We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd stay. Still good.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
466 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 478 helpful votes
“2nd stay. Still good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

2nd stay at this hotel. Did so on frequent stay points. Comfortable, clean room. Quiet thanks to partition on door side of bed (good idea, that).

Would stay here again and would recommend this facility.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    55
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
26
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

I went to visit a friend in Overland Park, and she recommended this hotel since it's literally 100 yards from her apartment. We trust Marriott brands, so we agreed. The hotel was fantastic, everything is brand new and very modern and well thought-out. We spent the extra $7/night to book the suite. It's really the same size as a normal room, but there is a wall seperating the sleeping area from a desk, sofa, and chair.

Breakfast is pretty decent, with a waffle maker, several kinds of juice, cereal, muffins, a few danishes, and microwave omlets. The free wireless internet worked well, I didn't even lose a connection when I got in the elevator to go up to my room! The pool is nice, if a bit small, and it's inside with few windows. This is probably great in the winter, but a little depressing in summer when it's bright and sunny outside. There is a small "deck" area on the back of the hotel, but it's really not great for laying out in the sun. The hot tub was REALLY hot, so much so that our skin all turned lobster red within a few minutes of getting in.

The hotel's location is good, close to lots of restaurants and shopping. If you're looking for a place to explore Kansas City from, I'd look elsewhere, as this is in the far suburbs, and about a 30 minute drive to downtown. But if you're visiting people in OP, it's great. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcathk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, OH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Some mixed reviews on this place, but we decided to use our money for activities and take a chance since we got a really great rate for a family suite and usually have not gone wrong with this type of property. The room appeared newer and had a modern feel to it. The set up was 2 queen beds separated by a partial partition and a sitting area with sofa bed, chair, set of mini tables, desk, chair and mini fridge. The flat screen TV in the middle swivels so either area can view. The beds were clean and VERY comfortable. We did hear some noise of other guests, but nothing unbearable and we slept great. The bathroom was clean, roomy for multiple family members getting ready in the morning and had no mold or unwanted hair. The carpets needed to be cleaned better. The mini fridge is just that - small with no freezer section, and it was in need of being wiped out. There is a small microwave above the fridge. It was clean. The counter space in the room was small, but doable if you are making snacks or sandwiches. The blanket for the sofa bed was dirty, but a call to the front desk provided a clean one which we immediately picked up. The pool in the hotel was tiny and would be crowded if a few families were using it. The exercise room had several treadmills with individual TVs, but bring your own earphones to listen the the programs. Hotel worked out for a family with elementary aged children staying 4 nights. We enjoyed having the extra space of the sitting area and roomy bathroom and the location was perfect for doing all the touristy things one would want to do when in the area. The breakfast was more than enough. Waffles, breakfast sandwiches, yogurts, assorted breads, muffins, oatmeal, cereals, bananas or apples and beverages. We had variety and never felt deprived.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpgp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

The walls here are so thin. I can tell you the room next to me watched the History Channel between 7-10pm then switched to The Daily Show at 10pm. Was assigned a room on the second floor, could hear lots of foot steps/clunking/possible tango lessons going above me.

To this hotel's credit, it was one of the more affordable places in Overland Park. Clientele seemed to be mostly families, very few business travelers here. Low rates are appealing. It's new-ish in construction. I did not observe any cleanliness issues during my stay.

The workout room is tiny and leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnisnowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

I was happy when I first found this hotel as it was new and that usually translates into clean. The rooms are new, the HD TVs have actual HD content. And the staff is generally nice.

Unfortunately, on my 2 or 3rd stay, my bathroom floor had multiple hairs from a certain region of the body. Yuck! I complained and got some Marriott points for free. Several stays were ok until I arrived to sheets that had hair on them and unidentified stains on the pillows. It was completely disgusting. I can't give a low enough mark for cleanliness. I slept on the sofabed as it was late when I arrived and figured I would handle it in the morning. I asked management to change the sheets...and no one did. Same sheets, and same stains. I complained again, was told it would be handled. Not handled again. So I checked out and have not been back since.

I stay 8 nights a month in Overland Park, at this hotel until this incident, and the staff couldn't seem to find clean sheets for me. Hopefully they'll find clean ones for you!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 150hud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

This property just opened a few months ago and I have spent several nights there since. This is a typical new-construction Fairfield with a focus on King suites rather than traditional rooms. All of my stays were in a king suite so my review encompasses that floor plan:

The Good:
New construction - everything is in new condition
Spacious rooms, king suites have a wall between the sitting area and bed, but it is a partial wall. Room has a couch, lounge chair, large desk and a 32" LCD that swivels between the sitting area and bed area.
Room includes a fridge & microwave, coffee maker, iron/board, etc.
Spacious bathroom with granite counter.
Free wireless internet (wired is advertised but not available)

The not so good:
Construction is of the cheap variety...you can easily hear those walking above you and the occasional neighbors. 4th floor is best to avoid that, but stay away from the corners, each side has an HVAC unit placed on the roof at the end that causes the walls and floor to shake in the 4th floor rooms (about 3 rooms in from the end have this issue).
Housekeeping is not the best, they left the pillows without pillow cases one day and never wiped down counters or furniture.

Overall I would recommend the property, especially at the current Marriott Rewards level (1) which makes it a good value. There is plenty of restaurants and shopping near-by and highway access is plentiful with quick access to 435, 35 & 69. If you are familiar with the area, this property is about a half mile south of the Springhill Suites/Residence Inn on Blue Valley Parkway and just south of the Target.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KCGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Kansas City Overland Park
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn+ Suites - Overland Park
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park
Address: 12440 Blue Valley Pkwy, Overland Park, KS 66213-2626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Overland Park
#8 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#9 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for a great hotel in Overland Park, you’ll love the Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park. Our Overland Park, KS hotel combines comfort, style, and value – just a mile from I-435 and Metcalf at Blue Valley Pkwy past 119th St. We’re also near Sprint, Teva, Ericsson and OptumRx United Health, Southcreek Office Park, College Boulevard, and the Overland Park Soccer Complex. Our Marriott hotel offers rooms and suites with free Wi-Fi, 32" flat-screen HD TVs, work desks, and ergonomic chairs; suites also feature mini-refrigerators, microwaves and sofabeds. Jump-start your day with hot and healthy choices like eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, fresh fruit and yogurt and more--all complimentary every day! Unwind in our lobby bar, fitness room, indoor pool, or whirlpool. Planning an event? Our largest meeting space can host up to 100. Best of all, our Fairfield Inn & Suites provides service that few Overland Park hotels can match – book a room today and let us serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Fairfield Inn And Suites Kansas City Overland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing