We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little upgrade would go a long way...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitou Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manitou Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little upgrade would go a long way...”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel was just OK. By updating the drapery and bedspreads this hotel would actually be not so bad. My room was clean as was the rest of the hotel. The food was good and the service was wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake. The alternative is not very attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saskcapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight H, Manager at Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments!
I agree with you on the drapes and the bedspreads, as they are somewhat outdated in about half of our rooms. I had ordered new bedspreads for our beds approx. 1 week before you posted your comments, but unfortunately they will not arrive for another month or so. We will also be adding soon some more color to some of the rooms like you stayed in, by adding a red bolster pillow, curtains, and bedskirts. I would be happy to hear your comments upon seeing these new additions to our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    108
    51
    15
    20
See reviews for
78
107
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
447 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

What can I say but WOW! I would have never guessed that a small resort in the middle of nowhere could do such a great job. It was a bit of an effort to find but definitely worth it. This resort is located on the shores of peaceful and tranquil Manitou Beach. Despite its remote location, you are still able to get cell service, and the hotel offers free wireless internet (with good connectivity and speed), 16 satellite channels, free parking, and a free breakfast in the morning. The room was comfortable and adequate. It boasted a very deep bathtub (probably one of the deepest I've seen in a hotel) and bathrobes (great for going to and from the mineral spa). This is probably one of the last places that still uses physical keys for their rooms, but that was not an issue. The mineral spa was excellent - the waters really do live up to their name and you get unlimited access with your hotel stay. The pool area is very large and can accommodate a huge crowd easily. The hotel offers a spa and small gift shop that sells everything from souvenirs to the bedding in the rooms (which I ended up buying since it was so comfortable). There is a restaurant in the hotel, but I did not go there due to other reviews. However, there is a great little cafe at poolside that offers home-cooked meals (well worth going to). I paid $114/night, which is very reasonable for a resort, unlimited access to the mineral spa and a comfortable hotel room (remember, this is the middle of nowhere). I'm sure this area is booked solid during the summer months. If you are a big-city person and looking for some peace and quiet, this is definitely the place for you. I would definitely recommend a visit and am looking forward to the next time I can pass through!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-view room - offers spectacular views of Manitou Beach and Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PsychRN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I have been meeting old friends here for years. We were starting to talk about not continuing do so because it was getting so run down. Starting last year we began to see a difference and this year the transformation is complete. Everything looks fresh. The spa especially looks great. Even the restaurant that someone gave an unfavorable review was okay. The cooked vegetables weren't attractive, and flavourless,but the various meat dishes were generally good. The steak sandwich was especially good. The liver not so good. And i have to say the staff in the restaurant, especially the lady who serves the breakfast most mornings, was very pleasant and very efficient. We enjoyed our stay as usual - we found an impressive artist, Darrell Baschuk, who has a studio a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry090746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

In the middle of nowhere, I did not find this "resort" very attractive at all. The village in which it is set was depressing, with tired, run down buildings. The spa, located within the hotel, was clean, and well organized (but be aware - the colour of the water, a sort of greenish gold is because of the high salt content). But I found the village so off putting, I won't be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelNotTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight H, Manager at Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments, as it is very important for us to know how our guests view our community. You are correct in that we are in a somewhat remote location, being 5 km North of Watrous and #2 Hwy. Many of our guests come here for more of a quieter type of vacation, as we are overlooking a lake, and the spa water is known to relieve stress. I am sorry the surrounding area did not meet your needs, but I assure you that it is a very beautiful area in the summer when things are green. As well, our local village council is currently implementing an action plan to improve the aesthetic value of our village by adding new stone embankments, new decorative street signs and solar LED street lights, new sidewalks, ski, bike and hike trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Exelent,relaxing weekend with friends.Hotel is good,restaurand is exelent.The pool is wanderful,sook your self in the salty water.was long way to go but was worth it to gofor the trip.

Room Tip: rooms onthe south sids are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucjan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I love this hotel and spa, and I will continue to visit it at least annually so long as I live in Saskatchewan! It is a bit far off and in the middle of nowhere (seemingly) but it is well worth the trip! This review is for my second stay here, booked for our anniversary for 3 nights. I booked the basic room with 2 queen beds and I was quite happy with it. Very clean, and spacious enough for our needs. The bathroom was a bit small, but easy to deal with. The beds are comfortable and the fridge is really handy. I've noticed that some of the tv channels fade out towards the top of the screen, but that probably just has to do with the service provider. I wish that they had pay-per-view, but they at least offer DVD player / Xbox console rentals, as well as DVD and game rentals. Thermal control is a bit difficult to figure out (we ended up accidentally making the room 30C for over a day until we figured it out.

Now, the spa:

Like I said, amazing water. I love how you can float, and it's one of the most relaxing things I've ever experienced. I'd say the spa is a bit nicer in the winter, just because I'm always cold and the coolest pool is kept at 35C. We has a couples massage on our anniversary, and that was fantastic as well, and I'm thinking of making that a regular part of our trips there.

Sam's Steakhouse, on the other hand, is a joke, and I seriously doubt we'll go there again for anything but the free breakfast included with the room. It's ridiculously expensive, especially when you consider that some of their menu items are available for at least half the price at the little cafe near the pool. Evening servers seem cold and uninterested, while the people there in the morning are more friendly and pleasant to deal with. Cooks don't seem to know what they're doing with spicing, and the chicken fettuccine alfredo I ordered from there was just sad. They seriously topped it with sliced chicken deli meat, which I've never seen done in my life. It made the meal taste salty and just weird. So, if you want to eat, go to the poolside cafe. It's small, and its hours are a little limited but the food is way better, homemade, and the prices are fair.

All in all, this is my favorite place to go!

Room Tip: As other reviewers have said, facing the lake is nice. The villas aren't as detached as you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmArrGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent the long weekend at this hotel - pleasantly surprised that the hotel has been renovated and updated. My room had new furnishings and carpet, bathroom was renovated as well. The pool area was also given an update.

Very friendly staff at check in and throughout the spa area and restaurant. The whole facility was very clean and well maintained. The free wi-fi and Flat screen TV and satellite was an added bonus! Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and rate also included unlimited swims.

Nice and quiet and relaxing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choice of "lakeside" or street / back lane views. Take the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bobinedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Beach
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Country Inn
Lakeside Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Manitou Beach
16 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Watrous
Super 8 Watrous
#3 of 4 in Watrous
15 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sundown Motel
Sundown Motel
#2 of 2 in Watrous
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Ross Inn
Ross Inn
#1 of 1 in Lanigan
86 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lagana Hotel
Lagana Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lanigan
10 reviews
3.5 mi away
Manitou Hotel & Bar
Manitou Hotel & Bar
#2 of 4 in Watrous
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa

Property: Manitou Springs Resort & Mineral Spa
Address: 302 McLachlan Ave, Manitou Beach, Saskatchewan S0K 4T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Saskatchewan > Manitou Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manitou Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Float your stress away in "The Dead Sea of Canada"- Manitou Springs, and then experience one of the best sleeps in our hotel that you have ever had on our new beds and luxurious duvets (there are no noisy trains across the street from our hotel like there is with the other local accommodations) . Pamper yourself at our massage/esthetics area and follow up with dining at Water's Edge Restaurant while overlooking the lake. Shop at our newly expanded gift shop, or enjoy some alone time in one of our recently renovated hotel rooms. Hotel has 102 rooms, and numerous convention rooms to accommodate conventions, family reunions or weddings. Large outdoor patio with bar and food service can be rented for large events (up to 300 people). 2014 Sask. Tourism Business of The Year, as well as Ranked #4 spa in Canada by Spas of America, and #1 spa in Saskatchewan for 2014 and 2015. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manitou Springs Resort And Mineral Hotel Watrous
Manitou Springs Hotel And Mineral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing