We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Review Highlights
Well worth a visit

Privately owned castle with beautiful architecture. Interesting history which is conveyed by... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
49174
Beautiful castle

Finally visited Belvoir Castle due to ordering tickets back in March. (Tickets are valid for a year... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2019
amandamccalmont87
via mobile
Read all 562 reviews
  
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
247
149
67
61
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
247
149
67
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ticket office guided tour tea room stately home steep walk gardens are lovely afternoon tea henry viii entrance hall guide book ask questions lovely visit free flow scones on arrival cake duke
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 562 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Finally visited Belvoir Castle due to ordering tickets back in March. (Tickets are valid for a year when ordering online).
Be prepared for the steep walk up to the castle and if you’re disabled please go to gate entrance and mention this before thinking you can walk up the hill (no signage around regarding disabled parking etc).
The tour is well worth it as the guides are passionate about where they work and all the history that is within the walls. (The tour lasts around 1hr 30mins).
Wear flat comfortable shoes in the visit due to the walk but also the standing around in the rooms etc.
Our guide was Ruth and she gave so much information about the items and the drawings of the family within the rooms. She gave plenty of time to look around the rooms and have an insight into the history of the house.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank amandamccalmont87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Long overdue visit to this wonderful castle. The grounds are stunning with several walks to enjoy. The rose garden is beautiful. The castle itself is fabulous and you can choose from a guided tour or just wander at your leisure. The staff are welcoming and friendly and extremely knowledgeable. There are several tea rooms to choose from, all look equally good, and right across the road from the castle there is a small courtyard of shops to browse. An art gallery, small garden centre and several gift shops, not to mention a bar and café. We spent six hours there and still missed a couple of the walks. There is a short but steep walk from the car park to the castle but we did see a disabled entrance which looked as though you could drive up from another route. Lots of fine art and wonderful rooms. A real treat.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank yogasue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Enjoyed a visit to the castle on a free flow ticket. I'm not a big fan of guided tours so we enjoyed going at our pace. I did think we would see a bit more of the castle as its certainly big.

The grounds and gardens are nice although do quickly change into woodland rather than anything with a real structure.

The cafe was disappointing i felt like i was being ordered to sit down by a school teacher. Menu poor with no diet drinks. In fairness other peoples afternoon t did look good we settled on some drinks and some Scones. The Scones were huge but were very dry and poor quality for the ridiculous price of £5.50 we should have said something at the time but we wanted to get on with exploring.

On the way out we noticed some nice looking cakes - no one had mentioned or pointed these out to use - it mentions them in the menu but gives no details

Other than a rubbish cafe a very nice day

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank bluehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We decided to do the guided tour and we were not disappointed. We were lucky to have Ruth Grant who is knowledgeable, informative and entertaining.
The tour lasted 90 minutes but she kept us captive with her amusing anecdotes.
After the tour we visited the shops, gardens and café. There is plenty to see and do whether you want a full day out or just half a day relaxing.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

My girlfriend and I attended the Queen at the castle concert. Mercury a Queen tribute act were the main event with a local Elvis tribute as warm up.
On arrival we parked in a field adjacent to the stage field and setup with our chairs and picnic. There were toilets and food stalls plus a bar tent there too which looked good.
The warm up act was good and we were impressed. When the main event came on ..... well, the singer, we were told at the end had tonsillitis. No kidding!!! Not his fault but he was awful and couldn’t sing a nite let alone any Freddie. Really really disappointing. I’d have been much more happy for it to have been postponed or cancelled. It just cried out that they didn’t because they wanted to keep everyone’s money.
As an organised event it was good and I’d go here again, but really disappointed with this one.
It’s also a good mile from the actual castle. Queen in a field would have been more appropriate.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Steve_Lincs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvoir C, Public Relations Manager at Belvoir Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Steve, I am sorry that you were so disappointed by this experience please email me directly nwheeler@belvoircastle.com as I would like to clear up this situation immediately.
Kind regards
Nicola Wheeler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews