We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elsa-opian!”

Elsa's Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 474 Restaurants in Overland Park
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Elsa-opian!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a small and very nice Ethiopian restaurant with spices and teas available for purchase as well as first-rate dishes. I was impressed by the vegetarian selection.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcomer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Flavorful”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Small, fairly sterile setting, but the food was very good. We shared a vegetarian sampler platter and had several favorites that we will return to eat again. Loved the spicy red lentils, the chickpea entree, and the collards. The carnivores in our group enjoyed their meat entrees and the portions were very large--plenty for lunch the next day. Several good beers available that complement the spicy food. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksgirl056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Neighborhood place, flavorful, fresh food!”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I went to Elsa’s for dinner one evening we wanted to try something different. I’ve had Ethiopian cuisine once before, but this was the first time for him. We loved Elsa’s and we know we’ll be back. The restaurant is small and sparsely decorated, but very clean. The service was prompt and our food was prepared very quickly. The owner came out of the kitchen a couple of times to talk to us and she even gave us suggestions for making scrambled-eggs with our leftovers the next day. The whole experience was very warm and welcoming and offered a pleasant break from the ordinary.

Most dishes are around $10 and can be served communal style, which we enjoyed, since we didn’t have to pass food to one another so we could try everything out.

The Chicken Tibbs dish was exceptional and although we liked all the side dishes we ordered (lentils, yellow split-peas, potatoes, cabbage and carrots), the cabbage and carrots combination was our favorite (and I don’t even like cabbage!). Everything was very fresh and well seasoned without being too spicy. Just flavorful! The injera bread was plentiful (flat sourdough, pancake-like bread used for spooning up food) and we ended up with plenty of leftovers for dinner the next evening.

A limited selection of wine is available (under $5 per glass) and beer ($3.00 - $3.50 per bottle). They are open 11:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. everyday but Monday, and since they are walking distance from the OP farmer’s market, a visit to Elsa’s while exploring old-town OP is highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mbeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly Yummy”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I found this place on our way to papa Keno's one night and decided to try it. I'm glad we did, great food and just a fun and unique place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Top7172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for Friends”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I went with 3 girlfriends to try something different. All of us thought it would be fun to try an Euthopian restaurant. Elsa's did not disappoint. We shared tilapia and a veggie combo between the 4 of us. Then, we split the baklava. Everything was so good. Elsa came out from the kitchen and said hello a couple of times. She is too cute and sweet. We also enjoyed a bottle of Pinot Noir. I dare to say the bill was less than $60 for all 4 of us. That is quite a contrast from our dinner a month earlier on the Plaza. We were there for 3 hours. Great place!! We are torn between trying a new restaurant the next time we get together or going back to Elsa's.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsa's Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 
Overland Park, KS
Overland Park, KS
 
Overland Park, KS
 

Been to Elsa's Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing