We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first time glamping experience”
Review of Camp Katur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Katur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful 2 nights here this week (thankfully in sunny weather) staying with husband, 2 young boys and a very excited springer spaniel! Truly idyllic location. Huge site but accommodation spread out so you feel very comfortable - right balance between not being disturbed or risk disturbing others. Safari tent was excellent. Log burner, stove, dining table,leather sofa, double bed and 2 bunks so both boys could go on the top!! Great little loo and shower shed. Loads of great walks thru woods pheasant, squirrel and rabbit watching. Springer loved this - strictly kept on lead at all times! Boys bit young for most activities such as quad bikes, aerial extreme and segways but they were v happy Love to return. Thank you for great stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank SheffieldCharapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry R, Owner at Camp Katur, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive Feedback, we are pleased to hear you had such a lovely time and hope to have you Glamp with us again in the near future..

Happy Glamping x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 175 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

As it seems to be the very beginning of the season we seemed to be the only people staying on site, it was a country escape at it's best!

We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet Hobbit Pod! I can say I was pleasantly surprised at all the little touches that they added the string of fairy lights the home comforts - scatter cushions on the bed, soft rugs at the side of the bed and the lovely gas fuelled log burner!

We only stayed for the one night but wished we had stayed longer! It provided the rest and recuperation that we much needed! I would definitely recommend to others as a place to get away and relax.

Just what we needed! Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1987travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed over for one night in the safari tent with a group of Uni friends. Had an absolute blast! The tent was amazing and so perfectly set out! It was adorable! Some very homely touches and a lovely log stove to keep us warm! Brilliant customer service too as I'd forgotten to pack matches and marshmallows but it wasn't a problem for the manager to bring some out for us :) Had a perfect stay and will definitely recommend to others. We'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the fabulous Yorkshire Yurts for a couple of nights over Halloween with our two kids (8 & 5yrs). How enchanting it was set back on the edge of the woodlands. It was the perfect setting for Halloween and an off the beaten track outdoor experience. The yurt looked really pretty inside; it was clean, had stylish rustic furnishings & rugs, little lanterns hanging all around, a very comfortable double bed & two sofa beds. The kitchenette was well equipped with essentials logs, firefighters, matches, utensils, washing up liquid etc
The Manager & staff were friendly & helpful nothing was too much trouble. They had put on some fab Halloween activities which the kids loved including pumpkin carving and a great torch lit walk the through the woods where ghosts & ghouls hid. The 13 kinds of toadstools we're magical!
We sat around the camp fires & had a barbecue both nights, it was cold but it is November! The wood burning fire heated up the yurt in no time and kept us toasty- I would say though that if you aren't a dab hand at lighting fires then make sure you learn before you go or ask at reception for a lesson. It is off grid and this is your only source of heat (unless you have a hot water bottle or ten!) so don't get caught short, make sure you arrive in time (& before its dark!) to get a plentiful supply (more than one bag) of wood before the store shuts, especially if you are having a camp fire outside too as you do get through it quickly.

You'll remember to bring wine & beer & tea, coffee, food but to get the most of this wonderful outdoor retreat remember it's the small things that can make all the difference to your stay so make sure you have these top of your list! :
A hot water bottle
Matches
Firelighters
Wood
Kindling
T-lights/candles
Tin opener
Bottle opener
Little cartons of milk
Little sugar packets
Slippers.
Thank you team Camp Katur for a wonderful escape. "We'll be back" as they say! My little girl will especially remember the experience as she lost one of her front a teeth there literally! Gone to the woodland fairies!!

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience at Camp Katur. We stayed for one night, there we lots of friends together and we had 2 safari tents and 1 hobbit pod. Wow! What an experience. The accommodation was wonderful! Comfortable beds, very well equipped kitchens, the safari tents had a wonderful wood burning stove and although we opted to BBQ it was so homely to light the stove later in the evening when it got cooler. Nothing like camping and we all slept so well. Shower and toilet facilities were very good right next door to our tent, and just a minute away from the Romeo and Juliette pod. The setting here is stunning! Open spaces wrapped around by woodland. Staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. We loved the hot tub and sauna not what you expect to find in the middle of nowhere....don't worry pretty fairy lights show you the way. The setting is perfect and each tent/pod has so much privacy I think it would be hard to beat. Food at Camp Hill is very good and so many things on offer bike rides/Quad bikes/Zorb balls/Ariel walking etc etc.
Can't wait to return. Thank you for looking after us so well. Nice and cosy!

Room Tip: We looked at all the accommodation and preferred the larger safari tents and yurts! But there were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have now stayed at Camp Katur twice and will definitely stay there again many, many times; its a fantastic site.

Our first visit was a 1 night stay for a friends birthday and I have to say it is absolutely fantastic! We stayed in a safari tent; it has one bedroom split in two by a large curtain with a lovely comfy double bed on one side and 2 sets of bunk beds on the other side, then in the living room there is a sofa bed and another sofa so it could sleep 9. There is also a dining table to seat 8, a fully stocked kitchen with a log burning stove and outside there is your own shower/loo/bathroom shed, which has plenty of hot water.

The safari tent has a balcony where you can sit (2 outside chairs and a picnic bench are provided) and enjoy the sunshine while having a BBQ which is also provided. When the sun goes down and it gets a bit chilly you can warm up with the fire pit (logs can be purchased at reception). We tried out the outside eco spa (hot tub and sauna) which was wonderful.

Our second stay was my husband and I for our wedding anniversary and we stayed in the Romeo and Juliet hobbit pod, which was perfect for such an occasion; it was very romantic. The pod is decorated wonderfully, fairy lights, cushions and throws; it was lovely. We had a BBQ outside our pod and lit the fire pit when it got chilly; it really was a perfect night. The next morning we used the communal kitchen to make our breakfast, this was stocked with everything you would need to make any meal, they really have thought of everything you would need.

You could also stay in a tipi, bell tent or yurt which all look great. The safari tents and yurts all have their own toilet/shower facilities and the pods/tipi/bell tent share the communal toilets and showers, which were all immaculately clean. There is also a communal kitchen/dining area for everyone to use and hiding away in the woods is a children's play barn and a hobbit BBQ pod.

Camp Katur is a wonderful glamping site, they really have thought of everything and we will definitely be back for another visit, roll on the warmer weather next year :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had a fabulous weekend, although the weather was not the best but still managed to have a nice hot cup of tea and hot shower with a comfy warm bed, we stayed in the Hobbit Pod as a couple it was very cosy with very cute finishing touches. Service was excellent we telephoned for extra logs which were shortly delivered. We hired the Podfather which was really different and again very cosy we had a lovely BBQ and toasty Marshmellows. The Hot Tub and Sauna were fabulous, a perfect temperature which was very impressive in my experience of Eco Spa's. Had an excellent breakfast at the café on the Sunday morning. Also ventured in the area it is a lovely estate with lots to do if you to just chill or get very active with all the activities on site. I Would definitely recommend for all types of breaks, families, couples, groups and parties as you are not top of each other.

Room Tip: Romeo & Juliet very cosy for a couple, Safari tents looked like great fun, had a little nosy ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklington
5.8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
6.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
8.1 mi away
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Red Lion Country Inn & Rooms
The Red Lion Country Inn & Rooms
#2 of 2 in Upper Poppleton
211 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
872 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Castle Arms Inn
The Castle Arms Inn
#1 of 14 in Bedale
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Katur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Katur

Address: The Camphill Estate, Kirklington DL8 2LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kirklington
Price Range: $44 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camp Katur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing