access the internet every night and my computer is working fine. I have a verizon card in my computer so I tried it and was able to get on the internet. I tried to explain that to the front desk clerk but she wouldn't let me say much. I have stayed in other hotels where there was internet problems and they always had a number to call for tech service. The clerk called me back and said the manager said that the internet was working for other people so nothing could be done. I guess if other rooms have air and water but mine doesn't than it's my problem. I have reports to do in the evening so the free internet is important to me. When I arrived at the hotel no one was at the desk. After a while the clerk yelled out that she was coming. When she arrived up by the desk she ask what I thought was are you getting your ID out ? When she got behind the desk she proceeded to try and hand me a drivers licence and credit card. I told her that I had a reservation and was checking in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imperial2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is about 1 mile south of Salina but has everything you would want. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good with waffles and biscuits with sausage gravy as well as cereal with oranges and apples. The staff is very friendly. The pool temperature was just right.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salina hotels
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 31 in Salina
292 reviews
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salina
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Midwest Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Salina
Super 8 Salina
#7 of 31 in Salina
319 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 31 in Salina
216 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 3932 S 9th St, Salina, KS 67401-7979
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Salina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Salina
Price Range: $71 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites(R) hotel is located off Interstate 135 and across the street from Phillips Lighting. We are close to Rolling Hills Wildlife Adventure zoological park, Jumpin' Joe's Family Fun Center, the Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library & Museum, Kansas State University at Salina, Kansas Wesleyan University and the Salina Municipal Airport is only two miles away. The nearby city of Lindsborg offers Old World charm with a rich Swedish heritage. Lindsborg is home to Bethany College and offers unique restaurants, shops and art galleries. Many events and attractions, including Svensk Hyllningsfest, Broadway RFD outdoor theater, Messiah Festival of the Arts and Thor's Roar Motorcycle Rally, can be enjoyed in Lindsborg. The surrounding area boasts a variety of recreational activities like golfing, hiking and biking. Spend the day at nearby Smoky Hill Vineyard & Winery where you can enjoy a facility tour complete with wine All of our guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. Pets are not welcome. Laundry facilities are available on-site. Whether your travels bring you to Salina for business or pleasure, make the Sleep Inn & Suites hotel your home away from home. We have a friendly staff waiting to exceed your expectations. Make a reservation with us today and come enjoy everything we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing