We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Clean Amenities, Free Food, What Else Can You Ask For?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff, Clean Amenities, Free Food, What Else Can You Ask For?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been staying at this location for almost a year now and cannot recommend it more to anyone seeking a little bit of home while away for work. The rooms are all basically one bedroom apartments and the beds have always been comfortable (although the pillows can be hit or miss at times, even though there are 5 to a bed!). For anyone trying to stay healthy on the road, a refrigerator, stovetop, and microwave are great amenities to have. For those less inclined to grocery shop (Wal*Mart Food Market is down the road), the hotel offers free breakfasts and even happy hour meals which rotate on a daily basis. Normally the location offers beer and wine as well with dinner, but it has currently gone away pending an alcohol permit. There is a pool in the courtyard area, basketball court in the back of the hotel, and a small gym room that was recently renovated (but for some reason the AC didn’t work all summer). The staff is extremely friendly and I there is even a complimentary shuttle that can drive you and your guests within a 3 mile radius of the hotel. I have stayed at many different hotels for work and this has been one of the best while still remaining budget friendly. I do wish there was an actual office chair in the rooms, but at least there is a dining table that you can still work from. There is also a business center for anyone needing to print out something in a pinch or use a desktop to look up something.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nuffintodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    103
    53
    21
    5
See reviews for
183
53
16
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here as most hotels had no vacancies. The hotel appears old and well worn. Needs a face-lift (or more). Upon check-in, the front desk clerk tried to assign us to a room that was practically in the lobby. No way, Jose! Before leaving the front desk, we managed to be reassigned to a quiet room on the second floor. A promised telephone call providing directions to our engagement downtown was forgotten by the front desk. The most annoying thing was using the business center. There are two computers, but only one is hooked up to the printer. Unfortunately, I chose the one without the printer hook-up and tried to print my boarding pass for the plane. Later, we discovered a tiny sign taped to the back of a pencil case warning guests that only one computer is wired to the printer. Why the heck not connect the stupid thing? Answer? The answer is stupid management Breakfast was average. Not bad, but not good either. Dining room is much too small but in our case it turned out to be great fun as the elderly gentlemen who shard our table told us about his experiences in China during World War II. That was actually the highlight of our stay at this otherwise forgettable hotel. No plans to return. Not near to any attractions. But we might stay here if the price was right or we could not find any other hotels.

Room Tip: Find Out Your Room Location BEFORE leaving the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pros:
*Wonderful set up for a sleeping baby. Three doors to close off rooms, one on bedroom, one on the toilet/bathtub, and one into the living room.
*Bed was so comfortable
*Workout facility had 2 treadmills, and 1 elliptical. Each machine has a TV which is nice.
*Staff is very kind.


Cons:
*Workout facility is SO HOT
*There is no sanitizing system or wipes in the workout room
*Breakfast was disgusting. Grey eggs that taste terrible. The only good thing to eat was the really tasty, fresh muffins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand Springs, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The furnishings are old and well worn, the duvet cover had two large holes in it, and the carpet was unraveled and coming apart in places. The overall cleanliness of the room was poor, there was a buidl up of dirt/grime on things. Much lower class than you would expect from Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlytwhite, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Amy B,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience with us. I apologize to hear that it was not positive. We always do everything we can to give our guests a clean, comfortable, and updated property. I'm happy to let you know that our hotel is beginning a renovation of all the guest suites including the entire new bedding package. I'm sorry to hear that this time we fell below your expectations. We do value your feedback and will be taking it into consideration as we look to better our property. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again the next time you're in town!

Best regards,

Kimberly T. White
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Overland Park, KS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have stayed in this Homewood Suites at least 2 previous times. It is a solid property and the staff is very well trained / helpful and friendly. The accommodations are comfortable and relatively quiet. We'll return!

Room Tip: Choose with kitchen on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anirudh_jhanwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed in this Homewood Suites at least 2 previous times. It is a solid property and the staff is very well trained / helpful and friendly. The accommodations are comfortable and relatively quiet. We'll return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank PSS4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlytwhite, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear PSS4444,

Thank so you much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We love the feedback and the comments about the staff personally thrill all of us on the team. We look forward to having you with us again soon! Take care and thanks again.

Kimberly White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed at many Homewood Suites in the past and have been part of the Hiltonhhonors program for a number of years. We had the choice of the Homewood Suites or Embassy Suites in the desired location and decided on Homewood because the properties have always been great and in this case, it was a few dollars less per night.

Big mistake. The property is old, worn, and in need of updating. We felt like we needed to adjust the "rabbit ears" on our TV to get partial reception. A/C stopped working for a time and the complimentary breakfast rivaled the Super 8.

We did bring our issues to the front desk staff. She was VERY apologetic and did try to do what she could. And the manager did comp one of our nights which was appreciated. However that won't bring us back to this property again. Very disappointing all the way around.

Room Tip: ask for one with a working TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberlytwhite, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Terry G,

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Overland Park, KS. Homewood Suites by Hilton. We are always adding and changing our breakfast items to try to appeal to all guests, but with a complimentary breakfast it's challenging to meet all guests needs on a daily basis. I also appreciate your comments about the televisions. The hotel is starting a large renovation project in less than two weeks that I think will really address the areas that need attention. I hope that you will try us again when you are in the Overland Park area. Thanks so much for your comments.

Kimberly White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Address: 10556 Marty St, Overland Park, KS 66212-2551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Overland Park
#7 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Homewood Suites Overland Park
Hilton Overland Park
Homewood Overland Park
Overland Park Hilton
Overland Park Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing