We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”

New Theatre Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“New Year's Eve”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I had great seats . Buffet was great and champaign for new years eve. Was great service and great entertainment

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    84
    23
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
327 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We visited the theater on 4/13 with our children who came in from out of town. We had not been there in many years but were looking for something different to do. Several of our friends, who visit the theater regularly claimed the food was excellent. We were doubtful as we normally try to avoid buffet meals. They were right, the food was excellent! It was also plentiful and structured in a way that the lines were kept short. We very much enjoyed the play and our meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leawood, kansas
Level Contributor
443 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“if you are willing to settle for has beens”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place has been over rated for years. Old stars brought in for a mediocre play.
Buffet is average.
Locals seem to like it, but my guess they have not traveled much.

Other theatres present far better productions.

Must have started out as a outlet for bored locals...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank colesloough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good variety of food choices at NTR.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well done, a dinner and a show in less than 4 hours. Live Theatre is high quality, probably the best in Kansas City. The food over the last 4 years has high quality consistency and decent variety. For a buffet line, it is very fresh, hot and tended to very closely by the kitchen staff. New fresh, hot pans are brought out before 75% is gone. I like the special entree of the day, which is usually spicy and unique but almost always a hit.
We have been season ticket holders for 15 years. My wife calls it her guaranteed 5 dates a year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The plays are most entertaining. The food is incredible, wine and desserts must also be tried! Always enjoy taking new guests here, and they usually invest in season tickets as well. (Best buy in town!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 54stanley54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Theatre Restaurant also viewed

Overland Park, KS
Overland Park, KS
 

Been to New Theatre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing