We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most disgusting bathroom EVER! Think twice before staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd.
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“The most disgusting bathroom EVER! Think twice before staying here.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have never written a review on anything before, but my experience here has led me share my concerns so other travelers do not waste there time and money staying here.

I checked into my room last Monday and checked out approximately 2 hours later when I discovered how filthy the shower was. I would have considered staying if I could have found another room or had someone to clearn my shower, but the hotel was full and I was told that no one would be avaiable to clean until the morning.

The bathroom was absolutely DISGUSTING:
The sealed extra toilet paper roll on top of the toilet had dried blood on it and the shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a month. The tub was dingy and covered with black hair. AND there was piles of used soap with hair clumps on the shower ledge.
Additionally, the cleanliness of the kitchen was just mediocre. The top of the range was spotted with food, along with the microwave. The coffee maker basket and pot were dingy with build up and stains, as was the sink. The pictures below don't adaquately show how dirty the tub was.

The only postive part of this experience was the friendly and apologetic front desk person.

I have stayed in hotels and hostels around the US and in Europe and this was the dirtiest hotel shower I have ever experienced.

Because of this experience I will never book with any Extended Stay America.

I would never recoommend for anyone to stay here. There are plenty of other all suite hotels in the Overland Park area that are around the same price point that are much, much nicer and cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindzDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd., responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so glad that our front desk staff took such great care of you; however I apologize that the level of cleanliness in your room and bathroom did not meet your expectations. To prevent this from happening again, I'm working with my team to ensure the cleanliness of every room is up to standards and inspected according to our checklist before guests arrive.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at ovp@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    20
    16
    24
See reviews for
25
11
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at Extended Stay America in Overland Park for one week in the spring. What can I say - it was fine. Nothing spectacular, but fine. I had what I needed, which was a home office and a kitchen. Since I got the one week rate, I did not have cleaning service, but that was also ok. The all-important coffee pot was there and they were very kind about handing over plenty of coffee packets when I asked. The grab-it breakfast was also helpful. Hot oatmeal, granola bars, fruit and plenty of fresh coffee.

I will add that I was a little concerned the first night. I saw some men coming and going as well as a teenage girl who was sitting out in the hall near her door talking on the phone till wee hours. Once in my room, it was quite and no one bothered me.

Really - I don't know what other types of people stay in such a place. But I was either working in my room or away, so it didn't matter too much. Front desk was pretty nice and helpful.

I have already reserved another week there next month. For the price, it's convenient and has everything I need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylagoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here last year and it was great. This year was terrible. We had 4 more people this time and I made the reservations for all of us. We had 2 rooms and there weren't enough dishes or towels in either one. The room appeared to be clean but under and around the furniture it was very dirty and few bugs were found. The other room was visibly dirty. I was embarrassed as I had recommended this hotel to the other family. It looked like nothing had been done in a year. The only positive was the staff which really tried to get us the things we needed. I think that the desk clerk took dishes and towels out of other rooms. We had extra cleaning but the carpet really needed a good scrub and it smelled. I won't go back. There are many other choices in the area including a tent in Gramma's backyard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauai-keiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd., responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and how they helped to get the missing items into your rooms; however, we apologize that the cleanliness of the rooms were not up to expectations. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with our team on improving our cleaning procedures and how we ensure the proper amount of amenities are in each room.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I invite you to contact me, at kco@extendedstay.com, if you have any additional comments. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Been staying here every week for the last 3 weeks (traveling back home on the weekends). The first stay was good... since then, it has gone down hill.

Currently, I'm quite ticked. Arrived at my room, then ran out to get groceries. Upon returning, discovered there were no GLASSES or FORKS! This is a no-no at an extended stay. What is the point of having cabinets, a stove, and a fridge without anything to eat or drink with. What was room service doing to not notice this?

What makes it worse.. just walked to the hotel clerk and explained I didn't have any glasses or forks. She stated "sorry, we don't have any left." Umm... okay.

So, I asked for something plastic. She stated they don't have anything plastic either (which is odd.. because every morning they manage to have to-go coffee cups).

This place is cheap, and the service is crap. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlinJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd., responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Olin - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the utensils you needed during your stay were not provided. To uphold our company's high standards, we will thoroughly inspect every room to make sure there are cups as well as eating utensils. In addition, we will make it a priority to stock extra supplies at the front desk.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at kco@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We did not get the room we'd reserved and had to take a smaller room. The bathroom was tiny and had live bugs in it. The room itself offered a different variety of bug and was dirty - there was visible dust on surfaces and everything had a stale, unpleasant smell. The towels had hairs embedded in them. There were no supplies at all, no soap or kleenex. We never saw the breakfast food in the lobby so I'm not sure it existed. The halls smelled of old cooking odors. The rolling luggage cart was half broken and barely held together with duct tape. The air conditioner rattled and did little to stir the air which smelled like ramen noodles mixed with old cigarette smoke. This has to be the worst hotel in Overland Park.

Room Tip: Stay far away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd., responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The conditions of the room that you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken to my team and will be doing further training to ensure your experience is not repeated.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at kco@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

1) Took three days to get towels (not replacements, towels period) - Try drying off with a washcloth for three days. When we asked for towels, there were never any available.
2) The room smelled like smoke because someone nearby was smoking in their room even though there are no smoking signs everywhere.
3) There was food in the fridge left over from a previous guest.
4) Management was never available; it was always their day off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Owner at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd., responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Viki - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am very sorry that we were unable to provide you with replacement towels in a timely fashion and for the level of cleanliness in your room. In response, I am working with our housekeeping staff to improve our procedures to ensure these types of situations do not happen again in the future. As well, I am speaking with our Manager about the importance of attending to our guests needs.

I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at kco@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great stay there. The location is particularly convenient, near the freeway and with grocery store nearby and, as we were concerned, very close to the Regional Medical Center. It has a fully equipped kitchen, flat screen tv and perfectly fonctionnal free wifi access. The staff was caring and efficiently helpful. We'd definitly recommend that hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gildas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd., responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Gilda - I appreciate you taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, the amenities we had to offer and our caring, efficient staff.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overland Park
4.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave
3.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Metcalf
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
#23 of 37 in Overland Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
1.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Kansas City Lenexa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd.
Address: 10750 Quivira Rd, Overland Park, KS 66210-1217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Overland Park
Overland Park Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing