We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced and Outdated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lodge At Russell

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge At Russell
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our motel room did not look like what is pictured above. Our room was very outdated, including: the bedspread, entertainment center/tv, bathroom (which had the sink on the outside, in the same room as bed with toliet and tub/shower in own room..not to mention the shower curtain was a kids curtain covered in cartoon fish) Needless to say the whole room needed an update.

We stayed for a week and felt the room was very overpriced due to the room being outdated and the doors being on the outside of motel. We were also not impressed with the front desk as they were not friendly.

The only good thing to say about this motel is the cleaning staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
15
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogersville, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Generally we have found the reviews on tripadvisor "right on". However, we were very disappointed with the accommodations we found at the Russell Inn. So many little things were not up to standard in the room that, if this is the best motel in Russell, I would suggest staying in Hays or Salina. The sink was stained and the stopper was missing, the wall switches and surrounding walls were very dirty, the bottom sheet had old blood stains, and the breakfast was disappointing. At least we found shrink wrapped chocolate covered cake rolls a strange choice for breakfast! The bath towels were larger than a hand towel, but not by much, with a thread count a long way from "fluffy".

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank birdlady500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Ive stayed in the Fairmont Hotel in San Fran - famous for its ritzy high class and customer service- but the Rusell Inn's staff is the sincerely nicest couple I have ever run across in my many nights of hotel stays. I will definitely be back. They are wonderful folks!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieSeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our crew of 60 were fortunate to stay at Russell Inn. We have never had the awsome customer service at any other hotel. The service was beyond comprehension. They accomodated everyone and made them feel "welcome" at all times. The rooms were excellent, the service "perfect" and the owners and staff were so kind and friendly. The personal service can not be matched anywhere. I know we will return when we are in this area again.

Room Tip: The pool view is super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okgrandparents
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This motel is an incredible value for the cost. They actually treat you as a friend, not a paying guest. Beds are comfortable and room was very clean. We will stay there time and again. The owners are hard working folks who WANT you to be comfortable and return. Such a nice change from the national chains.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Okgrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I enjoyed my time at the Russell Inn. Everything was clean and fresh. The breakfast was great; it offered many options including french toast and fresh fruit. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I observed another guest thanking a staff member for the offer and action of driving them to a local car repair shop. I thought that was very kind of the worker, who I believe may be the owner of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I will continue to stay here when in town. For the price, you can't beat the rooms. They are clean, comfortable, and surprisingly modern for the price. The desk staff is friendly. The rooms actually look like the pictures. Great place to stay if you don't require 4-star lodging.

Room entry is from the outside, but Russell is a pretty safe little town. The continental breakfast isn't very impressive, but includes basic dry cereal, juice, etc., and other breakfast options are available nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are easier to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joybrungardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Fossil Creek Hotel
Fossil Creek Hotel
#1 of 4 in Russell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Russell
Days Inn Russell
#2 of 4 in Russell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
20.8 mi away
Midland Railroad Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
24.9 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 14 in Hays
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge At Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge At Russell

Property: The Lodge At Russell
Address: 901 S Fossil St, Russell, KS 67665-3527
Location: United States > Kansas > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodge At Russell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to offers you many amenities without the inflated price - welcome to the Russell's Inn in Russell, KS. We have remodeled our rooms to make your stay comfortable and affordable as possible in current economy. Enjoy our complimentary high-speed internet service in all rooms and complimentary breakfast daily from 6:00am-10:00 am. Many restaurants are within walking distance. There is a microwave and refrigerator in every room. We are open 24/7 and our staff is dedicated to make you feel at home while you are away from home. Please call for reservations today. Our staff will be delighted to help you with room selection and information. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge At Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Russell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing