We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Alan at the front desk was an extremely nice an helpful guy! He was able to upgrade me to a newly renovated suite and he could not have been a happier and more amiable person! The suite was very nice and I had no complaints at all. Great hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear John D,
Thank you for your flattering review of the hotel and staff! We are always pleased to hear that we hit the mark for excellent customer service as well as a clean & comfortable stay.
Your business and patronage are very much appreciated we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 488 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We named our own price and received a great deal. The lobby was nicely redone. The front desk staff upon arrival was friendly. We did ask for a newly renovated room as we had read some poor reviews about outdated rooms. While the room was remodeled, cuts were made and the room quailty suffered...Our room smelled musty, the window unit HVAC system was noisy, the tile grout in the bathroom was was terrible, the tub did not drain, and the mattress was not comfortable. The location was not conducive to shopping and eating in Overland Park. We purchased the two nights; however, left after one. Upon checking out, I told the clerk we were cutting our visit short. Despite Holiday Inn's posted pledge to make it right or refund, the front desk clerk was quick to say since it was a Priceline reservation, there was nothing she could do. This is not a place I will ever stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razorbackgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Razorbackgirl75,
Our hotel does offer discounted rates at times through several of the 3rd party reservation websites. Priceline does offer significant savings to guests for reserving and paying them for their stay in advance. Refund policies vary with all businesses, although many prepaid reservations are non-refundable.
Your experience with us was unfortunate and I apologize that we were unable to send you away happy. If possible, I would like more information (room number, name, confirmation). . It would give us the opportunity to look into the items you discussed and address them if needed.
Please email or call me if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,

Alan Jenner
Guest Service Manager
913-895-2791
ajenner@kinseth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Lobby was done as well as some of the rooms, but others including ours was still the dated model. The staff was friendly and helpful. We appreciated the teabag to allow us to brew our morning cup. The room smelled a bit stale - not too serious and we didn't complain. Room and bedding were clean. Bath was small and dated, but I guess it will soon be upgraded. Furniture was fine, even though scheduled for updating. Our discounted rate gave us great value.

Room Tip: There are fewer suites in the front "tower," but those suites are larger than the suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TB_Rays_fan_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear TB_Rays_fan_NJ,

Thank you pointing out all the positives of your stay especially those relating to service and value.

The 1st phase of our renovation completed over half of the guest rooms, the fitness and business center, and all the public and meeting space. The remaining rooms will be completed in the coming year.

We look forward to another opportunity of earning your business and making your next stay with us even more pleasant.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My graduating class from high school celebrated our 65th birthday party at this hotel. We had so much fun that it has taken me almost 6 weeks to write about my experience. We planned a "plated" dinner and it was deliciously prepared (no plastic chicken or mystery meat here). My thanks to the chef, the Chicken Supreme was elegant. The servers were available to fill water and tea glasses, remove dishes and ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. After dinner, we hosted a party for our invited guests, where we served hors d'oeuvres and birthday cake. The hors d'oeuvres were excellent and our guests loved them. We also reserved a suite of rooms for class members who didn't want to drive home after the party or were from out of town. Everyone was satisfied with their rooms. The hotel is undergoing renovations and looks great. Special thanks to the hotel management and Darryl, the banquet manager for making our special evening wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easterbunnykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear guest,
Your group was also Fabulous! Thank you for taking the time to complete the review and of course your business. The entire staff will be happy to hear that they had a part in making everyone's night so special. We hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Came in for an overnight stay on Reward points. The front desk people on check in were funny but I was being more serious when I asked for "Did you pick me a good room?" In general it was ok but the ceiling had a leak that splashed on the bathroom countertop and mirror.:( Maintenance guy was great when he came up to check it the next day and it was fine by me that he waited until we left that morning to crawl up in the ceiling access to figure out what was going on. I didn't sleep well due to bed comfort but from travelling full time I know all beds just aren't my bed at home, so again something I could get over. The straw that broke the camel's back - When I'm staying in a full service hotel for leisure I expect to be able to have breakfast in the morning off a menu - not a buffet. Because there were "Soccer Teams" staying in the hotel the restaurant was not offering menu service and buffet only if we wanted to get in line behind the groups of teenagers. No thank you - I wanted to relax and have service - during the week Its mostly just grab a breakfast bar and go this was suppose to be a mini-vacation.

When the front desk asked me if I enjoyed my stay and I explained no she did offer to refund some of my rewards points. I told her no thank you I would just remember that this is not the hotel for me to stay in and that I would make note not to book here in the future.

Kudos to the soccer teams though their coaches were awesome because we didn't hear them in the hallways at all.

Room Tip: I would recommend another location. There are plenty to chose from in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear recent guest,

Please accept our apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Your valuable comments will help prevent similar issues in the future.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to change your opinion so that we may earn your business again.

Sincerest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights on a weekend. The location was ok. The front desk staffs were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, a little outdated but that was fine by us. I was very happy overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nonchalante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel and staff. We have just completed the renovation of all the public space, all of the meeting space (including the beautiful Kansas Ballroom), and half of our 191 guest rooms. The hotel looks better than ever!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here one night, just a quick get away. Our room was fine. Maybe needs little update but very clean. It stayed cool in the room. And best of all, it was quiet. I wasn't disturbed by any noises overnight. The hotel is doing remodeling but I did not hear any of it in our room (3rd floor). The best part of our stay was the front desk staff (Alan). He was super polite and very accommodating. Very impressed with it, as so many places don't have good customer service anymore. They were great. Also the housekeeping person, didn't get her name, she was very polite as well. If we need a quick get away again, I would stay here. Thanks for the relaxing night away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-36, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel and staff! We are always pleased to hear that we hit the mark for excellent customer service as well as a clean & comfortable stay.
Your business and patronage are very much appreciated we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
3.5 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West

Address: 8787 Reeder St, Overland Park, KS 66214-1921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range: $116 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Overland Park, Kansas, you are always welcome at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West. Excellent location for an Overland Park, Kansas hotel at 87th and Interstate 35. Close to Pine Ridge Business Park and Oak Park MallThe Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Overland Park West is centrally located to all major visitor attractions and sports venues. The Overland Park, Kansas hotel is one of the closest lodging facilities to the Bass Pro Shop, Kansas Speedway and Legends Shopping at Village West. Country Club Plaza, Crown Center Plaza, Sandstone/Verizon Amphitheatre, Worlds of Fun and the Renaissance Festival of Kansas City are all within a 30 minute drive. The Overland Park Kansas hotel has 191 well appointed guestrooms including 50 elegant suites with microwaves, refrigerators and wet bars. Free wireless high-speed Internet in all guest rooms and meeting rooms. Inside the Overland Park Kansas hotel is the Green Mill Restaurant & Bar. Serving great American food and beverage, featuring award-winning pizza and wings. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relax, it's Holiday Inn and as always, Kids Stay and Eat Free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Overland Park West
Holiday Inn Overland Park
Overland Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing