We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KAFP meeting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very nice rooms for the price. Great location for my meeting. Rooms were very clean. Was some confusion at check out, but was resolved. Breakfast area was larger than most hotels. Did not look like a hotel, felt safe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank BONNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at the Hawthorn Suites. We are so glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and comfortable. Hope to see you when you have your next meeting.

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,709 - 1,715 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We liked the room layout, not your typical rectangle. But the whole hotel is separate buildings and finding your way around is confusing. We couldn't get to the main building without going thru the gates for the pool. Breakfast ended early and we missed it. There were enough free cookies and apples in the front lobby, but not what I was hoping for.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdtut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is a nice property located in a nice area with fine eating within less than 5 miles. Restaurants are not within walking distance; however nice restaurants located less than 5 miles away with great shopping. The room I stayed in was a suite which was very spacious (living room, sink, dishwasher, stove, refrigerator, fireplace, dinner table, large bathroom with garden tub, and nice walk-in closet). The hotel was priced reasonable. HOWEVER, the staff will need replaced. Upon checking in at the front desk at 8:30pm on a Friday, I stood at an unattended counter for least 2min. I shouted Hello, twice before someone came from a backroom. The attendant was mildly rude and unprofessional (no greeting or much to say, other than sign here and what credit card will I be using, even after giving me a key, never said a word – like Thank You, Have a nice night). Went to breakfast and both coffee makers were empty. When I mentioned this to the attendant, he restarted the hot water without changing out the old coffee filter or new coffee grounds; I did not drink the coffee. The breakfast buffet was not very clean from where people had dropped food; food in other food. When checking out that morning, a different attendant was on duty (possibly a manager) and was even unprofessional. This hotel needs a complete re-staffing; with people who want or need a job that care, not staffed with people who feel they have a job and are secure because of it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to do a review on your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying Our goal is make sure every guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Please know that your comments and issues will be addressed with the staff.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This property is intended for extended stays, but even though we were only transiting the southern side of the KC area for 1 night, it was quiet, conveniently located, very comfortable, and a great value. Nice touches in the room, which seemed very clean and new. You should know, though, that the evening happy hour is only M-F, and Sunday breakfast doesn't start till 7. Altho' you can't walk to any dining or other diversions, a street full of such destinations is one interstate exit away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hawthorn Suites. We are unique in we can cater to the leisure and corporate travelers along with the extended stay guest. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We did not experience any problems with our stay. Check-in was quick and efficient, The room had several nice touches--walk-in closet, full-length mirrors with good lighting, mounted vanity mirror, and nice water pressure in shower.

The breakfast bar was better than most--biscuits and gravy, fresh bacon. Only complaint, no seasonal fresh fruit, only canned fruit cocktail, apples and oranges.

Room Tip: Request third floor room. Our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstephens62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thanks for staying at the Hawthorn Suites. We always like to hear that the guest had a comfortable stay and did not experience any issues. We hope you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was reluctant to stay here after the recent reviews with cleanliness issues; however, we had no problems and would return for another stay. In fact, I liked the hotel so much that I recommended it to the organization holding the conference I attended, and we plan to reserve a block of rooms next year! Many reviews have gone into detail about the apartment-like buildings, but few mentioned how pretty the grounds are--full of mature trees. It feels like an oasis in the city. Our king room was spacious and included a huge walk-in closet and large bathroom. The bathroom was especially nice with a big tub in an alcove space. A dimmer switch in the bathroom was a nice touch, allowing us to leave a bit of light on during the night. There were extra towels along with extra shampoo and and soap under the sink. I just thought the bathroom designer used space well and thought the finishes were attractive. The bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed having both a chair with reading lamp and a desk with another chair. I was surprised that on the second floor we could occasionally hear room noise from above (sounded like someone walking), but this did not occur on the second day and did not bother us at night. We enjoyed sitting by the pool in the evening. It was so quiet that you could not even tell that you were in a city. Most staff members were helpful. This location would also be good during tornado season since the main building includes a basement. The free breakfast was decent although the milk had an odd taste--perhaps the fridge needs baking soda? If you need more than a king room (which we thought was spacious!), apparently the queen suites include a kitchen and fireplace and are even larger! We prefer a king bed; I wish there were king suites, too. Overall, we had an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KansasTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

We are so glad you decided to try the Hawthorn Suites and had an excellent experience. The design of the hotel does make it very unique. We are looking forward to hosting the conference next year. See you soon!
Sincerely,
Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
#22 of 37 in Overland Park
84 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
#20 of 37 in Overland Park
305 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park

Address: 11400 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66210-4103 (Formerly Holtze Executive Village Overland Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range: $83 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Executive Village Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Holtze Executive Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing