We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms, great everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed only one night and it was very clean and comfortable. The room was huge with 2 tvs and ample space for me and my party

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cwleiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,821 - 1,827 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

Absolutelty beautiful!!! Staff was Amazing! Beds are like sleeping on a cloud. My Husband and I travel for Mud Runs and we have another coming up in this area in March, can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmy2kids0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back soon. Best of luck in 2012 at your mud runs! See you in March.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

My son and I stayed here when we went to Overland Park on family business. We had a very quiet & restful night. The beds were comfortable. The tub was wonderfully big - great for a relaxing soak.

We had dinner at the buffet reception. They had chili and soup, bread sticks, plus a salad bar and a good selection of beverages. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. They had biscuits, gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon, a waffle station, fruit, pastries, yogurt & juice/milk/coffee.

The staff were wonderful. They were very friendly and helpful. Parking was not an issue at all - we got a spot right by our room and even left for a while coming back in the evening and we parked right by the room again.

We'll be going to the area again in a little over a week & have already made a reservation (using the 7+ day advanced booking 15% discount).

Very nice stay. We'd definitely recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacieJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

We are so glad you had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay and got the full experience of what the hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate all the nice compliments. See you soon!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We chose the Hawthorn Suites because of the layout of the guest rooms. I don't know if all rooms are set up the same, but the room we had was similar to what you would find in a condo - separate buildings with apartment like rooms. The bedroom is separate from the living room, and there is a kitchen and gas fireplace. Overall the suite was clean, with plenty of towels in the bathroom, but the linens on the bed should be upgraded. It was very quiet (we stayed in building 5).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2MissouriTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hawthorn Suites for your recent stay. We do have a unique style hotel which we find appeals to most travelers. We are in the process of doing some upgrades in 2012. Which includes bedding and carpet. We hope to see you again soon and know that you will enjoy your visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Meader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I booked our room over the internet upon the assumption that every room was a suite as the hotel name implies. Attended a weekend conference at the Johnson County Comm College. Upon arrival [Dec 10], we were assigned a room in the farthest building to the north in a single room with 2 double beds; not a suite. As I had used our RCI discount code which is also owned by Wyndham, I went back to the front desk to ask for upgrade options; and, as my wife and kids are morning challenged, I also requested a more convenient building to the main office so the walk to breakfast wasn't so long and cold.

The staff listened to my requests and then made the room changes with no additional charges. The suite was just east of the main office, had a dbl bed and a pull-out couch and our vehicle was easily accessible from the side patio door. We stayed 2 nights with a rate in the $60's excl tax. This hotel is older, but well maintained, and very clean. The pull-out bed was not very comfortable for our kids.

Other Amenities
I reserved the shuttle upon arrival and the driver had it available upon request the next morning. The location was very convenient to Hwy 435 and is in a nice area. The common food area employees on the other hand were very friendly and welcoming. Monday through Thursday they have food, beer and wine from 5-7 pm.
The hot breakfast usually consists of, scrambled eggs [were a little runny], biscuits, gravy, link sausages and do it yourself waffles. They also have the usual assortment of muffins, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice [apple juice and lemon juice didn't taste right to me].
The daily newspaper is available free at the main office.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you expected a suite and ended up with a 2 double bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerDirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Google U, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Yes, the area is a nice safe area in Kansas City. We are working to upgrade the hotel. We did not meet you expectations and for that we apologize. We strive every day to improve. We will address your comments to become better. We do hope to see you again in the future to give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Everything was perfect. Check in was professional, no waiting. They even had baked cookies at check-in desk! Room was nice, clean and roomy even for just a standard room. Bathroom had a huge tub. Refrigerator and microwave were a nice addition as was the coffee maker supplied with coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Oh, and there was even a package of microwaveable popcorn! The free breakfast was the best ever. Scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, breakfast potatoes, plus fruit, yogurt, makeyour own waffles, etc. Plenty of food even when we were there closer to the end of the breakfast hour. Plenty of newspapers too!

Room Tip: We were in Bldg 4 ground level and it was fine. Easy to get to, not noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chouetteone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thanks for the great comments about your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites. We value every guest opinions and welcome all feedback.

We hope that every guest feels like we have exceeded their expections when they check out of the Hawthorn Suites.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very clean, well maintained facility. Rooms are in more of an apartment type setting which makes it quiet. Rooms are large as are the bathrooms. Comfortable bed and oversized chair with ottoman. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was better than average. Hot fresh scrambled eggs and sausage was the main offering with fresh waffles and more. Has a nice outdoor pool and large hot tub. Picnic bench and BBQ grill in common area as well. Not on the main drag so it is nice and quiet outside your room as well. Not sure what other reviewer meant by saying dated. No, it didn't have a marble vanity but who cares!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobalt222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the Hawthorn Suites. It is always nice to hear that we have made your stay very enjoyable.

Our main focus is to make sure every guest has a great stay here at the Hawthorn Suites.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Again, Thank you!

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
#22 of 37 in Overland Park
87 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
3.2 mi away
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
#19 of 37 in Overland Park
312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park

Address: 11400 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66210-4103 (Formerly Holtze Executive Village Overland Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range: $73 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Executive Village Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Holtze Executive Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing