We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potential is there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Potential is there”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night. I have to say the lobby is really nice and the front desk clerk was friendly and efficient. Upon entering our room it looked great, then you start to notice some issues. The bathroom floor had a lot of hair left over from the last guest, also the tub faucet leaked, not just a drop but a steady stream of water. I'm not sure how this gets overlooked by housekeeping. Also, the desk chair in our room was ripped and the foam cushion was hanging out. It's such a nice facility, but just really needs routine maintenance/upkeep.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelchiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Greetings from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback and let you know how disappointed I was to hear about the condition of your room. In our daily operations meetings we discuss the importance of cleanliness and maintenance of our product. I assure you this is not anywhere near our standards and will take all necessary steps to insure it does not reoccur. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and exceed the expectations of our customers. We just completed major renovations in our meeting space and are currently working with design for our rooms renovation scheduled in 2015. In the mean time we will enhance our cleaning and preventive maintenance of facility. Sorry we failed and look forward to your return.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    210
    50
    28
    14
See reviews for
144
90
36
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed here several times on business and it's a very well maintained property with good customer service. Due to the many conferences, the staff can handle crowds efficiently. The lobby areas are very comfortable and good areas to work or meet. The only improvement/missing item is a lobby store or perhaps longer operating hours for the coffee bar. It would be nice to be able to get a soft drink coffee or snack in the lobby without going to the bar

Room Tip: Just the typical avoid the ice machine and rooms near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback and it’s great to hear your comments about our excellent business hotel. I will discuss your suggestions with our operations team and determine how we can better serve our customers’ needs in the lobby area. Thanks for your suggestions and we look forward to your return visit.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is top notch from the facilities to the food to the friendly and helpful staff. I was in Kansas for a conference and expected the usual acceptable, but not very exciting, fare and was very pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious, varied and nicely presented. The conference and overnight rooms are large and well maintained and the beds are extremely comfortable. All in all this is an effectively managed hotel and I would definitely stay here if I am ever in the area again. One thing to note is that there are no restaurants or stores within comfortable walking distance. I made the mistake of setting out looking for a drug store on foot and it was about two miles. Given that the temperature reached 100 degrees that day, it was a bit uncomfortable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Good Morning,
It’s always great to start the day reading the feedback from our customers visits. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to share your comments. This is the only way we can improve and maintain our goal of having the very best product, service and value in the market. It was great reading how you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return. Please let us know there are many transportation options and our team is happy to assist you getting to the many shopping and entertainment areas nearby.
Safe Travels and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a four day stay that was a wonderful experience. Great staff, food and bar. Parking was free and very accessible. Room was very comfortable. The room pricing was an incredible value given the hotel location and room appointments.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for your loyalty and it was nice to read that we are your favorite place to stay while visiting Kansas City. We are looking forward to your return visit and please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to improve upon.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay. The staff was extremely professional and courteous. Everyone smiled and expressed what appeared to be a genuine desire to be helpful. (Reminded me of Disneyland.) The facilities (conference room, public restrooms, lobby area) where first class. The catered food was delicious and the wait staff were prompt and very accomodating. The rooms were nice size and clean but I've come to expect that from Sheraton. In fact, for the rate I've spent more per night and received less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for taking the time to extend your feedback and was glad to read that you enjoyed the property, our meeting space, facilities, and our food and beverage. We have a commitment to have the very best product and value in the market and the team is always focused on exceeding the expectations of our customers.
We hope to see you soon at Sheraton.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed for a weekend getaway and had a absolute wonderful stay at the Sheraton. Check in (& out) was a breeze, allowing us to move in to our room within minutes of arriving. All the staff we encountered during our visit were extremely pleasant, personable, and made us feel welcome. The pool area with accompanying hot tub were thoroughly enjoyable and pleasant. The rooms are very clean, the beds are soft with plenty of pillows allowing us to get a good nights sleep feeling refreshed in the morning. We also enjoyed the diningroom in the morning for breakfast where we were treated to a breakfast that was 5 star!! Never have I had a breakfast more perfectly cooked to order than here at the Sheraton. Absolutely first rate! I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. Thank you for extending us your feedback about your recent visit. It’s always nice to hear when expectations are met. We look forward to your many returns and as always let us know if there is any special things we can do for you.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is my third time this year staying at this property and did not disappoint. The service is always good and the staff are very friendly. It does get a bit crowded sometimes however what do you expect from a hotel that is at the Convention Center? Good job to management who also should deserve credit for a well run operation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_vpnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceBoettcher, General Manager at Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hello from the Sheraton Overland Park Hotel. I want to personally thank you for your feedback and loyalty! It’s always great hearing from customers who have stayed with is before. We look forward to you return and if there is any special things we can do to help exceed expectations just let us know. We are happy to do what it takes. If it’s not impossible it’s done, if it is impossible....it will be done.
Hope to see you soon.
Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
507 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
0.7 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
Address: 6100 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66211-2403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#1 Family Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center. The Country Club Plaza, downtown Kansas City, and the Truman Sports Complex are within a 20-minute drive and are all easily reached via I-435. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Overland Park At The Hotel Overland Park
Overland Park Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing