We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our family recently spent five days here, 4 adults, one child and two mini schnauzers. It was the best experience, friendly staff, clean rooms, room service was top notch, restaurant and bar were super.
Everyone in our party had a great stay, It couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: This is a wonderful dog friendly hotel. Ask for a room next to an elevator. Please follow the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDBArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I was glad to hear your family and schnauzers enjoyed the five day stay. We look forward to your return.
Have a great summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    213
    50
    28
    15
See reviews for
146
93
37
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I attend a very large conference every year. This is one of the best conference centers I have stayed at in a long time. Very surprised how pleasant the staff was! Accommodations were great. Bar and restaurant were great as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback about how much you enjoy the hotel for your annual conference. It’s always great reading when the team exceeds our customers’ expectations. We look forward to your return.
Have a great summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Our family and two small dogs stayed for two nights prior to a weekend so there were plenty of business travelers present as well. Despite the obvious business orientation of the facility and convention center, we did not feel out of place or ignored. The facility does have a surprisingly nice area to exercise the dogs which was a bonus. It is very convenient to I-435 and it was a quick trip to the Sports Complex for a Royal's game, and to the zoo/Starlight for a concert. Self parking was free, close, and very easy to access.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed largely the same, good breakfast joint just to the west several blocks… Le Peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulfcoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and our close easy access to all attractions around the Kansas City area. It’s great to see the Royals back in contention and I was especially happy to read our staff took great care of you and Fido.
There are many more things to do in the area so we hope to see you soon. Enjoy the summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton while attending a conference in the hotel. The service was great and staff were very friendly upon check-in, check-out, and in helping secure a taxi back to the airport. My hotel room was clean and comfortable, and the price was reasonable.

The hotel is a solid 45 minutes away from the airport. There is a restaurant and bar on site, as well as a pool and fitness center (I did not use either, however).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpbatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I will bring your comments to the attention of our team. Thanks again for taking the time to extend your feedback. Have a Great Summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The family and I stayed here for a staycation and enjoyed every minute of our time in the hote. The beds were very comfortable and the room and bathroom were very clean. Everyone from the front desk agents to the cleaning crew were friendly and welcoming. The kids enjoyed the pool and so did we! overall great stay and can't wait for our next staycation here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent staycation. It’s always nice reading about how much you enjoyed your family get away. We realize how important it is to relax and enjoy family time together. There are so many new attractions around our hotel and we hope you get the opportunity to experience them all. Have a great summer and Safe Travels. Hope to see you soon at Sheraton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fall
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Disappointed with the unresponsiveness when calling the front desk asking to simply have our room cleaned before 4:30 or 5:00 in the evening. Cleaning crew is understaffed and needs additional help. Room consistently was warm to hot in the middle of the night even thought the air was set at 65.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback about your recent visit. We have noted your comments regarding the room not being cleaned on time and we would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. I will review your comments during our operations meetings and place emphasis on meeting our housekeeping expectations and have the AC unit in this room inspected.
We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sheraton Overland Park hotel while travelling from Los Angeles to Chicago. This was one of the hotels that we booked while on our road trip. The hotel is a Sheraton Hotel in all aspects, meaning that is not luxury but is slightly above average (and I mean just slightly). The most important thing since this hotel is not in downtown KC is the location as it was convenient to the highway. For those of you who are visiting on business this is a perfect hotel as well as there's a large space for conferences and meeting rooms. The room rates were okay but they were not the cheapest hotel in KC, again I believe that you get what you paid for and this hotel was perfectly fine for what I call a basis hotel stay. While the rooms of this hotel were actually good, the decor of this hotel is too "grandma" house like with wall paper rooms, carpet floors, etc. It's really not our cup of tea but the rooms and facility were super clean, the beds were super comfortable. But in terms of the service I think they need to improve. Specially at the coffee shop, front-desk and at the bar, which were the service areas that we experienced issues with. The bartender and coffee shop attendant did not really seem genuine in wanting to serve us (as paying customers this is unacceptable), it's almost like they had a bit of an attitude and seemed rushed to get out of there. The front desk clerk seemed totally out of it when we checked in, he did not even asked me if I was an SPG (Starwood Preferred) member, which would have usually bumped me up to a room with a better view. But we did not complain after all I wasn't going to tell him how to do his job. I don't think I will be staying here again anytime soon, because I don't travel across country every year but there were some con's and pro's with this hotel. Overall like I said it's a hotel that would be classified more as a 3.5 stars, not fully a 4-star hotel (it would been a 4-star hotel in my opinion), but the service was a bit of a letdown even for Sheraton hotel standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabuluxeTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to thank you for your feedback and apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. We are currently working with our designer to begin our rooms renovation next year and through the following years. From what I have seen with some of her ideas I believe you will like the concept. I will also follow through with our Dir. Of Outlets concerning your comments about service, I agree that is not acceptable. We are grateful for your support and would like to thank you, once again, for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.
Have a great Summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 6100 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66211-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Family Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center. The Country Club Plaza, downtown Kansas City, and the Truman Sports Complex are within a 20-minute drive and are all easily reached via I-435. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Overland Park At The Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing