We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The location, staff and room were just great (except for the miserable mattress on the sofa bed - beyond awful) but the noise from the room next door and the room above was out of control - the walls must be cardboard. We could hear every word of every argument, every shriek from unruly kids, every foot-stomp from above and opening / slamming door - at ALL hours. I had no intensions of waking up at 5:30 but the room next to us was more effective than an alarm clock.
The view of the pond full of ducks was lovely and we spent the mornings on the peaceful back patio. Excellent breakfast - eggs, sausage, waffles...etc and the location was near the best BBQ in KC and wonderful shopping!
I would definitely stay again but I'd request a top floor to eliminate part of the noise.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank terptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaneFrancis, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry you experienced such a noisy stay. I hope that if you shared that with our staff on duty we were diligent in addressing this concern. I appreciate you sharing your kind words about the breakfast and love that you enjoyed the pond behind us. Please be sure to note the request for a top floor room for your next stay and we will do our very best to accommodate.

Appreciatively,
Blane Francis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 87 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

We enjoyed our location with all the restaurants and shopping, but the hotel was average in every aspect. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again for the location, but the hotel was just average for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaneFrancis, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your stay with us. We certainly strive to be at the top of our industry with the hotel and service we provide. This feedback is valuable for us to share with our entire staff to drive the customer service above and beyond. We hope to have the opportunity to provide a more memorable experience to you in the future. Please let us know if there is anything in particular that we can do to help.

Appreciatively,

Blane Francis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have always found Marriott hotels to have high standards, and this Fairfield is no exception. Check in was fast and easy. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The hotel isn't new, but is well kept up. The room was comfortable and quiet, even facing the interstate. I have stayed in a number of Fairfields, and this is extremely clean. It can be a little confusing to get to, but with a GPS that isn't a problem. If I'm traveling through Kansas City again, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howdy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaneFrancis, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

Thank you kindly for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are very pleased that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Travel Safely,

Blane Francis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed here during the KC Speedway weekend. The room was clean, bathroom spotless, and the employees great. The only gripe I had is the same one I have had with others the curtains do not fully block out the lights from the parking lot. I need a dark room to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSFarmerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaneFrancis, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property over the NASCAR race weekend! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. Next time you stay with us, please let us know of your preference to not be near any parking lot lights to ensure a restful night and we should be able to accommodate. I have also made note that when we update our curtains, that we try to get the best quality in blocking outside light.

Appreciatively,

Blane Francis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in the Fairfiled Inn in Olathe, Kansas because rooms were scarce last weekend in the Overland Park area apparently due to several large events. The room was very small, poorly decorated, (downright ugly actually) and the NOISE level from the room next to us was unbearable. The bathroom towels were very thin, scratchy and tiny.... Really Marriott? I know this hotel is at the bottom of the barrel of your offerings, but can't you do better? I will not be staying at this hotel or any Fairfield Inn hotel again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel, away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We deeply regret the experience you had in our hotel and offer our sincere apology. After receiving your review, we gave our laundry supervisor some feedback and have required her to take additional training in identifying and eliminating thin worn linen.

Please contact myself or another member of our management team directly so that we can work with you to determine an appropriate resolution to this issue. You can reach me at (913-768-7000.

Please know that we have taken action to ensure this problem does not occur again at our hotel and thank you for the bringing the matter to our attention.

Sincerely,

Kevin Bundy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here one night. The person at reception was cordial and effecient. I used Marriott points and I still got a great room with king size bed. Bathroom was spotless. Shower head was the large, water saver type with one rotating control for temperature, so you can't control the flow - take it or leave it. The bed had at least 8 inches of "Tempurpedic" foam on top which I find comfortable but others may find too soft. There were 4 pillows. The AC is a separate unit at the window, not central. Large flat panel TV was great with the usual hotel channels and movies. I noticed that the power outlets on the desk are embedded in the lamp and were very loose such that my iPhone charger cord actually didn't charge overnight. I quickly used the outlet on the wall for a quick charge before leaving. There are no free newspapers that I could find in the lobby and none at my door for being a Marriott Rewards member. They have a waffle maker with batter, not toaster waffles. Hot scrambled eggs. Fresh pastries and fresh fruit. The coffee is from carafes, not a machine. WiFi worked fine in the room. Parking spaces were a little tight in width. The closest bar is Buffalo Wild Wings about quarter mile north. There's a Steak and Shake within walking distance behind the hotel and a McDonalds further up north..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerfromMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaneFrancis, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for completing a review of our property. We have addressed the issues you noted and have shared your positive remarks with our staff. As we continue to update the amenities in our room and throughout the property, we look forward to improving your experience with us. We hope to see you back next time you are through the Olathe, KS area.

Travel Safely,

Blane Francis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was stuck in Olathe, during a snow storm and stayed at this hotel rather than drive home. Even in the less desirable conditions the staff was wonderful and very helpful. Jane got me a room quickly and made sure I had everything I needed. I stay at Marriott properties whenever I travel and this was one of the better experiences and one of the reasons I love Marriott. The breakfast in the morning was delicious also and complementary. Being from Kansas, I think Olathe has plenty to offer, but in this situation all I needed was some place safe and warm to sleep. I recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRS1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlaneFrancis, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us. In particular, we are proud that our staff was helpful through the bad weather. That's always a difficult thing to go through when traveling, and we strive to make your stay positive. We hope to see you back!

Appreciatively,

Blane Francis
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olathe hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Olathe North
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Olathe
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Olathe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Olathe
Hampton Inn Olathe
#5 of 14 in Olathe
373 reviews
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Olathe
4.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites
#10 of 14 in Olathe
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe

Address: 12245 S Strang Line Rd, Olathe, KS 66062-5224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Olathe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Olathe
Price Range: $130 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe is located close to the area's best companies including Farmer's Insurance, Garmin, John Deere, MNU ( MidAmerica Nazarene University ) and Pepsi. And only minutes from the fun and action of Kansas Speedway, Chiefs' Football, Royals Baseball and the Sprint Arena. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe proudly offers clean and comfortable rooms with many amenities such as Hi Def 32in LCD TV's, Microwaves and Mini Refrigerators. Get you day started right with our Complimentary Hot Breakfast featuring Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, Biscuits & Gravy plus many other delicious and hearty breakfast treats. Relax and unwind in our indoor swimming pool. Bring the whole family and enjoy Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, KC Zoo and Schlitterbaun Water Park or make it a girls weekend and shop till you drop at the Country Club Plaza, Oak Park Mall or the Legends. At the Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe "We always make you feel welcome". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Kansas City Olathe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kansas City Olathe Hotel Olathe
Fairfield Inn Olathe
Fairfield Olathe
Olathe Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing