We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel with our children ages 7 & 9. We were trying to decide if we should stay at a hotel connected to the Convention Center, but it turned out to be fine. The pool and hot tub were a disappointment. Upon arrival the pool temp was comfortable, but throughout the stay it continued to get colder and colder. There were issues with the hot tub and it had to be closed down. This was a major disappointment when travelling with children looking forward to swimming. The cleanliness of our room could have been improved. The floor wasn't vacuumed well when we first arrived. On our 2nd day, we had to ask housekeeping staff to vacuum, which wasn't well received. We also had to ask for towels each day because the staff would only give us 3 towels instead of 4. Not a big deal, but some attention to detail could have avoided the irritation. The water pressure is nearly non-existent. The front desk staff were very accommodating and assisted with every need. The staff in the restaurant recognized us each morning and knew what our drink preferences were. We felt the value was good as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWONKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Greetings from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your recent stay. I am sorry for the issues you experienced. We monitor and test our pools and spas several times throughout the day to ensure they are balanced properly. Unfortunately during busy times the reading might require shocking the spa or pool. This was the case and we needed to close the spa temporarily. I understand the swimming pool was not affected and was unaware of any temperature variances. I will have our temperature logs rechecked to determine where and when the temperature dropped. I also agree once we know the count of guests in the room we should alter our brand standards to better take care of the current situation. I will review this with our team. Thanks for the nice comments about the staff and the fact you felt the value was good.
We look forward to your return visit and please reach out to us and we will make the necessary adjustments you require.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    216
    52
    28
    15
See reviews for
151
95
38
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

i recently visited Overland Park for the Lions USA/Canada leadership forum and stayed at the Sheraton Overland Park. The staff was very helpful whenever required. The room is comfortable as is the bed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. We enjoyed having all the Lions at our hotel. You all are members of a very special group and my team always tells me how they enjoyed working with you. Thanks for the comments and we hope to see you soon.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Sheraton while attending a Convention in the Overland Park Convention Center. The Sheraton was most convenient as it was attached to the Convention Center. The welcoming common area in the lobby with adjoining bar and business center was active day and evening. The staff was extremely helpful. Rooms were well decorated and cleaned. Our room included internet which I suggest you consider.

Room Tip: Check out the inclusion of breakfast with your room. Also ask for internet being included in your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picturetaker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I was glad to hear you enjoyed the property and service during such a busy convention. We work hard to exceed everyone’s expectations.
See you soon at Sheraton.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skowhegan, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This Sheraton is well kept and the staff is extraordinarily gracious. Our single-bed room was large and very comfortable with two easy chairs, both with ottomans. Also, for a 20-story hotel, these are the fastest elevators we have experienced in several years. Only four, but minimal wait even while the conference would exude more than a tousand people at essentially the same time. Also, the handiest and closest access to the convention center in several years. It is so close that several sessions were in hotel conference rooms which aided the set-up of the sessions. The only hotel downside was the cost of drinks, particularly the wine, in the lobby bar. Also - this is near to nothing by way of attractions and restaurants! And there is no queue of taxis despite a full hotel for a convention. Getting off-campus for a meal was a chore and muy expensive! Oddly, the lobby cafe behind the bar had a very! reasonable breakfast with very good food to match it!
The hotel's "complimentary Shuttle within five miles" is operated by a concession and in five days was never available to us! The "transportation desk" never had a live person at it, and the rudest person answered the phone number listed on the sign who said the person was not there as the person was driving someone else. Usually told that there were at least 8 parties ahead of us with a 90 minute wait - no reservations possible. At least once the vehicle went to the airport (a 45 -minute drive one-way) so clearly not being used for the "complimentary shuttle" for those two hours at dinner time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkowMaineacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to thank you for your feedback as this is the only way we can truly identify areas that we can improve upon. It’s nice to read you enjoyed the Lions Forum, I know we really enjoyed our Lion guests. Everyone was so friendly and the staff told me numerous times how much they enjoyed your group. I want you to know I will personally speak with our transportation vendor. I realize it is very difficult during such busy times for hotels that offer complimentary transportation to stay up with the demand. The car is here or not and has numerous requests. We will certainly work with additional cab companies for additional transportation. I agree with you that rudeness is not the answer and will never be tolerated. I apologize to you for this.
Again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to your return visit. Next time you’re here and courtesy transportation isn’t available and it has a long wait ask the desk to call the GM, I have a car and will be more than happy to run you within our 5 mile radius.
See you soon and Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel. Just not as great as the price tag reflects. We paid 154 before taxes and this was supposed to be a discount. We were there for a major Lions convention (2500 people). They gave a group rate. Service desk people were great, as we're the bell hops. Lobby is beautiful. Bed us comfy soft and room was very clean. Here are the things that I expected to match price and glory this hotel should be. Needed softer towels, better shower head, in room fridge, newer carpet, and halls were sub par from rest of hotel. We were on the 20th floor (Club Level). The club level lounge was nice. Free breakfast. But same menu all three days. Had free beverages 24 hours. That was a plus. Did not use pool or fitness center. Outdoor fire pits are the bomb! A must do. One more complaint, the service at lobby lounge was AWFUL. They were very busy, but that did not excuse the rudeness the bartender gave us. She (sorry missed her name) was very short, then made an error on a drink, my wife went to get it fixed, she then acted as if we were wrong. She argued that the drink was right. She did finally remake it, but only after making us feel like we were the problem. Just not the treatment I'd expect from any hotel, but especially a Sheraton. I would return, only if the price was $100 or less.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. Thank you for your comments and pricing suggestions. We appreciate your business and sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jacob, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel - very welcoming in the lobby with lots of light and places to sit and visit with friends. The food was good. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leRosewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Greetings Northern Neighbors I want to personally thank you for extending your comments about your recent Forum held at the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. It was great to read how the staff and our product impressed you and went out of their way to make sure everything was right for your stay. We work hard to exceed our customers’ expectations and its rewarding to hear the feedback when we are successful. We look forward to your return visit.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night. I have to say the lobby is really nice and the front desk clerk was friendly and efficient. Upon entering our room it looked great, then you start to notice some issues. The bathroom floor had a lot of hair left over from the last guest, also the tub faucet leaked, not just a drop but a steady stream of water. I'm not sure how this gets overlooked by housekeeping. Also, the desk chair in our room was ripped and the foam cushion was hanging out. It's such a nice facility, but just really needs routine maintenance/upkeep.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Greetings from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback and let you know how disappointed I was to hear about the condition of your room. In our daily operations meetings we discuss the importance of cleanliness and maintenance of our product. I assure you this is not anywhere near our standards and will take all necessary steps to insure it does not reoccur. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and exceed the expectations of our customers. We just completed major renovations in our meeting space and are currently working with design for our rooms renovation scheduled in 2015. In the mean time we will enhance our cleaning and preventive maintenance of facility. Sorry we failed and look forward to your return.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#5 of 37 in Overland Park
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
0.7 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 6100 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66211-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Family Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center. The Country Club Plaza, downtown Kansas City, and the Truman Sports Complex are within a 20-minute drive and are all easily reached via I-435. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Overland Park At The Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing