We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Have to Drive to Milwaukee Anymore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beethoven's #9 The Restaurant - MOVED

Beethoven's #9 The Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a mother-daughter owned and operated restaurant specializing in home cooked authentic German & Italian dishes. Hand made fresh pasta dishes including Ravioli and Lasagna. Hand breaded Schnitzel's, authentic sausages and fresh local products/produce are served. Fresh home made rolls and desserts are made daily. Open - Thursday through Sunday
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Have to Drive to Milwaukee Anymore”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Not in Black Forest or Bavaria, but on plain street in Kansas one can savor the real thing. Effort goes into the preparation and it shows. The staff and present owners, although not German, learned from original owners, one of whom was. German beer available, huge portions, great deserts and an emphasis on pleasing characterize this establishment. Don't expect atmosphere, stags on wall, pictures of Rhine, quaint villages or native speakers, need to use imagination.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    29
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardner
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to eat.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went to Beethoven's for the first time yesterday. It is the best place. I had the lasagna. It was fantastic. If you are close to the area. This is a must stop. The food, staff and restaurant couldn't be better. We will go back any chance we get to eat. WONDERFUL PLACE. Thanks for all the hard work to the owners. You make the best food ever.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I cannot eat another bite!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

What a wonderful discovery and worth the drive! Beethoven's is a German restaurant in the small town of Paola, KS, south of Kansas City. We had heard about it and thought we would tie it into a trip down to see the Miami County Rodeo at the county fair. So glad we did!
This is homemade food at its best. There is something for everyone on this menu, even if you don't like German food. They start you out with an enormous basket of homemade rolls. You might think about waiting until dinner comes, because if you start with these, you are already full before the dinner arrives. Our meals arrived quickly; even for a Friday night with other large parties there. The Schnitzel literally hung over the plate it was so large. There were six people in our party and absolutely everyone, including the men, got to go containers because we could not eat it all. Somehow that did not stop us from trying the desserts. They are displayed on the bar and you simply go pick out what you want - last night's selection was peanut butter pie, strawberry cream cake, cherry chocolate bread pudding, German Chocolate cake, apple dumplings, and 1/2 pound cookies!!!
The owner frequently walked around the tables to have conversations with her guests.
What a thoroughly enjoyable experience. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wisteriabarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious with HUGE portions”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

For authentic, fattening, delicious, homemade German food, you can't beat Beethoven's #9 in Paola, KS. Based on word-of-mouth of foodie friends, we tried Beethoven's the other night, even though it's a good 40 minute drive from Overland Park. The atmosphere is clean, eclectic, small-town & casual. The menu is full of authentic German entrees. We tried the Jaeger Schnitzle, the Beethoven (Schnitzle) sandwich, and the Rouladen. All were amazing. Sides of spaetzle, red cabbage, mashed potatoes, & onion straws all top notch. The Jaeger Schnitzle sauce was very mushroomy, so glad I asked for it on the side. the brown gravy that came with the spaetzle was very good. Desserts looked amazing, but we were too full, even with taking most home. Oh! The homemade rolls they bring out before dinner are the best ever.

Our only gripe was, although the service very friendly, it seemed a little slow due to a large party next to us maybe.

Head out to Beethoven's, but be sure you have room in your fridge for leftovers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Adorable ethnic find in this small town.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is obviously a local favorite as we showed up right at the lunch hour and the place was slammed. Despite the very full restaurant we did not have to wait long to get seated or to be served. I ordered a Turkey Reuben on rye. Delicious. They had a host of food options, and as I have never been to Germany or eaten much authentic German food, I played it safe with the Reuben. :) One neat thing we did not do as I was not the least bit hungry and neither was my friend, was the dessert bar. They covered the entire bar with all number of delicious looking German desserts! Absolutely delightful find. Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2plusthecrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing