We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs aug 15 room 115”
Review of Days Inn Russell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Russell
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Russell
jddecker
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bugs aug 15 room 115”
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Cockroaches.. I will try and post the pictures.. I found one live as it scampered from under the fridge and a dead one behind the desk in full (dead) view.. A bit grungy but I usually stay in better hotels. May treat myself to the brown palace. In. Denver tomorrow. Bugs do happen .. Mgr might try and do a spray or fog of all the rooms at one time as I betcha they are throughout, yeck. I wonder if I get a refund, or if these are reviewed by mgt

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jddecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukhmani, Manager at Days Inn Russell, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest.
After you checked out we received a surprise inspection from the health department. They inspected the rooms at random in the entire property. I can proudly say they gave us a clean bill of health with no issues or problems at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    46
    16
    10
See reviews for
66
35
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Pittsburg
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

On a long road trip we stopped in Salina only to find no rooms except at crazy prices because there was a festival going on. So back on the road, next stop Russell. The storm was wind like I've never seen driving. The Days Inn had rooms and the price was under $70. A bit high we thought but we were ready to stop. The bed and pillows were great, very comfortable. The room had a little fridge and nice flat screen TV with a good picture. Bathroom was clean and properly equipped. The breakfast was typical motel fare plus make your own waffles. Wind speed was 36MPH steady when we left in the morning and didn't slow down until we got to Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: Decent restaurant across the road, Meridy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnsilvertip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukhmani, Manager at Days Inn Russell, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for enjoying your stay. We hope you liked the rooms and other hotel facilities.
Your review means very much to us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Days Inn Russell met all my expectations for a quick stopover in the heartland. Internet worked fine. Breakfast was great. Service was willing and accomodating, though the cleaning team was parked in guest parking places. Beds were soft and comfortable. Pets were welcome and all was in order. Hotel is located right off I70, near to gas and food, and plenty of room to let a dog run. They have various discounts available for govt, clubs, associations, etc. Just ask.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukhmani, Manager at Days Inn Russell, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
thankyou for staying at days inn russell ks .please help us how you will recommend us for beds and carpet we put new beds simmons pillowtop mattresses and new carpet last year in jan 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

when we went in the employee was nice, but he was from an other country and it was somewhat difficult to understand him. we booked a 2 queen bed room for $63,the pool was warm considering its outside. the breakfast looks great. the room has a 32 inch flatscreen tv,fridge,microwave.and a coffee maker. i was surprised when we walked in becasue of the great things this hotel had for the price. great stay good for overnights i would recomend it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukhmani, Manager at Days Inn Russell, responded to this review, August 12, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for enjoying your stay. We hope you liked the rooms and other hotel facilities.
Your review means very much to us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I really don't like hotels that have outside access to rooms, but for a one night stay it was a good choice. The bed and pillows were comfortable, sheets and blankets clean, and the room was relatively clean. They provided an actual 4 cup coffee pot rather than those 4oz cup single serve coffee makers. The breakfast bar was adequate for a person on the fly and not much time to spend waiting for a meal at a restaurant. The room...well, I mentioned to the desk clerk before checking out that there was border of dust around the perimeter of the room. I overheard her tell housekeeping and the housekeeper's response was, "Really? I don't see anything."

The noise was from a neighboring room who insisted on slamming the door when entering and exiting. Also, there was a bit of noise from the trucks coming to a stop at the I-70 ramp stop light.

I found the staff friendly...that is with the exception of the housekeeper....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcapistran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

My family and I were moving and stayed here on our way to our destination. It was adequate for one night.

We thought the location was fine. Very easy access to the highway. The breakfast was adequate: english muffins, milk, juice, coffee, cereal, oatmeal. We slept comfortably with the AC running well. It was very quiet outside. The pool was fine. We were the only ones to use it, and it was clean - not large enough to swim laps in but fun enough for the kids to get wet.

We didn't like the stained blankets and sheets, cigarette holes in the blankets, dingy feel of the room.

One family member claimed he saw some sort of brown bug running around in the bathroom. Can't claim it was a roach, but there was some sort of large bug running around there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is running a bait and switch with Priceline bookings. I booked on Priceline, called the hotel shortly after to request non-smoking and two beds. The clerk was clueless. Upon check-in, I again requested non-smoking and king size or two beds. The clerk refused, stating that they only can give us exactly what is paid for in Priceline. I've gotten free upgrade requests many times when booking on Priceline or Hotwire. Thsi is the first hotel that refused. We were give a room with one full size bed. My wife did not want to sleep in that small of a bed with me. Just not big enough. When we went back to the desk and my wife registered her complaint, the clerk wouldn't budge. I ended up paying the hotel an additional $18 to get an additional bed. Look, don't stay here anyway. The place is a dump and the free breakfast is laughable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukhmani, Manager at Days Inn Russell, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
iread this review i think he/her doesnot know prices are not same if you upgrading your room
full size to king size or double but it seems like he/she want to upgrade with same price and he/she telling he always upgrade like this he is making fool priceline or hotel great idea!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Russell hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Fossil Creek Hotel
Fossil Creek Hotel
#1 of 4 in Russell
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge At Russell
The Lodge At Russell
#3 of 4 in Russell
95 reviews
20.7 mi away
Midland Railroad Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 13 in Hays
146 reviews
24.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
25.0 mi away
Motel 6 Hays
Motel 6 Hays
#13 of 13 in Hays
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Russell

Property: Days Inn Russell
Address: 1225 S Fossil St, Russell, KS 67665-3608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Russell 1.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing