We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here on way back from Colorado for one night. The rooms are large and the beds are comfy. The desk was quick at check in. Asked about good places to eat and they offered some coupons for free appetizers at some of the restaurants. Checked out early to hit the road back home. Apparently all the luggage racks were in other peoples rooms. The pool is nice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuesdaypoolnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 390 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2011

Nice hotel, decent location relative to highways, room and staff were great. Internet worked well. Stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homerrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I've stayed at hotels nicer than the hotels of the Hyatt Place chain before, but on the whole, if you were to pick one chain that provides their product consistantly across the board no matter where you go, its Hyatt Place.

The beds are spectacular, the TV is huge and has a ton of channels, there's a ton of space-- I shared the room with two co-workers and there was plenty of space between the L-shaped couch and the two beds, we did not feel short on space at all!

The breakfast is free for continental breakfast and you have to pay to add on hot entrees. I actually think this is very fair and equitable as it keeps the cost reasonable but also allows them to provide the hot meal if the customer wants it.

This particular location is ideally situated within Overland Park close to just about everything in town. Lots of good restaurants and a couple of bars nearby. Would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank fjnovak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

For the amazing rate this was a great hotel. Staff was caring and attentive. Room was clean, spacious with a nice sitting area. Breakfast and coffee was good. I liked you could order food 24 hours a day. The only thing I would have liked, a little bit bigger bathroom, but really no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank housermania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The staff has been so sweet, helpful, funny, charming - every interaction has been great. The room was a tremendous surprise for us. We paid under a hundred bucks, and have this great space with wet bar, and large flat screen, desk, pit group, two Queen beds, and a dressing mirror that is seriously as big as a twin bed. Love it.

Yes - the bathroom itself is the size of a closet, but I'm not sleeping in there so it's not a big loss.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartPhoneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed at this property off and on over a three-week period and then decided to start staying somewhere else.

Basically as a previous reviewer wrote, not one major item stood out but just a lot of little things sent me on my way. The property in general is starting to age and now is looking more like one of those older Marriott Courtyard properties from the middle 1990’s instead of an art-deco Hyatt Place that is marketed on television and the Internet.

Glassware is never collected from rooms until checkout so if you decide to have a glass of wine at night and leave the empty glass in your room (or however many you collect over the period of your stay) it will simply pile up until checkout. I ended up taking them and placed them in the hall next to the elevator so they would be forced to get collected.

A/C unit in rooms are older and loud so better to turn them off while watching television.

The cocky 20 year old guy that works at night is more interested in BS’ing with patrons instead of actually serving them. Front “bar” area was out of cookies almost every night and I was told it would be 20 minutes before new ones were made. When I came back down in 20 minutes to purchase one there were other people in line and only 2 cookies were made. So, I had to state that I had already been waiting and was not going to wait another 20 minutes to collect one. Overall, I would say most of the products in “the pantry” are typical overpriced hotel food items that are not worth half their price. My advice, stop at the gas station on your way in and buy what you need there.

Finally, the so called “Continental Breakfast” is nothing other than some cereal and fruit where the bowls are mostly empty. Typical bait and hook scenario. If you want a real item like an omelet, expect to pay. Otherwise, just chew on some sour green apples.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shagadelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Once we got past the service areas (front desk, elevators) we found a nice hotel with lovely, spacious rooms. There was a slew of teen soccer players staying at the hotel while we were there which would explain why the place looked a little tousled. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#5 of 37 in Overland Park
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf

Address: 6801 W 112th St, Overland Park, KS 66211-1577
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range: $98 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our wonderful renovation crew has finished our 6th floor guest rooms! We are now beginning to sell these rooms and are excited to receive feedback from our guests! Our 5th floor is expected to be finished soon and 4th floor is currently in progress. We are still selling rooms on 1st, 2nd, and 3rd floors until it is their time to be renovated. We would like to thank all of our guests for being patient and understanding with us and our renovation crew while we are undergoing these great changes. Believe us, the wait will be worth it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Hyatt
Hyatt Overland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing