We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor quality for the price....read on” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ottawa
Nebraska
2 reviews
“Poor quality for the price....read on”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

We are a military family and stopped in Ottawa last weekend on our way through Kansas. We were disappointed with this hotel for the price. Our military rate was $75...$85 after taxes, and an additional $10 plus tax nonrefundable pet fee for our small dog. The room had hair on the bathroom floor, the carpets were dirty, and the sheets did not stay on the beds. The room we were given was in the older part of the hotel so we had to go outside to get to the pool or the lobby. The hot tub did not work, there were no towels available in the pool for guests. The lobby attendant said they had a full buffet breakfast but it is a small in comparison to other hotels and is only served until 9:30 a.m. It should be called a continental breakfast in my opinion. The desk clerk also issued us our room when we checked in under reservations and then called our room and made us move to another room saying he had mistakenly given us a non-pet room. This hotel is priced much too high for the quality. Go for one of the other hotels nearby that are much nicer and priced lower.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jryan856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternottawainn, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western Ottawa for your recent stay in our area.

We are sorry that it wasn’t the pleasant experience as you expected.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated.

Upon receipt of your review, the cleaning and maintenance staff has been instructed to check the amenities and hygiene level and to ensure that they are in the best condition.

We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    27
    13
    5
See reviews for
49
26
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel is fine if you just need a place to sleep. It was pretty clean. We did have problems with the A/C unit, so we had to switch rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternottawainn, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Valued Guest!

Thanks for being at the Best Western Ottawa and your overall review.

We are glad for the appreciation about the cleanliness of the hotel.

At the same time we are taking effective steps to correct the points that you have mentioned like the AC unit.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C.R.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2009

This Best Western has three buildings, two of which are older. My room was in one of the older buildings with an outside entrance. In the newer building is the swimming pool and jacuzzi. That means if you're in the older building, you need to go outside to make your way to the enclosed pool and jacuzzi in the newer building.
The room itself had a musty smell about it. TV selection is limited to about 20 or so channels. Breakfast was above average for a continental offering. Four types of cereal. Hot water for making tea, both apple and orange juice, and assorted other offerings. Price was moderate. With the AARP discount, it was still $70 which seemed on the high side.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwesternottawainn, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

You chose the Best Western for your stay during your recent visit to our area.

Thanks a lot and we appreciate the review posted and we take it quite seriously for improvement.

A special team is checking and taking action to resolve the mentioned in the review.

We request you to make a note of our efforts and come back again to have a new satisfactory experience.

Regards,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC MO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

Hotel pickings are slim in this part of Kansas, but you won't be disappointed in the Ottawa Best Western. I booked a suite, which was located in a separate part of the hotel, adjacent to a heated indoor pool and hot tub. The suite was roomy and comfortable and had good amenities for business travelers. I especially liked the small kitchen, unusual for the price range. Across the street are several fast food choices plus a Wal-Mart. This property is right off the highway. but far enough back that the noise is not detectable.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DVRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottawa
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Ottawa
Comfort Inn Ottawa
#1 of 6 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Ottawa
Super 8 Ottawa
#3 of 6 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Ottawa
Days Inn Ottawa
#5 of 6 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Ottawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
22.0 mi away
Paola Inn and Suites
Paola Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Paola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn
Address: 212 East 23rd Street, Ottawa, KS 66067
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Ottawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Special annual events like the Ol’Marais River Run Antique Car Show have visitors heading to our Ottawa hotel year-round.The Ransom Memorial Hospital is just minutes away, and we’re right next to the interstate for easy traveling throughout the region. The BEST WESTERN brand and reputation is why many guests return to our Ottawa hotel. The down and out rooms make it easy to quickly unpack so that there’s more time for rest and relaxation. Our indoor pool and hot tub is a favorite lounging spot for guests who want to unwind from their travels.Close to the historic downtown area, the National Guard Armory is a favorite local attraction. Ottawa University is a short drive away, so travelers in town to visit the university can quickly take care of business. Our proximity to the Interstate makes getting to meetings or simply sightseeing quick and easy.A few of the regular business travelers who stay at our Ottawa hotel are employees of the Wal-Mart Distribution Center, American Eagle Distribution Center, and Wolf Creek Nuclear Power Plant. Whether you’re in Ottawa for business or pleasure, take advantage of our spacious rooms and full, free breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ottawa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing