We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't tell a book from its cover.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Porton Cafe

El Porton Cafe
Ranked #24 of 471 Restaurants in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Venezuelan, South American, Caribbean, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't tell a book from its cover.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I loved this place. I have eaten at El Portan twice, once for lunch and once for dinner, and find the food both interesting and delicious. That's really something coming from me because I am not very adventuresome when it comes to food. The owner, Jose, takes time to come around and explain a little about the food and is very welcoming. He had us try a sampler plate so we could experience a variety of Venezuelian dishes. It was all good. You can also bring your own wine and they don't even charge you a corkage fee. I really like the family approach to this establishment. The restaurant is not flashy but I would highly recommend people give it a whirl.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayhawk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, Owner at El Porton Cafe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We're all very pleased to hear that both of your dining experiences with us did not disappoint! Gracias for your thoughtful review & we appreciate the recommendation, too! Come back & see us again soon. Sincerely, Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
“Off Night?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went here for 'date night' last night based on tripadvisor reviews but didn't seem to have the experience many have reported. The place was about 3/4 full and there was one man handling everything in the small dining room. He said he was the manager. He was doing his best to keep up (literally running at times) but it was too much for one person. The atmosphere is very much 'diner', not 'restaurant', which is fine if that's your expectation. They use a LOUD blender to make some slushy drinks - so loud we couldn't talk over it. Hubby's steak was cold, to the point where it seemed to have just come from a refrigerator. The server was so busy though, we couldn't bring ourselves to ask him to heat it. The food was just ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryG223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, Owner at El Porton Cafe, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Terry - Please accept our apologies regarding your latest experience with us. It is certainly never acceptable for us to serve cold food or for our guests to receive subpar service. We will look into this issue, especially the service, to ensure that these circumstances never happen again. We would greatly appreciate it if you gave us another try to show you this was just an isolated incident. Sincerely, Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I'm lucky to live near this restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am writing a second review of El Porton after my wife and I have been there enough to have tried just about everything on the menu. I can't say each of us liked every single thing, but between the two of us we did and it has been fun to try out unfamiliar foods. Prices are very reasonable so it is not aq big deal if you try something new and don't like it so much and order something else. Servers are helpful when we have questions. We intend to return regularly. The only negative is that the entry wall is glass with a glass door, so cold weather and bright sunlight can detract from comfort while eating. This is the only reason i am rating it very good instead of excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, Owner at El Porton Cafe, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
John - Thanks for posting a second review for our restaurant. We’re very pleased to hear that the both of you have received friendly service & that you have enjoyed most of our dishes. Please come back & dine with us anytime. Sincerely, Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Caribbean Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited El Portón Café based on a friend’s recommendation and were glad we did. The menu lists an extensive array of well-known dishes from Venezuela, South America and the Caribbean. We shared a shredded chicken Arepa as an appetizer, and it was a delightful start to the meal. I ordered the Pabellon entrée a shredded beef dish from Venezuela, accompanied by black beans, white rice and fried plantains (tostonies). My wife ordered a churrasco grilled skirt steak which was accompanied by black beans, white rice, fried sweet plantains, field greens and chimichurri sauce. Her churrasco steak was huge, running the entire length of the plate, and perfectly cooked medium. Both of our entrées were wonderful, we traded plantains and tasted bites of each other’s meats. The service by José, the owner, was very friendly, attentive and informative. This little café is a real gem; a very welcome addition to the great Kansas City area’s cuisine. We will be back often for our dose of Caribbean comfort food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeakWoodDeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose G, Owner at El Porton Cafe, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for providing us with your wonderfully detailed dining experience with us! We take great pride in providing delicious, authentic South American & Caribbean cuisine, so it makes us very proud to hear compliments about it. We appreciate you letting us know how we’re doing & for the recommendation! Come back & see us again soon. Sincerely, Jose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I have been here several times. The food is always good and the service friendly. This is a family owned business and the owner is always excited to tell you about new dishes. We went on December 24th and has the Venzualan Christmas special. Wonderful! The meal is only available one day a year.

This is not a high end fancy resturant but a neighborhood central American cafe. Very pleasant. I highly recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WillySpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Porton Cafe also viewed

 
Overland Park, KS
Overland Park, KS
 

Been to El Porton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing