We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed, okay room, good food, will do the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Overland Park
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed, okay room, good food, will do the job”
Reviewed September 23, 2007

Stayed at the Doubletree Overland Park for one night on business in Lenexa, KS. The hotel was okay, nothing special, but the food was good, the staff was friendly, and the bed was very comfortable. So, it did the trick. Bathroom was a little run down, though. I ate at the hotel restaurant for both dinner & breakfast (good steak, excellent breakfast).

I will probably wind up staying there again due to the location of the hotel, and I'm fine with that.

  • Liked — The food and the bed
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    319
    226
    93
    65
See reviews for
256
134
35
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Stayed at the DoubleTree Overland Park KS Corporate Woods over Labor Day 2007. Our stay was nice but believe the bath tub tile could be cleaned every once in a while with mold remover. We were assigned a corner room 1215 which meant there is a 90 degree turn in the inside hall between the door and the bed area. My wife liked that so that no one could see directly into the room from the hall. There are Sweet Dreams beds. The hotel was full with soccer players and several weddings.

There was excessive mold in the tile grout in the shower and the exhaust vent grill was caked with who knows what. We received buffet breakfast for both of use each day. Also two bottles of water in the room. The buffet was nice except for the frozen strawberries from a bag on Labor Day. Omelettes cooked to order. At breakfast on Sunday morning the restaurant manager asked if we were enjoying the restaurant and the room. I told him about the mold in the bath and he was very apologetic and showed a sincere appreciation that we had brought up the mold issue when asked. Pretty soon after that the server brought us a tin of DoubleTree cookies. A fast and appreciated acknowlegement that mold in the bath is unacceptable.

The fitness room is roomy and there is a racquetball court. The pool is inside with a hot tub. All are located in a separate building from the hotel via an inside walkway. There is an outside deck surrounded by woods and walking trails through the woods.

I would stay here again although there are much newer hotels nearby including HGI, Sheraton at the Overland Park Convention Center, Marriott, Courtyard by Marriott. The area is close to the Sprint campus. Inspect the bathroom tile and exhast vent grill upon entering the room and if unacceptable ask to be relocated before unpacking.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank Forrest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

I'm not sure where to start. I called two days prior to our visit to change our reservations from the 2 double bed rooms that I had originally reserved (for my husband, myself and 2 kids) to the queen suite. I was assured that the suite had a separate bedroom with a door. When we arrived, we found that there was no separate room for the bedroom in the suite and that the double rooms were now all booked. That presented a problem since now one of the adult's snoring kept the children awake every night. In addition to just the basic sleeping arrangements, the room itself was shabby and smelled terrible. The furniture was covered in various unidentifable stains and I was relunctant to sit on anything. When we initially arrived, we called housekeeping for bedding for the pull out sofa and rollaway bed. The housekeeper would not have even changed the bedding on the pull out if we had not pointed out crumbs on the sheets apparently left over from a prior tenant.The bathroom was very dark. There were never enough towels or toilet paper (we had to call down 2 out out of the 3 nights to get 4 towels rather than 2 and had to resort to facial tissue for the latter). To top this off, there were mosquitos throughout the hotel, including the restaurant and lounge. We were on the 12th floor and mosquitos still reached that level. All of us left our visit with multiple bug bites. The elevators smelled horrible as did the floor we stayed on. We were there for my father in law's funeral and the hotel was not a pleasant experience. We had originally planned to book at the Holiday Inn. We should have.

On a good note, the front desk and lounge staff were great... friendly and very professional. The cookies were a fabulous treat. It's too bad that the hotel accomodations and housekeeping does not measure up to the standards of the hospitality staff.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Shabby and Smelly
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2007

This was my second stay at the Doubletree in Overland Park and both times I've found the rooms to be clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and my husband loved having a choice of pillows.

Check-in was efficient, even on a busy Saturday evening and a warm chocolate chip cookie is good any time of day! The breakfast buffet is rather pricey; I'd opt for ordering from the menu (or a nearby restaurant).

We'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank BeachKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, MO
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

We spent this past weekend at the Doubletree. We were very pleased with our stay. The front desk staff was very friendly, check-in took all of 2 minutes, check-out even less! Every time you walked by, they greeted you with a smile and a hello. The warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in are AWESOME!! We actually stopped by the front desk after dinner the 2nd night, and got another one!

The rooms were clean and nicely furnished.(there were 5 of us, 1 king room, and 1 room with 2 double beds) The beds were comfortable, not the best I have slept on, but definately not the worst. The beds had several fluffy pillows, nice linens, and a down comforter. The bathroom was average size, with the rounded shower rod, and plenty of big fluffy towels. The tile in the bathroom was not the best pattern, it made the floor look dirty, but it seemed to be clean. You could tell the hotel is older, because of the 2 piece bath tub with the caulk all around it, but there was no mold. The water pressure was not the greatest, most of the time the water was coming out the faucet instead of the shower head. The 2nd day while I was showering, the water stopped all together for about 10 seconds, and then started again. I have never had that happen before. Our room was on the 17th floor, my sister's room was on the 4th floor, and they did not have any water pressure issues. There were a lot of teenagers staying at the hotel, but I did not hear any noise at all in the rooms, not even doors slamming. Our room was only about 10 steps from the elevator, but I could not hear that either.

The fitness center is well equipped, and the pool area is very nice. The water was really warm, and they also had plenty of huge fluffy towels in there. I did not use the jacuzzi, but we did sit in the sauna.

We ate the buffett breakfast in the restaurant, we were not impressed with it at all. The food was not very good, and it was all luke warm. It cost $15.00 per person, so next time I would definitely eat breakfast somewhere else, or order off the menu. They have a champagne brunch on Sunday, but we did not try that. The restaurant itself is very nice, and the waitress was really friendly, and kept our drinks refilled without having to ask. They also have a good-sized bar, but we did not go in.

There are also suppose to be some walking and jogging trails around the hotel, but it was pretty cold and windy when we stayed, so we didn't get to take advantage of those. The hotel is kind off the beaten path, in a wooded quiet area. I'm sure it is a beautiful area in the spring, summer and fall. There is a bowling alley across the street, and some good restuarants within a couple of miles.

We found all the staff we encountered to be exceptionally friendly, and welcoming. I would stay again, and would recommend it to anyone. I thought it was a great value at $89.00.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, pool area
  • Disliked — breakfast buffet
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

Very easy access to this property. Unfortunately, I only had one night booked at this property, because I had a great stay.
Front desk staff was cordial and very polite. Very good information available on local events at the Front Desk as I was checking in.
Guestroom/Suite accommodation was spacious, comfortable and everything was in perfect working order. Very quiet night's sleep with none of the interruptions that can sometimes disturb you in most hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a value-for-money property in Overland Park.

  • Liked — Great value for money accommodations.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tall_T_Town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

Staff was very friendly, and wireless internet access was very helpful since this was a business trip. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this for business travel.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank TravelerzPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Overland Park hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Overland Park West
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Overland Park Hotel at the Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Overland Park
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
Hilton Garden Inn Overland Park
#5 of 37 in Overland Park
526 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Overland Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park
Address: 10100 College Blvd, Overland Park, KS 66210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Overland Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Overland Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park, you're close to shopping, dining and entertainment, championship golf courses, family favorites like the Country Club Plaza, Kansas City Zoo, Kansas Speedway, Union Station, Crown Center, Harry S. Truman Sports Center, home of the Chiefs and the Royals, Starlight Theater and the Power & Light District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Kansas City - Overland Park Hotel Overland Park
Doubletree Overland Park
Overland Park Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing