We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I worked in the hotel industry for 3 years. I know how much hotels hate third party booking sites, but when I found a killer deal for this hotel for the July 4th holiday I had to snag it. I asked for a room that was as high as possible. My husband is a combat veteran and does not like the sound of fireworks, but we both love looking at them. We were hoping to get a high room with a great view of the city so we could see multiple fireworks celebrations at once off in the distance. Because we booked on a third party website I was expecting to have to charm my way into a room on a high floor. Imagine my surprise when the hotel manager checked us in and gladly accommodated our request! He gave us a room on the 16th floor! The highest non-club floor they have.

Because our request was granted my husband and I had a wonderful night. We ordered dessert in the restaurant downstairs and took it up to our room. We turned the two comfortable chairs around to face the window, turned off all the lights in the room and sat back and enjoyed the view. It was *exactly* what we were looking for.

If we had been willing to deal with the sound of the fireworks we could have gone downstairs to the patio to enjoy the grilled burgers and refreshments that the hotel was offering.

The hotel itself is lovely. The lobby is grand and open. Every member of the staff we encountered (the manager checking us in, 1 restaurant employee and the bartender) were incredibly friendly and helpful. I even thought about taking advantage of the Breakfast In Bed option (fill out an order form and hang it on your doorknob the night before and room service will bring you breakfast the next morning!), but my husband and I like to sleep super late, so I knew we wouldn't have time to eat.

I was so pleased with this hotel that I plan on keeping an eye on it to stay here this coming New Years Eve, too. We plan on returning next 4th of July and getting a corner room so that we can see the fireworks from the Corporate Woods complex a mile away.

Seriously impressed.

Room Tip: We were in 1608. Great view, quiet, lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoLongerNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. First of all I want to thank your husband for his service to our country and thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback about your recent visit. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and especially the view of the fireworks display. It was great having the opportunity to exceed your expectations and we look forward to your future stay.
Have a great Summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    205
    50
    27
    14
See reviews for
143
90
35
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I spent six nights at this hotel while in town for the National Speech and Debate Tournament. Even with thousands of high school students staying in the hotel at the same time, it was a very pleasant experience.
The room was quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were also a good size, and the bathroom felt newly updated.
The lobby area was very nice. The ability to have a drink downstairs while watching World Cup games was great. The pool and work out area were easily accessible. Parking was also convenient.
The staff were some of the friendliest I have ever encountered. I had a complicated check-in process because of five rooms under my name, but the staff always remained happy and friendly.
While the wi-fi did end up being free, it was not a great speed. The signal frequently went in and out. That was the only drawback to an otherwise excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsmithNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay during the National Speech and Debate Tournament. We enjoyed having your group with us and look forward to your return.
Have a great Summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Two "thumbs up" to the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center. My wife and I recently completed a very relaxing stay. The facility itself is quite nice, rooms spacious and staff attentive without being overly so. We enjoyed the breakfast on the club level. The location of the hotel was perfect for people and places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to give us your Thumbs Up! It’s great hearing that you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to your return visit.
Have a great Summer and Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Pros: clean (in a dated 90s-ish way), adjacent to Overland Park Convention Center, Starbucks in rooms (but not enough creamer), comfortable beds, free parking, courteous front desk. Cons: poor soundproofing. The room next to me and one across the hall were occupied by groups of apparently unsupervised squealing, running, door slamming high school students here for a speech and debate event. They ran and talked and laughed loudly in the hall and room next door till almost midnight. The room AC/fan didn't provide enough white noise; I had to turn the TV on high to drown out the noise. I thought the hotel's charges for wifi (5 or 10 dollars depending on number of devices) were excessive in the era of free wifi everywhere. The weekday breakfast buffet, at 14.95, also seemed too pricey, so I passed it up. It would have been nice to have a mini fridge in the room. Next time I will look for a Residence Inn or Holiday Inn Express, which deliver quieter rooms, free internet and much better value.




Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Momplustwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent visit. I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations.
Have a great Summer and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My room was on 12th floor - comfortable, quiet. Loved having the option of buffet or menu for breakfast. The dining room staff were always courteous, friendly.

The pillows could have been a little firmer for my taste - but other than that I had a very trouble free enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marssl
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel looks to have been recently updated. Furnishings are nice, if somewhat basic. Room was quiet and bed comfortable. Location is decent. There isn't much around the hotel (other than the convention center) but the interstate is very close by. Breakfast on the club level was a bit disappointing, as the selection was very minimal. Overall, would stay here again, if the price was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent visit. I appreciate your comments as this is how we continually improve upon our product and service. The next time you are here be sure and ask about area attractions. There are many new entertainment, shopping, and food and beverage operations near the hotel. We have arranged certain complimentary scheduled transportation during certain hours and also have reduced town car pricing within the area. I am sure we can meet your needs.
Thanks again for the input and have a great summer.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I just finished a wonderful experience at Sheraton Overland Park. The staff was very response to our needs. The facilities were modern and immaculate. Food was excellent. Parking easy. Bed comfortable. I would recommend this facility to anyone looking for a place for a conference venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I was very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with your convention and service you received.
We look forward to your return visit.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
0.7 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 6100 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66211-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center. The Country Club Plaza, downtown Kansas City, and the Truman Sports Complex are within a 20-minute drive and are all easily reached via I-435. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Starwood so you can book your Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Overland Park At The Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing