We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Down Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Going Down Hill”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and I have stayed there on twice in the summer and this weekend. Our 2nd visit seemed a little less service and cleanliness oriented. This weekend, the only room they say they had available (two weeks advance reservation mind you) had the hole in the door to the bedroom from someone's foot, and the kitched attendant sleeping during breakfast.
It's a shame. This hotel has so much potential.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a great experience during your stay in December. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. Please be assured the issues will be addressed. We hope you give us another try in 2013.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    446
    330
    250
    181
See reviews for
648
349
88
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

If this is the #1 hotel in Overland Park that's a sad commentary on hotels in the KC area. We stayed here for 4 nights...3 of which our entry way light didn't work. This hotel is reasonably priced with amenities (exercise room, breakfast, cocktail hour) but the rooms are mediocre at best and need some TLC. We returned to our room one night at 7:00 pm to find that we'd had no maid service (no clean towels, coffee cups, etc.) When we called the desk to ask if there was a reason why the maid hadn't come were told NO. They would have the maid come tomorrow. All in all this place is mediocre at best. I will choose to stay in another hotel our next visit to KC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay at the Hawthorn Suites. In the last year we have done alot of updating to the hotel but we still have alot to do. We have put new carpeting, flat screen tv's, shower curtains and new beds last summer. We are just finishing up the lobby and clubhouse. We hope you decide to give us another try if you are in the Overland Park area again.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GYPSUM
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had to call for a plunger (plugged toilet) - which was never delivered. An hour later - had to go retreive it ourselves. Otherwise the room was great! At check out - my husband tried to ask when construction would be completed - the check out staff could care less that we were even there. Very poor customer service!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank KSeveready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your recent review on your stay in November. I want to apologize that we did not live up to our customer service when you were here. Renovation on the clubhouse and lobby will be finished by December 5th. We hope you give us another opportunity when you are in Overland Park.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

On the outside this hotel appears like a very nice place. Poor planning on the other hand renders this appearance to a mere tease. For example the high flow spigots and shower heads appear nice but the lack of water pressure renders it useless. Additionally lack of hospitality is another issue. I received calls about receiving mail at 11 pm from the front desk. I would not repeat my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the recent review on your stay in October. We hope you change your mind and give us another try when you are in Overland Park,

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
#23 of 37 in Overland Park
80 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Kansas City/Overland Park/Metcalf
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Address: 11400 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66210-4103 (Formerly Holtze Executive Village Overland Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Executive Village Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Holtze Executive Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing