We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Kansas City Overland Park
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

When traveling to Overland Park on business, this is my hotel of choice. It's probably because I'm a Marriott member and I get a great rate. Service is always nice among staff. Rooms are typical of a Marriott, however bathrooms are a little small. "1990's" Gym is 24 hours. Breakfast is decent, but overpriced. I wouldn't pay for it myself. They still charge $12.95 for internet. I hate that since lesser hotel brands and rate give it for free. I get it for free but it's the principle for others.

In this area it's either Marriott or Sheraton, depending on your preference.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltakahashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at the Overland Park Marriott for a family wedding. Rooms are very nice and beds very comfortable. We did encounter an incident with our room. There was a leak in the bathroom, apparently from the room above. Water was dripping from the light fixture in the ceiling, right about the toilet. I called the front desk, and they said they would send an engineer up right away. 10 minutes later we called again, and they said they engineer would be there in one minute. 10 minutes later my husband called as we wanted to leave for dinner, and we were told to go to dinner, and they would take care of it while we were gone. I called while we were at dinner, and was told that the engineer cleaned up the bathroom, and the problem was taken care of. When we returned from dinner, we found even more water in the bathroom, and the light fixture was starting to hang down from the ceiling. We called the front desk and they told us we could move to another room. So we had to pack everything back up and move to another room. They did comp us our breakfasts for the weekend, but it was a pain having to pack everything up and move.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is your typical business hotel. Rate is decent but as with most people staying here work is picking up the tab.

For a business hotel there is no excuse not to have free internet in your rooms. They have free Internet in the lobby but come on...charging for internet is so 1990's.

The small exercise room is decent. It is open 24 hours which is a HUGE plus for those of us that sleep late. In addition, they had free nice apples in the exercise room. Again ...that is a very very nice small touch.

Breakfast buffet in morning was nice...nothing really outstanding but a solid B with eggs made to order / omlets and all the normal stuff. Service at breakfast buffet was A. Everyone was extremely attentive and helpful. On the downside it was 15 bucks plus tip. For that price they should have had Lox etc...but again they know this is a business hotel and most people are willing to fork that out since they will be paid back...if it was on my own dime I wouldn't fork out that kind of money for it though.

The bar / lounge was doing a good solid business all night. This was one of the most active bar / lounges I have seen in a business hotel.

Room Tip: Many time concierge floor upgrades are worth it if you need internet connectivity and the hotel char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business; adjacent to lots of business offices. Clean hotel, great bar area. Didn't try the restaurants. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. Nice room; standard Marriott layout.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BranNewareAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Frank at the desk was OUTSTANDING. Made sure I was up. Never happened before. On the downside no bathroom by pool, highly unsanitary, very thin towels,reminded me of of a low end motel. Breakfast buffet was great. A variety of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rskny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night using Marriott Rewards points. The hotel is located right off of I-435 on Metcalfe, so access is very good. When we walked into the lobby, it was FULL of young kids. It looked like soccer teams there for a tournament. When we were standing at the front desk, the attendant took a look around the lobby and told us he would give us a room away from all the kids. This was MUCH appreciated. We were on the 10th floor and never heard a thing from anyone despite there being several events at the hotel.

Our room was clean as was the bathroom. The lobby has recently be re-modeled and was very spacious and modern.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is very clean and the staff is fantastic. Many eating places very close. Comfortable lounge area with wifi access. Continental breakfast was ok but did not have any meat such as bacon or sausage. Kinda skimpy for a hotel this size.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a blanket. Beds only have a sheet and heavy comforter. You go from hot to cold switching fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItMattersToMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Overland Park/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Kansas City Overland Park/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#5 of 37 in Overland Park
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Kansas City Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Kansas City Overland Park

Address: 10800 Metcalf Avenue, Overland Park, KS 66210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Overland Park
#4 Business Hotel in Overland Park
#10 Family Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range: $113 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Kansas City Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience style and convenience at Marriott Kansas City Overland Park. Our hotel in Overland Park, Kansas features gracefully designed accommodations and a superior setting near shopping at Towne Center, Prairiefire and Oak Park Mall, as well as close to Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art and Overland Park Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, SAS Ticati.COM, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Kansas City Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overland Park Marriott Hotel Overland Park
Marriott Overland Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing