We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge At Russell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge At Russell
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Pawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stopped here on a long trip to Oklahoma from Colorado. After reading the good reviews I thought we would try it. My husband had also stayed here on a previous hunting trip and thought it was great. It was cheap but the room we got was definitely not remodeled like others had mentioned. It was old and had stains on the ceiling and very outdated decor. Gave me the creeps. Tons of flies in the room. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    10
    10
    9
See reviews for
23
13
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place had signs on the highway advertising $32, however the room ended up bein $58!!!! The place is across from a sfockyard, smells horrible. Rooms are ok, continental breakfast was bread honey buns and ho-hos. Also we had someone walk in our room at 8:25 am even though checkout was at 11.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessa703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at Russell Inn while traveling across United States. Russell Inn was my last stop prior to reaching CO.
Russell Inn is located about couple blocks away from HW 70 in the small town of Russell in KS. Russell Inn is very quiet is very clean with parquet wood flooring in the rooms. Continental breakfast is available in the dinning area in the morning.
When I arrived at the hotel to check in, I was welcomed by a courteous host. Employees were very cordial and nice.
The Singh family who owns Russell Inn, is very helpful and cheerful. The owners add their unique way to express hospitality and make their guests feeling part of the family.
I am grateful and thankful to have met such wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, quiet and clean. Russell Inn is located couple blocks away from HW 70, which mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1001gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is very average. If you ask me, an entire parking lot full of construction worker's trucks is a good sign. It means its quiet, comfortable enough, and cheap. The staff/owners are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are not perfect, but all the requirements are there and in working order. If you need a quick room for the night, this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewFromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Russell Inn's room rate is very, very reasonable. Two adults in a double-queen room for two nights, $120. Can't beat that. Don't expect the Hilton here, but the room was clean, the beds were comfortable. Continental breakfast was exactly that, coffee, juice, pastries, toast and bagels. I was worried that with the extreme heat and since this is an older facility, our air-conditioner wouldn't keep the room cool enough. But indeed it did! We were on the first floor on the pool side and the room was very quiet. We didn't swim, but the pool looked clean too. As two women, we felt completely safe. I must say that our room wasn't serviced the second day, although we were promised it would be. I did get clean towels from the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground level, pool side. Also on the north end, you will be closer to parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryinBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After reading the reviews here we decided to try the Russell Inn. I always trust TA's advice but must say this time I was very disappointed. I had a reservation taken by a friendly woman who also greeted us upon arrival. She was helpful and nice. Our room was on the ground floor thankfully on the pool side. Upon entering I noticed a strong smell of air freshner which I felt was sprayed to cover up other odors. Everything appeared fairly clean at first glance but upon further review I found it not so much. There were many stains on the carpet, the bathroom ceiling needed to be replaced and the room overall needed updating. I know they are in the process of updating but our room hadn't been touched as yet. In the morning I noticed some blood stains on our sheets at the bottom which grossed me out. Above all I expect cleanliness but didn't feel like the Russell Inn delivered. The breakfast included some toast, bagels and cereal. On a positive note, the service was good and I think this motel has some potential to be a nice place. It was cheap and as the saying goes, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Over the past year, I have stayed at the Russell Inn over a dozen times and have found each time to be a wonderful experience. The rooms are nice and clean, beds comfortable, and the price is right! The owners are wonderful and go above and beyond to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Everyone who works at the hotel is helpful and friendly and makes the experience even more enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are traveling and need a nice, clean, and quiet place to get some rest, the Russell Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Fossil Creek Hotel
Fossil Creek Hotel
#1 of 4 in Russell
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Russell
Days Inn Russell
#2 of 4 in Russell
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
20.8 mi away
Midland Railroad Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
24.9 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#11 of 15 in Hays
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge At Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge At Russell

Property: The Lodge At Russell
Address: 901 S Fossil St, Russell, KS 67665-3527
Location: United States > Kansas > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge At Russell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offers you many amenities without the inflated price - welcome to the Russell's Inn in Russell, KS. We have remodeled our rooms to make your stay comfortable and affordable as possible in current economy. Enjoy our complimentary high-speed internet service in all rooms and complimentary breakfast daily from 6:00am-10:00 am. Many restaurants are within walking distance. There is a microwave and refrigerator in every room. We are open 24/7 and our staff is dedicated to make you feel at home while you are away from home. Please call for reservations today. Our staff will be delighted to help you with room selection and information. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge At Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Russell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing