We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
GARDEN CITY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, Dirty room”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I was dissatisfied with the cleanliness of the room. The kitchen area and walls needed a deep cleaning. We found a pacifier under our bed. I found a dead insect on the window sill along with dust on the window sill and headboard of the bed. Due to many people staying long term there, the hallways smell like food and cooking. Which wouldn't be bad if the food being cooked had an appetizing aroma. However, on the floor I was on, it just flat out smelled terrible.

A positive note to the hotel was the staff. They were all friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KERI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Keri - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Your comments in regards to the staff members are much appreciated; yet, I was disheartened to read about the level of cleanliness in your room and the slight odor in the hallway. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am talking with my staff, reviewing our cleaning and inspection procedures so we can improve our offerings.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at ovp@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    23
    16
    18
See reviews for
21
13
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Recently renovated property; tastefully decorated and comfortable. Check-in was smooth, and the Grab and Go breakfast cart was an added bonus. My only negative comment would be minor room cleanliness issues (toaster crumbs on counter, previous guest's trash/wrappers in nightstand drawer, dirty coil burners).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebneb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It was disheartening to read that you had concerns regarding the cleanliness of the room and that it was not up to standards; however, I am so pleased that your check-in smooth. As well, that you enjoyed the grab-and-go breakfast cart.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I think I've stayed here before. The location is pretty good. It is nice & quite here. Really, not too bad for the price. The employees are great and do all they can to provide a comfortable stay. It seems that people have walked off with what ever isn't nailed down. So, remember to ask for a hair-dryer if you need one. There's a kitchen but so few utensils it's difficult to prepare a meal. Shampoo is never in the room but is available if you ask. No Ice Machine...are you kidding me? Ice cube trays may have ice, spin the wheel, good luck. My biggest complaint is the heating/cooling system. I simply can not get it to cooperate. The room was too warm before I turned in and then I woke up freezing in the middle of the night. Ah! Their idea of "breakfast on the run" makes me run some where else, prepackaged stuff, some fruit and coffee.... Let me know if this was helpful. Travel safe!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that there were not enough utensils in the room to make a meal and that the grab-and-go breakfast was not adequate. Still, we are very excited to know that we were able to give you a great price, a quiet hotel and that the staff did everything they could to make your stay comfortable.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff here is extremely friendly. Once I checked in, I went back to my car to retrieve my luggage. The man working the front desk took the opportunity to make sure the room was to my liking.
This is in a great location. Close to Town Center Plaza and other shopping/dining/etc. Even though my room faced a main road, it was quiet.
The heating/air-conditioning at this hotel is non-traditional. There is a typical wall-unit, but you control it by a thermostat on the wall. I'm not sure I've ever encountered that. At first, I thought I just had a non-working air-conditioner. Once I figured it out, I felt like an idiot.
The room was mostly clean. The only thing I found was a pair of socks in the closet. Kind of a weird thing to leave behind.
The entire hotel is non-smoking. I loved that.
The grab-and-go breakfast is very convenient.
I got a great price for this room and was very satisfied. It's not luxury, but it was just what I expected and I will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: I think you'll get a good room no matter what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigsfhdgnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that there were items left in the closet. Still, we are thrilled to know that you were able to have a great stay.

Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Staff = excellent (April is a staff member that went out of her way to make me feel at home and helped me out in every way she could)

Hotel = very clean, sweet, kitchens in your rooms! Dishes included!! I would stay here rather then any other I have ever stayed in before. I think its better then any others I have stayed at in a long while. They treat you great here, they are happy to see you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keate50801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked this last minute because my hotel in Olathe was NOT safe. Staff were very helpful. Suite had a very comfy queen bed, flat screen and a kitchen with full size fridge and kitchen.

Hotel was quiet. Very close to the town center where there are tons of restaurants, shops and movie theater. Only negative was the breakfast provided---prepackaged muffins, granola bars and oatmeal packets

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charli l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. We appreciate you letting us know that while you enjoyed our grab and go breakfast, you would like to see it include more options. Still, we are very happy to read that we were able to provide you with a safe place to stay that was comfortable and located near so many other types of establishments.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed at several hotels in the area over the years, this one is the least expensive of the group, and it's a clean, quiet hotel, but I do need to point out a few things.

Internet service. Yes, it's free, for a ghastly slow connection, if you have any kind of work to do that requires a fast connection, you'll have to pay extra for that. For what I paid for the room, they really should just increase the cost of the room and give me the fastest speed. I can't put "hotel internet service" on my expense report for a hotel that is this inexpensive.

Breakfast. Other than coffee, it's absent, unless you want pre-packaged granola bars or muffins. Again, raise the rate a little and offer something more.

The room. It's good, not great, good. I think that for the money, the traveler who is "just passing through" can't go wrong here if all that is required is a quiet bed for the night, but for longer-term stays, I think there are some better choices nearby, even if they are more expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cusingeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that the internet connection was not at a workable speed, also that the grab and go breakfast bar was not ideal. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am going to double check that all of the routers in the building are up and running to maximum speed. As well, I am going to pass your comments about our grab and go breakfast onto my supervisors. We all take guests comments to heart, so it will be helpful for them to see as we continue to update our offerings.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at ovp@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Metcalf
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Overland Park-Conv Ctr
4.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Quivira Rd.
Extended Stay America - Kansas C...
#32 of 37 in Overland Park
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Overland Park
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#4 of 37 in Overland Park
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Overland Park KC Area Near Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave

Property: Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave
Address: 5401 W 110th St, Overland Park, KS 66211-1230 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites - Kansas City - Overland Park - Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Kansas City - Overland Park - Nall Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Kansas City - Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Homestead Suites Overland Park
Homestead Overland Park
Overland Park Homestead Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing