We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great Service, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Everything was perfect. Check in was professional, no waiting. They even had baked cookies at check-in desk! Room was nice, clean and roomy even for just a standard room. Bathroom had a huge tub. Refrigerator and microwave were a nice addition as was the coffee maker supplied with coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Oh, and there was even a package of microwaveable popcorn! The free breakfast was the best ever. Scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, breakfast potatoes, plus fruit, yogurt, makeyour own waffles, etc. Plenty of food even when we were there closer to the end of the breakfast hour. Plenty of newspapers too!

Room Tip: We were in Bldg 4 ground level and it was fine. Easy to get to, not noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chouetteone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thanks for the great comments about your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites. We value every guest opinions and welcome all feedback.

We hope that every guest feels like we have exceeded their expections when they check out of the Hawthorn Suites.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,801 - 1,807 of 1,868 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very clean, well maintained facility. Rooms are in more of an apartment type setting which makes it quiet. Rooms are large as are the bathrooms. Comfortable bed and oversized chair with ottoman. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was better than average. Hot fresh scrambled eggs and sausage was the main offering with fresh waffles and more. Has a nice outdoor pool and large hot tub. Picnic bench and BBQ grill in common area as well. Not on the main drag so it is nice and quiet outside your room as well. Not sure what other reviewer meant by saying dated. No, it didn't have a marble vanity but who cares!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobalt222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the Hawthorn Suites. It is always nice to hear that we have made your stay very enjoyable.

Our main focus is to make sure every guest has a great stay here at the Hawthorn Suites.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Again, Thank you!

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Booked through Hawthorne Suites website.
Before taxes and fees, Wednesday 11-9-11, $89.00, Friday 11-11-11, $69.00.

My daughter and I traveled from Washington State to Missouri, for a funeral and stayed at this Hawthorne Suites in Overland Park for two nights, Wednesday, 11-9-11 and Friday, 11-11-11. This hotel is located in a quiet area, with easy to access to Highways 435 and 69.

It’s been 9 years since I last stayed here and they had not done much interior update maintenance in those years.

I don’t expect a brass band to greet me when I stay somewhere but except for the nice young man who checked us out on Saturday morning, the front desk folks were not what I would call friendly. There was a lot of confusion about why there was a one day break between the two nights we were staying there. One employee insisted we were staying there 11-11 and 11-12 for two nights. They were not rude, just indifferent and short when we asked questions. For example on Thursday morning we were woken up at 5:30 am by the phone ringing with an automated wakeup call that we did not ask for. When we checked out we reported the problem, the woman working the front desk said they were aware of it and it had been a reoccurring problem. We were not angry, just relaying the info so it did not happen to someone else, our impression was we were really bothering the person we were reporting this to.

The common food area employees on the other hand were very friendly and welcoming.

We had a double room both nights and the rooms are a nice size, though there is a lot of wasted space that could have been used for more living space. The room comes with a micro wave and mini fridge. The bathroom is very roomy and actually has a fan for ventilation; best of all the hot water was plentiful.
Bring your own amenities, they only offer cheap soap, a deposable makeup remover cloth and one small bottle of cheap shampoo.

The carpets were stained and the bed spreads are starting to look a bit worn and dated in both rooms we were in. There was tooth paste backwash dribbled all down the front of the bathroom cabinet in the room we stayed in the first night. Don’t know how you could miss that when you were cleaning the room as it was enormous.
The beds, linens and pillows were clean and comfortable, but the material on the bottom of the box springs is deteriorating and you can see lots of the rangy edges hanging down.

Monday through Thursday they have food, beer and wine from 5-7 pm. The Wednesday night we stayed there they served sweet and sour chicken, white rice and salad. It was not great but for the price it was ok.

The hot breakfast usually consists of, scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, link sausages and do it yourself waffles. On Saturday and Sundays, they also have little hash brown cakes, sort of along the lines of Mac Donald’s hash browns. Even when it is not busy they seem to have a hard time keeping the hot food at breakfast stocked.
They also have the usual assortment of muffins, cold cereal, yogurt, coffee, tea and juice.

I probably would not stay here again, but for the price it is certainly a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyrrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete a guest review. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfying. Our goal is not only to meet the needs of each and every guest but to exceed your expectations to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.

Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our services and property on a daily basis. In Addition, please know that your comments will be addressed with each department.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you again, especially after we complete our upgrades the first part of 2012.

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had a great stay, good location, large clean rooms, nice neighborhood, breakfast was a hot buffet which we enjoyed very much. The staff were curtious. I dont have anything negative to say about our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lainie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule and submitting a review on your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feeback is extremely valuable to us and we are glad you had a great stay.
We focus on making each and every guest experiance the best we can. We hope to see you again in the future.

Again, Thank you!

Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We came up for a one-night stay at this fine hotel while one of our dogs had cataract surgery at a nearby facility. Upon arrival both the property and unit we were assigned seemed very comfortable and clean. Within a few minutes we could hear some banging around going on upstairs but we thought it was only the maid service as it still was fairly early in the day. I went up there to look around and saw the laundry bags sitting outside various rooms stuffed with dirty towels, sheets, etc.. After returning home from dinner (the complimentary dinner sounded nice but we wanted some food that is not available to us in our hometown) we noticed the noise was STILL going on. There was running, jumping and banging going on non stop. I went upstairs to poke around a bit when I noticed the unit above us (#315) had a sign on their door saying "BEWARE - ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK" with a skull and crossbones, kind of like a Halloween sign. I then noticed the two children's bicycles parked outside the front door in addition to the laundry bags from earlier in the day and was seriously wondering what was going on here. I immediately called the front desk to inquire about changing rooms and was told it was possible as there was a similar room nearby. The funny thing is it is like the receptionist KNEW that this was an ongoing problem with this family as she explained to me that they had an extended stay family in that unit with a child. I honestly cannot believe they tolerate that behavior and I can't imagine anyone actually staying in the room we were assigned (#215) nor the adjoining rooms due to the fact that once we moved to the top floor at the opposite side of the building, we could STILL hear them!!! Fortunately our bedroom was far enough away that shutting the door took care of that problem but I noticed when I got up to let our dog out around 3:00am that the nose was still going on with the TV blaring full blast and the bicycles had now moved around along the corridor.

Once we were reassigned everything couldn't have been more perfect! The room is a bit small but does have a full living room sitting area (although they could use a new TV in there similar to the LCD in the bedroom), large bathroom with all amenities, full kitchen with stove/oven, fridge, micro, coffeemaker, etc., and of course the separate bedroom with HDMI ready TV for iPad interface. The rooms could use a light maintenance update (paint, etc.) but otherwise both rooms we experienced were in great shape.

As I eluded to earlier, we skipped the complimentary dinner (pulled pork, mac & cheese and salad bar) but hit the breakfast which was complete with hot and cold breakfast items in addition to a waffle station, nice. Upon checking out I grabbed a couple of those delicious cookies at reception and we were on our way.

We would definitely stay at this property again but only on the top floor and hopefully away from anything like what is going on up in #315.

Room Tip: Although building #1 is on the main street, it is not very noisy once night falls but stay away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank codejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian M, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Thank you for the compliments you posted about the hotel and the amenties we offer. It is always nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We are in the process of getting all new flat screen tv's and should have all of them changed out by the middle of November. We will also be doing some upgrades the beginning of next year

Our property is designed with all guests in mind, business, leisure, events and long term stays. Some of your long term stays that have been living here more than 6 months forget that we are a hotel and not their home especially if they have children showing excitement for upcoming holiday's.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Brian Meader
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Business wise I have traveled the world and all over the United States to numerous hotels and this is one of the best. Great staff. When I put out the do not distrub sign the maid still left a bundle of fresh towels by the door just in case. No one has ever done that for me before. Full breakfast from cereal to eggs and meat every morning. Supper on weekdays. For example; chicken and dumplings, salad, corn, green beans, wine or soda and desert; all free. Rooms had full kitchen with full size refrigerator and 4 burner stove. Separate bedroom with door. Living area had sofa that would convert into a bed and a gas fireplace which was really nice on the rainy nights when the a/c was not needed. Two newspapers every morning. Internet wired or wifi. Pool was cleaned daily but looked not too inviting due to ugly dark paint on bottom of pool. Two TV's so I could watch my own shows and netflex if movies are desired. Close to freeways and groceries and shopping malls. Overall impressive which if you knew me is saying something as I can be very critical.

Room Tip: Had a ground floor with patio door near pool area. I ended up happy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank specialgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Google U, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you very much for such a great review! We work very hard to make everyone feel welcome. We want our guest to feel like our hotel is their home away from home.
I'm happy to see that you found our staff accommodating and happy.
I will make sure to pass this on to our Staff so they can get the recognition they deserve that motivates them to continue delivering excellent customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

From the first experience with customer service through check out, this was a great experience. Beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and great amenities. The breakfast was filling with a variety of eggs, toast, bacon, and waffles one day, then biscuits and gravy with sausage the next. My kids were thrilled! The swimming pool was a salt water pool and was just right for us. The light dinners were perfect for spending the night in. All in all great experience. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Google U, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you very much for such a great review! We work very hard to make everyone feel welcome. We want our guest to feel like our hotel is their home away from home.
I'm happy to see that you found our staff accommodating and happy.
I will make sure to pass this on to our Staff so they can get the recognition they deserve that motivates them to continue delivering excellent customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
Candlewood Suites Overland Park
#23 of 37 in Overland Park
86 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
3.2 mi away
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
Cloverleaf Suites Kansas City
#20 of 37 in Overland Park
311 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park

Address: 11400 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66210-4103 (Formerly Holtze Executive Village Overland Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range: $68 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Executive Village Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Holtze Executive Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing