We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really like this Courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Kirkwood, Mo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really like this Courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently moved our local office to Overland Park and have stayed here three times since August, each for two or three nights. Each time, I have found the entire staff warm and welcoming.

The lobby and restaurant are the older style, I have grown to like the newer Courtyard front desk and Bistro, but it's still nice. Laurie in the restaurant has always been a bright start to the morning!

The location is very close to everything in the area and plenty of restaurants. There is another Courtyard close by, but I've stayed there before and it's OK. I prefer this location.

I've finished this year up with 77 Marriott nights, so I'm pretty loyal to the brand. This Courtyard is one of the reasons.

Oh, the front side of the building seems more quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmnkwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear tmnkwd,

Thank you for taking time to write about your experiences here at this Courtyard by Marriott. We pride ourselves on the warm, guest friendly staff that we have. I will be sure to read your comments to the team. We do sit in a nice location close to the business hub and shopping and dining.

We hope to see you again real soon!

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
15
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aledo, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for a conference in the area. I got a good rate on Priceline and thought I had nothing to lose as usually Marriotts are a good.

The hotel was clean and the staff was fantastic. My only complaint is that it is decorated like a retirement home. There is nothing esthetically pleasing about the hotel.

I didn't have breakfast, but the bed was comfortable and everything was quite clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nogentais1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Nogentais 1986,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and staff! We are happy you enjoyed your stay! I hope that when you come back to the Kansas City area you will stay here again. We appreciate you taking the time to send a comment into Trip Advisor as well.

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've stayed at several marriott hotels before & the Courtyard By the Convention Center on Woodson. The staff is always very friendly & helpful. My last 2 stays were very welcoming & pleasant. I called about my reservation a few times before my visit & spoke with Rebecca. She was very helpful & polite so when I checked in I made sure to thank her. She told me about the towncar company that took me to eat for free, & informed me of breakfast. She also was quick on fuulfilling my requests. Another girl, Danielle was always smiling. I assume the management is wonderful because I've not had any problems, & everyone is very friendly & offers constant help. I definitely will return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Susan W,

Thank you for your comment about your recent stays at the Courtyard by Marriott Convention Center in Overland Park. I made sure to recognize Rebecca and Daniela in our daily meeting for taking great care of you. I am very proud of the staff and how they go above and beyond to ensure our guest's stay is enjoyable and memorable. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Excellent arrival experience and front desk help from Troy. Very professional, knew the area, had recommendations ready for restaurants. Also very good with directions to several venues. Total experience here was positive --- clean, relaxing room, clean fitness center. This location is great for the OP Convention Center but also many corporate headquarters. Troy was "above and beyond" in customer service, professionalism, and knowledge of the area. Jasmine at front desk was also helpful. Really appreciate the staff excellence here. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Great sunset views on west-facing side (odd numbers); some rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrFrisbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear DrFrisbie,

I am very pleased you had an excellent stay at our hotel! Thank you for your comments! I will definitely pass along my appreciation to Troy and Jasmine for taking great care of you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott at the Overland Park Convention Center is a great value with superb service and accomodations. Beginning with the General Manager, Marcie Drake and the front desk staff of Troy, Judy and others, they are always available and willing to help make an excellent guest experience.

My room has always been clean and well tended. The breakfast buffet has good variety and the staff of Lynn, Sarah and others are very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Jeff Z,

Thank you for your comments about our staff and hotel! We take pride in providing superb service to our guests and making them feel at home while they are here. I will be sure to read your comments to the staff and recognize the individuals mentioned. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard for two nights over a weekend while in town on business. First the hotel is better than some of the reviews portrayed the property. It is in need of a makeover to have the typical Couryard furnishings. The good: my room had a balcony which I didn't use but it was nice to be able to slide open the window for some fresh outside air. There were swim and baseball teams staying there and the kids were either very well behaved or my room was quiet.Location is excellent. The bed was typical courtyard quality. Sam at the front desk was very helpful, she even provided a card for a free dessert at Sullivan's Steakhouse.
The bad: furnishings are a little tired and ready to be replaced. All in all a pleasant two night stay.

Room Tip: I had room 521. The room came with a whirlpool bath next to the bed. I didn't use it but having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear DoctorRDenver_CO:

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I do agree that we have a great location right next to the Convention Center in Overland Park and right off 435. I am glad you enjoyed your room and the service you received from Sam at the front desk. She will be rewarded for the excellent service she provided. Thank you!

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I travel extensively on business, I am a Marriott Reward Member- this hotel is not equally welcoming to Business Women; Using my own wifi signal on my own laptop I was stalked by a disrespectful and dishonest maintenance employee having a middle eastern heritage, stalked from the lobby, to the 24 hr "business" library, to the women's restroom- the front desk clerk noticed and told him to get about his business but he didn't let up- he stated "she belongs in her room"- mind you I was conservatively and well attired. My presence in the lobby interrupted his TV viewing--the lobby upholstery is filthy, the overall condition worn, the room interiors worn- all unusual for a Marriott branded hotel. What is good is the indoor pool, if you don't mind the same maintenance staff oogling you-and the location. Won't stay here again. Wish we had booked the next door Sheraton or the Marriott on Metcalf.

Room Tip: There is a Marriott on Metcalf and a splendid Sheraton next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvaleveryweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia D, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center, responded to this review, May 27, 2012
Dear Trvaleveryweek,

I want to thank you for your comments. I understand your concern; safety of our travelers is taken very seriously at this hotel as well as Marriott as a whole. I would like to follow up with all the individuals that were working at the desk and in engineering during your stay. If you could call me to let me know the dates you were here that would help me in my investigation. As far as the lobby internet connectivity, we have state of the art complimentary wireless internet in the hotel and I am not sure why you were not able to access our provider. We can discuss that as well. I am truly sorry for the inconveniences you had. I hope that we can speak further about these issues. You can reach me at (913) 317-8500. Again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to speaking with you further.

Sincerely,

Marcia Drake
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Metcalf, South of College Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
Address: 11001 Woodson Ave, Overland Park, KS 66211-1656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Overland Park
Overland Park Marriott
Overland Park Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing