We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds; great hiking trails”

Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds; great hiking trails”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Over Labor Day weekend, my husband and I and our two young kids visited the Arboretum to do some hiking. We took the trails all the way out to the Rocky Ridge trail and had a great time hiking (we did probably 3.5 to 4 miles) despite the heat (there were water coolers along the way). Back closer to the visitor's center, the landscaping around the pond was beautiful. So, we felt like we got the best of both worlds - the rustic hiking trails (nice wide mulch paths but, unfortunately, we did come home with multiple ticks) and the landscaped flowers and sidewalks, etc. Beautiful place and a fun outing for the family but will have to use even heavier duty bug spray next time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    83
    13
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place but a bit out of the way”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent a couple of (very warm) hours at the arboretum. Great setting and nice walking paths. Really liked the sculpture walk. We just picked an afternoon that was uncomfortable. Go in the mornings.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank doug0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A must visit for nature lovers. great collection of flowers and a must visit for photographers!!
I could not covers all the trails as it is very big. But the area that I covered was really very good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kedar-KeKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“love love love it”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

There are natural trails and manicured gardens with walking paths. I enjoy the Monet type gardens and then head out to the natural trails to get lost in nature. I go as often as I can.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Nature Trails”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I couldn't care less about the gardens up front (though they are nice for those who like that), but the trails through the forest offer one of the best looks in urban Johnson County, KS, at a real forest. Birds, plants, insects, and everything else nature-related can be found and enjoyed here. Take a hike, and enjoy it! Watch out for mosquitoes though!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickOlathe_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Overland Park Arboretum and Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing