We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fossil Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fossil Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night sleep”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Beds were very comfortable, with best pillows we have had on our trip. Breakfast was really good. They have an omelette bar that was really good and the cook was really nice, but she kept leaving the station to go to the office. So when people came down they/me thought was closed and got the other food first. Maybe they should put a bell there or put her a seat there. Wasn't really a big deal and us the only bad thing I could ay about the place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sdwmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
56
37
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The room was clean and quiet. Front desk attendant seemed put out by our presence and appeared to have friends in the office with him. One lady walked out of the office with a wine cooler in hand while I waited for pool towels. Breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danarenee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We pulled in to Fossil Creek while on a recent motorcycle trip! 107 degree heat and a rapidly approaching thunderstorm made their location right by the highway and in walking distance to a neat little steakhouse very convenient. Super friendly and accomodating desk staff. Clean and spacious rooms. Fresh snacks in the evening. A+

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel has a great price, adequate rooms and wonderful breakfast. The exterior is lovely if not noteworthy. It's got a great dive restaurant next door, wonderful meeting space, basic amenities plus a refrigerator and microwave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

On our way home from Utah, we had to unexpectedly land in Russell, Kansas for 3 nights. Folks at the airport directed us to this hotel. Because it was graduation week-end, there were few rooms left. Luckily our companion airplane got the last $79.00 room, while we were placed in the $129.00 room. Due to a/c noise in the $129 room, we were moved to the Specter/Dole Suite ($229.00) but kept at the lower rate. The room was large and comfortable; had a sofa, chair dining/card size table, bar, hot tub, separate bedroom, two TV's and two bathroom vanities. Though close to the freeway, there was no outside noise. The bed was so comfortable, we had a hard time adjusting to our own bed once we returned home. The pillows were a bit too firm for my liking, though. Breakfast was pretty standard and more plentiful on the week-ends, but sufficient during the week. Custom-made omelettes are made each day by a cook. All staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is amazingly quiet considering how close it is to the gas station next door and freeway 400-500 yards away. We didn't have any problem with wifi from our room. However, under other circumstances I would never have paid $229.00 for the suite. Waaaaayyyy over priced when compared to large city prices and available amenities. But if the bed in the $79 rooms was as comfortable as the suite, I would not hesitate to stay here again. Actually, I would stay here again if we had reason to be in Russell, KS. Keep your eye on the sky for tornadoes!! Pretty scary weather in May. (And the folks at the airport could not have been more accommodating and friendly. A very welcoming community). Renews your faith in the kindness of strangers.

Room Tip: Because of location to the freeway, choose a room in the most northern part of the hotel. The gas s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

After having a bad experience down the road, we switched to the Fossil Creek and were very happy with our stay! Staff was super nice and accommodating. Pillows were soft and fluffy. Rooms were clean. Loved the omelet breakfast that was included with the stay. Even took advantage of the indoor pool.

Fitness Center was a bit dated and the fan was dirty; pool bathroom needed some TLC, but other than that - terrific stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goessel, ks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for several days in Feb, March, and April of last year and can't believe I forgot to review this hotel. The rooms are very basic although they do seem a little larger than other hotels in this price range so that is nice. Don't count of the wifi however, because "the walls are too thick for it to travel very far throughout the rooms," according to the lady at the front desk. They did provide an ethernet card and that worked for a laptop but not for a tablet. I thought about going for a swim but a young girl was having a birthday party so the entire downstairs area, including the pool, was covered with pre-teen girls on a weeknight and they were LOUD. The water looked very cloudy anyway and had a very odd smell.

I was quite pleased to see all the equipment in the gym as it contained several machines, treadmills, etc. but I soon realized that it's the community gym so there were people coming and going constantly and it was quite crowded.

Breakfast is the usual standard free fare although they do have a griddle for made-to-order but as previously mentioned, no one was ever around to use it. The rooms are really outdated, musty smelling, and just don't look clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
The Lodge At Russell
The Lodge At Russell
#3 of 4 in Russell
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Russell
Days Inn Russell
#2 of 4 in Russell
152 reviews
24.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Butterfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Midland Railroad Hotel
24.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hays-North of I-70
24.9 mi away
Fort Hays Inn
Fort Hays Inn
#12 of 13 in Hays
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fossil Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fossil Creek Hotel

Property: Fossil Creek Hotel
Address: 1430 S Fossil St, Russell, KS 67665-3611 (Formerly AmericInn Lodge & Suites)
Location: United States > Kansas > Russell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fossil Creek Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Fossil Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Russell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing