We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The last hotel on our journey was a nice way to end. Our room was next to the elevator, but was very quiet. The rooms were very clean.

Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

However, part of the parking lot is very narrow around the building and feels claustrophobic.

It's located pretty near to a shopping area and some restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HopeGracePeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    154
    45
    33
    10
See reviews for
172
89
20
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

My quest for the perfect Hilton property in Overland Park continues. This is a nice comfortable hotel in a pretty convenient area. Though near the freeway, it isn't noisy -- a big plus. Rooms are typical HGI -- comfy, clean, nothing to complain about. Breakfasts tasty, serving staff very nice. So why only three stars? I felt the front desk was badly understaffed (only one clerk) at what they should have predicted to be busy periods. This caused me a problem in particular. I had a four night stay: two nights money, two nights points. Somehow this was "written up" as two stays. But I did not get a bill after the first two nights; so I went about my business on the third morning, a huge mistake. Evidently I was supposed to "check in" again, and since I hadn't I couldn't get into my room, because I was some sort of wrongdoer. The poor, very sweet front desk clerk couldn't figure out how to get my wife and I (then hot and sweaty and needing to clean up) into our room at 5 pm on a Saturday. She had to go call someone and get computer tips, which took almost half an hour, while we, and about five other new guests, were waiting in line. I felt so sorry for her; and for me, for looking like some sort of abuser of the staff. If they can get their staffing together -- or if you don't do anything at any peak time and don't encounter issues -- this is easily four stars. HGI's are generally a good bet. One last beef with every property I have been in Overland Park: why don't you have Fox Sports KC? People come for the Royals games. I can watch them on my MLB package in California, but not in a KC hotel. What's that about? Get the baseball package!

Room Tip: All pretty good; front side avoids very minor freeway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rljaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend. I'd reserved a suite, and upon check in was very pleased with the man checking us in. He mentioned he'd been on the job for 2 weeks, and although he was new, he did a very nice job, was courteous and helpful. Our room was as advertised, clean and nice. My only gripe if I had one is the cable lost connection A LOT. I assume it was satellite, so wasn't terribly surprised. Other then that it was fantastic. The pool/spa was nice and clean. Breakfast was good and service is exceptional. If we ever go to Overland Park again we will definitely be staying here again. In my humble opinion this could easily be a 4 star hotel. Good job all the way around!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huskeraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great HGI. Everyone very nice on staff. Great breakfast offerings. I'm an oatmeal lover, and theirs wasn't too thin or thick, just right! Like the Keurig coffee makers. I like HGI, especially for more than a few night stay, as you know you get the fridge and the microwave for leftovers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank donnaesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We had a good experience. The room was clean and the staff were helpful. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel and the food was excellent for both meals. Wait staff were very attentive. Overall a good choice. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrego Springs, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The building looks good on the surface but a closer look reveals deferred maintenance… Ripped carpeting in the bedrooms, torn curtains, noisy ventilation system. Bathroom contained hair and dirt from previous occupants. The front desk can be very helpful, but also very busy with long lines and just one attendant. Saturday afternoon check-in is a zoo.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed for a funeral. It was the cheapest I could find in the immediate area. I should have paid $10 more a night for something else. Was not happy with the noise from the floor above, quality of the bed, housekeeping didn't show up the first day. The bill was $100 more than I booked online (on their system). The location is great, just do not expect a quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Address: 5800 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66211-1660
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#5 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#7 Family Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Hilton Overland Park
Overland Park Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing