We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice weekend overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The location is great, on College Blvd in Overland Park, with good connections and easy, convenient weekend access to downtown KC. Rooms are comfortable and quiet, in smaller buildings which make up the whole complex. The breakfast has good variety, including hot dishes, in a pleasant environment. Note, checkout time is 11am, not noon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Clyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are so delighted to hear you had a nice weekend stay. Hope to see you in the future!!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,699 - 1,705 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

My bridge group stayed here (4 rooms) last week and we had a wonderful time! The evening reception had plenty of food so we didn't need to go out to dinner, Su Ellen was a wonderful hostess with the drinks, and breakfast was a notch above the normal hotel buffet.
They let us play in the breakfast area in the afternoon and after the reception so we had nice tables and our own happy hour!
The rooms are nice, but there is an odd half wall between the beds and the bath with a stone ledge on it - not sure of the function but we left the bath light on so we wouldn't crack our skulls in the night.
Reception was nice enough to put us all in one building on the rear of the property so we had no road noise. My room had new down comforters and the bed was really comfortable.This is a good location although Highway 69 College is torn up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a back building away from College Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We were so delighted that you chose our hotel to host your bridge group. The clubhouse is perfect for that in the afternoons. You will have to come back and enjoy the clubhouse when we finish the renovation in November. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Better than we expected, nice peaceful, clean room. Got a great night sleep, with a fantastic breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank DAVID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are glad to hear that you got a great night sleep with the new beauty rest beds. You will have to come back and see the new lobby and clubhouse when we get the renovation complete towards the end of November.

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The facility was very clean and well kept.

Managers reception was very nice and breakfast in the AM was great. Sue Ellen was on staff at Manager's reception and she was very friendly and made you really fell comfortable and welcome. She is fantastic at this job.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank DONALD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you next year at the USA meeting. I will pass your comment on to Sue Ellen, this will make her smile.

See you next year!

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I didn't have any disapointing experience during my 2 day stay. The front desk was very helpful and always asked if they could help. The complimentary food and drink bar woman, Sue Ellen (?), was very friendly and warm. She made me feel like I was at home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank VICTOR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

We are so glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I will let Sue Ellen know she is doing a wonderfull job making guest fell welcome. Hope to see you the next USA meeting.

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great location to Overland Park or Lenexa. Great business hotel with all of the amenities for comfort, exercise, breakfast and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank LEONARD J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Glad to hear you had a great stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We usually stay at the Hampton Inn when visiting family in the area, but found a better rate here for the time we were going to visit. We checked in without an issue and got two rooms in the building next to the main one on the second floor. I was pleasantly surprised at the room. It had a HUGE walk in closet and also a large bathroom, much larger than most hotels. The tub was also a soaker tub rather than the standard sized bathtub, which was very nice. Loved having a microwave and mini fridge in the room, plus an updated TV, large comfy chair with ottoman, and king bed. They had not only coffee and tea, but also hot cocoa and a bag of microwaveable popcorn.

The bed was very comfy and I slept pretty well! I did hear our neighbors through a connecting door during the day. Luckily not at night, but this could be a problem, depending on who your neighbor is. I also was awakened by the leaden footsteps of my above floor neighbor at 4:30am. It was LOUD.

The breakfast was extensive. The typical cereal, yogurt, breads, fruit, plus waffles and several hot items, like biscuits and gravy, eggs, and sausage. My husband enjoyed those things and said that the biscuits were really good and fresh, which is rare on a buffet. I was feeling sick so I didn't sample much. The breakfast area is very nice. There was a younger African American guy working on emptying the coffee grinds and other things who was REALLY friendly, helpful and nice on more than one occasion. I was especially happy at his niceness because I wasn't feeling so well.

I'd prefer to stay here over the Hampton in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at the Hawthorn Suites. It is also great to hear that you will stay with us again. We like to hear that our breakfast was more than expected. The lobby and clubhouse is now under renovation till the middle of November so we hope you come back see the changes. Hope to see you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
#22 of 37 in Overland Park
84 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
#20 of 37 in Overland Park
305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park

Address: 11400 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66210-4103 (Formerly Holtze Executive Village Overland Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range: $83 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Executive Village Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Holtze Executive Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing